So, I am trying to take a look at Maestro's replacement

Originally posted by Me View Post
    They are garbage. One ok defender in Mariappa and the rest are garbage. Wingers who can't get around full backs that have decent pace and central midfielders who are garbage. The forwards have a second touch that is usually a tackle.
    In the last 10 minutes the garbage was opening ManCity defense! ...good breaks often the final ball or good ManCity defense being the problem.

I bet you this awful Reading would defeat our last Caribbean Cup Reggae Boyz by 5 or more goals?

Jamaica drew against Brasil. Twice!
      That Jamaica team was miles better than our recent Caribbean Cup team...say 7 or 8 goals better (...and that team was no great shakes on goalscoring - and that is being kind to that team!!!).

Opening Man City defence?!? Yuh sound like HL, now!

This happens any time a team is coming forward, pressing for goal. They leave themselves vulnerable at times. Reading did nothing special to "open" anything!

You are entitled to this...to this!

I bet you this awful Reading would defeat our last Caribbean Cup Reggae Boyz by 5 or more goals?

Is that any standard to hold an EPL team to?

Speed is critical! All other things being held equal or close to equal.

So maestro's advantage is actually possessing the ball with space and time to make the pass, lack of space and time and he will struggle, speed and strength stretches time and space, so does skill but without speed skill is dulled significantly as even an average defender with speed and strength can make a slow skilled player look ordinary if he has no space or time to move.

No, but at the end of the day we give too much credence to this idea of quality versus garbage, clearly Mc have the better side by a distance but playing to a plan with commitment you can make even the most skilled team look average.

It was too bad because the goal given up was due to the defenders laziness and poor decision making in a most critical moment, the side has been struggling to find some equilibrium and they came so close today to give it up on a lazy, blocking tactic and not competing for the balll is as you say justice!

Jamaica drew against Brasil. Twice!
                  Jamaica did draw wid Brazil????

Is muss mostly "overseas based pros" did inna dat deh RBZ team

Bush Leaguers cyaan tan up tu dem kinda pressha... esp inna big competition...no sah... stats tell yuh seh nutten cyaan guh suh

Stoni, how does Maestro manage to do it time and time again, both in the bush league that is the RSPL, and in CONCACAF on many occasions if his lack of speed was a real problem?! Players who are faster than him, and who are not double and triple-teamed like him can't seem to find the time to do anything, yet Maestro, with his paint-drying slow self always, well, most of the time, seems to have acres of space and time to do his thing.

You ever wondered about that?

Fact is Maestro is lighting off the mark over 10 meters...ok, 5 meters, but his superior awareness of where he is on the field, his vision to know what to do with the ball when he gets it, and his superb ball control are what make up for his less than blinding speed over ground.

That Jamaica team was miles better than our recent Caribbean Cup team...say 7 or 8 goals better (...and that team was no great shakes on goalscoring - and that is being kind to that team!!!).
                      Why would you say the 1998 team was better Karl? What made them better (relatively) than the current bunch??

One huge factor must be that the clubs they played for were better in 1998 in comparison to now...giving them that steel of playing against wikkid foreign pros week in week out, playing in knee high snow, satisfying a pro manager's every whim, eating seedless grapes etc...yes??

Talk di talk Karl
                      Last edited by Don1; December 22, 2012, 01:47 PM.

Their lowest paid player could clear the JFF's debt in one week.

Don1 giving pure joke today, walk without shoes through the Sahara business.

Mo, I think he is good Mo, all I have ever said is when I am selecting my team he is at a disadvantage, because of how much I want all the players to defend and I like players that have a natural defender, interceptor type nature and you can't do that without a little speed.

Break that down for me Stoni.... it seems to be a way of avoiding the fact that the answer to the question renders your arguments worthless

Not that I think any proof was needed

Me no sure what you talking about on this one. I have always held that a group of committed players with good athletic skills can stymie even the best team. However when I am picking my side for WC duties I am picking the best players with the best track records. You level the playing field for everybody by stating what you looking for first and foremost. Then everyone gets an opportunity to show what them have, commitment, desire, competitiveness etc on the same field.

How do you pick your teams?
                                What is the process and steps you would take to select the squad for the hex.