So, I am trying to take a look at Maestro's replacement

The fact that all of Jamaica's greatest achievements in international football have occurred with teams composed with a majority of locally based semi pro players renders your statistical player modeling to be largely irrelevant hogwash.... for team selection that is.

It does have value for individual player development....and fantasy league player selection by armchair managers

In the real world the team development dynamic cannot be reduced to mere statistics in the way you propose...that's the lesson here
    Last edited by Don1; December 22, 2012, 02:22 PM.

Don1 you are tough to argue with Breda, I am trying hard to take the personal out of it and focus on bedrock principles which I am sure we agree on.

The bottom line to all of this is we are trying to select the best team, it is irrelevant what me and you are defending, how do you select that team?

What s the bedrock principle, it is not about local versus foreign, it is about performance and giving best performers a shot at showing what they have going head to head against the best whether it is local or foreign.

Here is My bias, yes I have a bias is for local players who have come through our system and done well home and abroad, I start my team there, I want my core team to be based on those guys if they have the desire and commitment, then I fill the rest of the team with the best of the locals based on performance stats and the diaspora players who have the best stats, I put all of those in the mixer of practice games, scrimmages, friendly's and competitions like the Cfu and the best performers come out of that cauldron to make my side.

Now again I ask what is your process.
      Last edited by Stonigut; December 22, 2012, 02:38 PM.

Btw Jamaica's greatest achievement in football.

1. Making WC 98
        2. Winning a match in first cup versus Japan
        3. Drawing with brazil gc 98
        4. Beating Mexico 1
        5. Beating Mexico 2
        6. Beating USA
        In every case except besting Mexico 1 our team was composed of Nuff English Jamaican core contributors and in the case of the first three we had no local professionals to draw from, but we did use our best players at the time which went on to become that core of local players that were solid plays in pro leagues such as whitmore and Goodson and gardener so the cream did rise to the top and in most cases the stats will prove that, not every time but most of the time.

At school dem teach wi fi mek di ball pass but nat di man...suh mi cyaan promise yuh seh yuh naw pick up couple clappas

The bottom line is that while head to head player assessment is interesting it is not decisive in team selection...why?

The best teams have players who play TOGETHER constantly....period. This is why I believe the core of the BEST POSSIBLE Jamaican team by definition MUST be comprised of local players ...provided that they're given massive exposure and competitive challenge abroad...a so called core could be 5-6 players... whosoever survives the crucible and is converted to steel & cohesiveness

Where that massively exposed team of largely local players has holes...then one looks abroad for the other pieces of the puzzle...the earlier the better and ONLY with the 100% committed.

That worked before so I see no need to reinvent the wheel as we've being doing since post 1998 with **** poor results... but "better" available players

Logic...not statistics
          Last edited by Don1; December 22, 2012, 03:07 PM.

Both Don1 both, you need all!

Stoni no matter how you slice it our best achievements...i.e. qualifying for and playing in the WC and playing the #1 team on the planet to a standstill in a FIFA sanctioned tournament...have come with a locally based core. I have explained the reason for this and methodology behind it...and it aint statistical modeling

Yuh cudda deal...dat is di reality
              Last edited by Don1; December 22, 2012, 03:15 PM.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                Both Don1 both, you need all!
                wha?? mi fi mek both di ball AND di man pass??

Naw guh happen... Clappas tuh di Wirl!!

And that core was our best and stats was a part of that process, believe it or not.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                    And that core was our best and stats was a part of that process, believe it or not.
                    Ah Stoni... a shift on your part.... I see you're at least in the early stages of coming under the influence of logic... Resistance Stoni, Is futile

But you are still incorrect on all points.... by your statistical model our "best players" in 1998 would all have been playing in some English league....however our "best team" had a local, massively exposed core.

Stay focused Stoni

In CONCACAF?
                      When?

...surely you are not counting his display against Antigua and Barbuda in that 4 - 1 thrashing administered by our REGGAEBOYZ?
                      Using HL's description: Antigua and Barbuda is in the company of the "bottom feeders".

That's the only game Maestro has played in CONCACAF?

So please name the matches in which he had those excellent games?

Oh! So now I'm saying he had excellent games! Sigh

Easier to say when he did not have an "excellent" game. And that would be against Mexico in the last Gold Cup.

Arguably better?

Finally saw a contribution (apart from, of course, the supplying good support tracking of 'his man'! ...and applying pressure and restriction of space! ) from Jobi. He passed a long ball straight to the Man City keeper.

But that's okay! Even Maestro has a wayward pass from time to time. It's ok, really!
                                McAnuff is not replacing Hue, he will be on the wing and Hue will be in the centre. Wicked combination in that triangle with Hue, Philips, and McAnuff.