Man a use 'great' out of context....a so dem teach dem down St. Elizabeth...
Deep Jahi - Baddest ting since Garnet Silk!
Agree with you, Willi and Exile
Originally posted by Willi View PostLyrics are great, I agree, but nuff more polish is needed.
Your bar low for greatness?
For a nation of almost three million people, we have definitely underperformed as far as genuinely outstandingly MALE vocalists are concerned. Aside from Tarrus Riley (a really talented singer) and one or two others, is there no male version to outstanding Jamaican singers like Pam Hall, Kris Kelly, Diana King, etc.?
We need professional singing institutions like MVP and Racers for the budding stars. Where they can be polished up and mentored into proper STARS.
Many need to work on diction, song writing, proper breathing, technical aspects of VOICE as an instrument, on stage poise/presence, dancing skills, basic business skills, interview skills, how to dress, PR and image skills, song selection, professional attitudes etc...
If we are going do, we should do it right! Alpha Boys Home cant do it all.
Very Good Point!
Originally posted by Willi View PostWe need professional singing institutions like MVP and Racers for the budding stars. Where they can be polished up and mentored into proper STARS.
Many need to work on diction, song writing, proper breathing, technical aspects of VOICE as an instrument, on stage poise/presence, dancing skills, basic business skills, interview skills, how to dress, PR and image skills, song selection, professional attitudes etc...
If we are going do, we should do it right! Alpha Boys Home cant do it all.
that is something I have always preached and I know you agree with it too.
We could be doing a lot better. Many people don't realise but it take a good 3-5 years for an average talent to reach a decent recording level. I haven't heard the song but i will listen when I get home.
We have a lot of budding talent that needs guidance.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yep
Originally posted by Assasin View Postthat is something I have always preached and I know you agree with it too.
We could be doing a lot better. Many people don't realise but it take a good 3-5 years for an average talent to reach a decent recording level. I haven't heard the song but i will listen when I get home.
We have a lot of budding talent that needs guidance.
Music, Spanish and the hospitality industry (tourism) should be an integral part of the academic content in all Jamaican schools!
Enuff nitpickin'
The guy is in an amateur contest and clearly not the finished article... no one believes he is "great". He has "great potential" In my view the young man must be encouraged....he's very refreshing
What is most refreshing is his meaningful lyrics. After we've been assaulted by the foul drivel from degenerates like Kartel etc.... unnu fi recognize dis Oasis inna di Desert.... instead of pining in futility after past stars now riding into the sunset
LIGHTA!!!! Memba mi tole unnuTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Exile View PostMan a use 'great' out of context....a so dem teach dem down St. Elizabeth...TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
No one here said he was great...but there is a hullabaloo about that term hereTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Really?
Guess who this is:
Thanks, Maudib, Don1 and Baddaz. The youth is already great in my book. His lyrics are tight, genius even!
Hortical, him voice arite. A likkle training won't hurt though, I guess.
For the unbelievers, unnu will remember dis post when him buss!
Well ok...I missed that ..but he tempers the "greatness" with "him voice arite. A likkle training won't hurt though, I guess"
Suh it look like is di lyrics dem noice... yuh nuh seh dem great tuh? An dat im voice need wuk??
It look like yuh an Mo assessment closeTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE