Improving Football Product without high overhead

Bricky come back here, where are you running to? I have a question for you (it's loaded and I'm going to give hints).

I stated it before that for Ja ballas to improve and perform well at the WC; the JFF has to be made wealthy. Now look at the mind set in Ja when it comes on to wealth creation. "him ah country man, him rich ah ready, dat one too tief yada, yada" this thought permeates through music, business or any venture in Ja that concerns with money. Small wonder you can't see Ja's version of Oracle, Microsoft, Facebook, Google et al.

I once worked at this spot selling electronics. In training the showed us how much money the sales force made. They literally said the store is yours we provide you with the goods. You make money , we make money that's it. I got out because of other agendas but I could have stayed and make some nice money (long hours though). No one was saying "ah Jawge will buy a new car" The trainer even went on to say "so and so bought a new car, so and so bought a house". Mind set is a hell of a thing.

Now answer me Bricky
    Quote:" as a man thinketh ,so is he"

Not joining the debate save to remind that any development system has inherent 'only a few rise to the top'. Just fact! ...and that should be taken into context of available avenues to maximize on potential.
      Hmmm.... let's ponder this

Regarding Jamaicans accessing US college ball as a "development system" and then subsequently reaching MLS level as the so called "top" are highly questionable constructs

wooooiiiiieee mi Top of di Whirl!!!
      Last edited by Karl; July 11, 2014, 04:21 PM.

Tilla your argument about costs re my proposals has been dealt with already. Yuh memory look like it shot

Now you wish to return through the back door... Homey dont play dat
        Last edited by Don1; July 11, 2014, 02:32 PM.

ahmm...still trying to find the question

dem get brand sponsorship mi hear

Hmmm.... let's ponder this

Regarding Jamaicans accessing US college ball as a "development system" and then subsequently reaching MLS level as the so called "top" are highly questionable constructs

wooooiiiiieee mi Top of di Whirl!!!
              ...not a development system but a part thereof! ...matters not if it is a tiny part or minor part...still a part.

Look if for example the work done on development at home is great...it will never take care of 100% of needs...and addition or supplement assistance...avenue...is welcome as the work towards 100% perfection remains ongoing!

...and yuh dun kno in the larger scheme of 'things' perfection is an end-point than is never attainable but an end-point one must always strive to attain!!!!

Top of di evelin tuh you boss

...and tuh you my friend!

The yearly trip to Florida that they make to play against some local team can pay for the scouting and change left.

On the subject of infrastructure, they just have to use a few o the best available school fields can be used.

That looks more like a plan to help student-athletes get an opportunity to further their education than one aimed at developing Jamaica's football.
                      Don't know if you know this, but there's a "movement" to remove college soccer from the U.S. development system & have MLS clubs do that for the talented/most promising youth (similar to what was done to Michael Seaton), as well as expanding the scouting in the inner cities & other "non traditional" areas.
                      If the U.S. is moving away from their "old system" of development, why would you want to adopt it???
                      The 1st thing Jamaica should focus on is getting good, qualified coaches/teachers & trainers, to effectively & efficiently teach & develop the youth......Do you realize that the colleges are focused on recruiting your forwards/strikers & defenders, but the creative/attacking midfielders, who are the "engines" of the team, the ones who require the most technical & tactical ability, are ignored??? It's a reflection on the poor coaching & development.

Just that we can't wait on the JFF to be rich, them always broke.

MLS shouldn't be the ultimate goal for any good footballer. MLS is just another avenue to showcase your skills and it is 5 times better than anything we currently have to do this.

MLS is not the problem nor the core solution to the problem

The beginning of the solution is building an appropriate development system at HOME.. period.

Anything else is a prescription for continued mediocrity at best and at worst...failure

There is no bullet solution and everything have to work as a unit for football to grow. You have to take advantage of all the opportunities that present itself. Make no sense you 19 year old players who have no where to go, no matter how good they are or think they are.

College/MLS is one such route.

What Jamaican football needs is a development program...not an ad hoc route to US college ball