Improving Football Product without high overhead

You are looking at this from the wrong angle. ISSA is a high school sports organizing body. They are not responsible for national development.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

how is ISSA funded? does ISSA fund or subsidises the schools' football programmes? if so to what extent? equipment? infrastructure?

No Jangle it is just like having a career day. They would just be a progressive organization. They need to look out for the students, they are educators and sport administrators, aren't they? They are responsible in part your the development of their student. Do they approach college same way for their talent students who have 6 o levels???? No wonder we are where we are, and kids with 8 CXC can't find a job.

Before you make your decide. Think about the benefit and tell me Jamaica football program wouldn't get benefit from the suggested.

I am not saying it is the overall solution. It is a part of it.
        Last edited by Assasin; July 11, 2014, 11:54 AM.

Sass is a little confused so please bear this in mind. It may be the effect of too much US media consumption

how is ISSA funded? does ISSA fund or subsidises the schools' football programmes? if so to what extent? equipment? infrastructure?
            This is meant for moi? Pourquoi?

Jawge Schoolboy football in Jamaica is going nowhere anytime soon. Sorry to bring you to reality.

Sass, yes agree that some student athlete can benefit from attending US colleges, which, in the long run can benefit Jamaica. However, I am saying that you cannot put the onus of Jamaica's football development at the feet of the ISSA administrators. It is not their job.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"However, I am saying that you cannot put the onus of Jamaica's football development at the feet of the ISSA administrators. It is not their job."

Ask ISSA and they will tell it is part of their job to develop the game and the students. I will see if I can find their mission statement.

I am not saying that development is purely their responsibility. What I am saying is they can be better organize to deliver more for their current students.

If you notice my original post said part 1. I am thinking of a series of small development post. If Jamaican football is to get better we have to make the small moving parts work, we can't wait on that FIFA Academy, the illusive Birmingham Academy, or Real Madrid Academy. Instead we have to take more responsibility and deliver more end product to the market and I am saying this can be done in 1 or two years and I have no doubt it would double their output.

ISSA can't be mere regulators in our football, they have to be progressive.

what all this haffi do wit improving Jamaican football?

yes look at them

it has already gone nowhere

Yuh nuh bizniz with cost anyway, ongle to put forward proposals.

Anyone who puts forward proposals without appreciating, recognizing and including associated costs is living in a fool's world. Such proposals are not worth the paper on which they are written.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I'm not against student athletes going to US colleges to improve their life chances... it's a positive

However the best way to develop players is to institute a proper system at home that will improve the product... i.e. by making the local leagues higher in standard of play and local players more attractive to clubs abroad

The old way of prepping kids for US college ball is mostly good for providing an education and economic opportunity (which is great) with an entirely SECONDARY benefit of only a handful of the scores of kids playing college ball reaching MLS standard

We've seen the US college thing for decades... and as far as developing Jamaican football players is concerned... it's not going to improve our football development
                            Not joining the debate save to remind that any development system has inherent 'only a few rise to the top'. Just fact! ...and that should be taken into context of available avenues to maximize on potential.

not really but if you know...it was to the person who charges issa wth doing more...

Sass I may be mistaken but isn't it the same thing I'm saying? Reality? ??