Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club
 Everything Reggae Boyz Forum
 Claude Davis- a very bright ray of hope!
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

The_Emperor

USA
67 Posts

Posted - Oct 11 2001 :  1:13:09 PM  Show Profile
At the end of Saturdays training session at the New England Revolutions training field Claude Davis, after seeking permission from the relevant authorities, traveled with Barry, Courtney and myself into Randolph to purchase some accessories for his car that had been in an accident. We took a while longer than expected, and even though he had permission to leave and there wasn’t going to be any meeting prior to his return he called his roommate Aaron Lawrence and told him that he is going to be late. He asked him to request that his dinner be brought to his room for him.

I asked Claude if he was ready to take up the reigns of Linval, citing that he must have learnt a lot from him playing with him at the same club and in the national set up. His response was so refreshing and breath taking that it pulled a synchronize compliment from Barry, Courtney and myself. In a calm articulate manner he said that he knows he has the skills to play very well in defense. However, he believe that the level of experience that Linval has makes a big difference to everyone else playing in that back line, and he doesn’t believe he is quite at that level yet. He said that when you play alongside a Linval, a Pepe or even Aaron they make your game so much better with their experience and leadership and when he takes over he would like to be able to do the same for the younger players.

We continued with more pressing questions and his answers never cease to be very impressive and well articulated. Courtney raised the issue of the under 23s, the Olympics and our seemingly lethargic approach to playing the weaker Caribbean teams. And with each answer Claude just got better. He acknowledge the fact that the recently assembled under 23 squad was a “top of the line” squad and should have been “tearing up the world”. This was the squad that built Claude into the mentally sound and well skilled player that he is (through misfortune if you will). He reminded us that during the Pan Am games we were leading the US 1-0 and he got a red card, we went on to lose 2-1. In the next game his replacement, Oneil Smith, gave away a penalty that made a 1-1 game 2-1 and was also red carded. We only needed a draw in that game to advance. He said the blame for the whole tournament was placed upon his head and he was exiled from the team by professor Simoes for a while.

I was surprised when he told us that Coach Brown (his way of referring to Carl Brown- with utmost respect I might add) called him up and told him not to be dejected. He said Coach Brown told him that he wasn’t hated nor permanently discarded and that he should use this as a learning experience and that he should use it to make himself stronger on his return. Of course we were all curious as to what he meant by he was blamed for that tournament and just how the blame was laid. Again in synch we hurled the question at him. His response was that it was calmly explained to him that he was the leader at the back and that his team and by extension his country needed him and he acted “silly” and was sent off (by extension letting down his team and country). And even though there was an equally skilled replacement the chemistry was never quite the same and he (his replacement) met a similar fate. He said he was told that he should think about his actions and that he was going to be given enough time to think about it, and this is when he was dropped from the squad.

He got subsequent calls to the senior team but was always among the first to be sent home. He thought that he saw clearly through the Pan Am games and was a more complete player now and admitted that at times he felt dejected and like there was a bias against him and said those sentiments were also been expressed in his community. However, being the man that he is at age 22, Claude decided not to listen to those negative sounds and instead search himself deeper. He tried to figure out what it is that others were doing that he wasn’t or the he was doing differently. He paid closer attention to the more experienced players and worked hard enough to regain a “foot hold” in the set up.

He was probably the most disappointed reggaeboy after Sunday’s game because he was the only other stopper in the team and he wasn’t given a chance to defend his country when we obviously needed him. But having met and spoken to Claude at length I know this will only make him work harder and become even stronger and better in his quest to do his country proud. I wish each of you could have been there to hear this young man speak, because I know Barry, Courtney nor myself can never relate it to you so that you get it exactly the way it was. And trust me it was very refreshing.

My personal assessment of Claude is that he is a very mannerable, intelligent, respectful and most of all honest young man. He is aware of his capabilities and limitations and aspires to overcome those limitations and stand out as a fearless warrior for his country who can motivate others. I never asked, but I suspect that of all the senior players he is most influenced by Aaron Lawrence. He is definitely my pick for greatness. I now sport his jacket signed, from Claude Davis #25 to Emperor; it was signed by a number of other players as well. Courtney assured Barry and I, and I have no reason to doubt him that you get that kind of vibe if you should speak to most of the young players. I am glad that I heard this young man personally and wish that you did too, there are certainly great things ahead.

Nuff raspect Claude!

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

Note: This article is a compilation of the author’s interpretation of Claude Davis’ answers to questions asked of him as well as some of Davis’ direct words written in the third person format. Barry and Courtney can attest to this article and add numerous other things that came from the conversation that proved there are great things ahead for the reggaeboyz.

Tillamawnin

USA
197 Posts

Posted - Oct 11 2001 :  6:33:17 PM  Show Profile
Thanks for this article Emperor. This has given me more knowledge on another Reggae Boy.

Respect,
Tilla

Mohandas K. Gandhi
Go to Top of Page

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Oct 11 2001 :  8:51:53 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
quote:

Thanks for this article Emperor. This has given me more knowledge on another Reggae Boy.

Respect,
Tilla

Mohandas K. Gandhi

Ditto!

Karl
Go to Top of Page

Gerber
Starting Member

USA
1 Posts

Posted - Oct 12 2001 :  12:36:23 AM  Show Profile

Claude Davis has definitely been one of the more intelligent and respectful members of the reggae boys squad. He is indeed an exemplary person and player. Although his appearances have been limited, he has never failed to display this constantly pleasant disposition.

Onandi Lowe on the contrary, is one of the most obnoxious persons I've ever come across in my life. I have had personal encounters with this warrior and I was surely embarrassed to say I was a fellow Jamaican. His attitude has always been like this.

In '98 it was in its embryonic stages and now it's this fully blown disease that he has. After the Reggae Boyz had lost to Argentina in '98, the Captain and the rest of the JFF contingent had a little after party. Gordon (my sister) and her exchange pals from France were both humbled and honoured to be present at such an event. My sister was presently studying on an exchange programme in Paris and she was lucky enough to secure tickets for the match earlier that day and invitations to attend the after party. At the time Stone Love was in the house playing some unusually mellow tunes and people were generally mingling. Although the Captain had just lost his son the vibes were overwhelmingly positive. Like several of the individuals in the room they were pleased to see the Reggae Boyz for the first time in person and up close. Onandi Lowe was standing next to one of the sound boxes; Gordon had conservatively approached him to make conversation. "How are you Mr. Lowe",... he responds..(unable to repeat response). She was instantly surprised by his brutish and crude response to the simple question she had asked. Not only was she offended by his hostility, she was also humiliated because she was a Jamaican among people of a different nation, trying to make conversation with a fellow Jamaican, who was absolutely disrespectful to his fellow countryman.

His attitude continues to flourish and by 2001 he has blossomed into the crass and unkempt person that he is. I was fortunate enough to make the trip to Boston for the match. We had decided to go in from Saturday so we could catch the boys training. We were right on time for training at 4, early enough to see the boys just filing out of the ‘Coach USA’ team bus. Just inside field there was a set of benches that were stacked against the fence on the left, pretty close to the entrance. Nandi and Fuller both sat there as they were getting their chin guards and boots on for the task ahead. The other players had already taken the field where they were just juggling and warming up. By this time some gentlemen came along, they were obviously Jamaicans. The first gentleman came over and greeted us very warmly. He was buzzing with pride and was seemingly very confident. He then glanced over to the two warriors on the bench, he went for the big man first.. he said "Mr. Lowe", Nandi says "yeah boss". The gentleman was not stumpt by Nandi's abrupt response. He then asks with much concern and enthusiasm "are you ready for the big match tomorrow", Nandi says "den if we neva ready me wud a deh yah suh boss", he then firmly rises from bench and heads to the field without even acknowledging the gentleman (Fuller follows). You could see how abased the gentleman was and most of all disappointed. He turned to us with a look on his face that said, "can you believe that, did you just see that". I for one was not surprised at all, immediately I remembered his attitude towards Gordon in Paris. I shook my head. We had a little chat with the gentleman who could not believe how the national dealt with him. We stayed until training had finished and at that same spot where Nandi had sat before he took the field he came to get this room card and some other personal items. A reporter from the "Globe" (if I'm not mistaken) approached Nandi asking him for a brief interview. He was as usual, aggressive and impolite. Telling the reporter "afta de game me chat to yuh man". We thought "what a pig". How can such a talented and respected individual behave in such an uncouth manner? He is more than just a reggae boy, he is a Jamaican, and everywhere he goes he represents Jamaicans. It is very evident that more times than not he represents us with the wrong attitude and this is the attitude that is going to be his demise. His attitude has already manifested itself in his game. We see it when he speaks to the officials; it has become his trademark to be rude.

I always respect an individual who represents the Black, Green and Gold/goal. Especially to those who have the power and potential to ignite that unbelievable sense of Jamaican pride in thousands, when you go to see him or her play/perform. However, I have to say Onandi Lowe has ignited nothing but contempt in me. I'll forever be a Reggae Boyz fan and a proud Jamaican, but I will not raise my head or my flag to the name Onandi Lowe. He needs to take a few pages out of Claude’s book. He needs it.

Go to Top of Page

The_Emperor

USA
67 Posts

Posted - Oct 12 2001 :  09:17:39 AM  Show Profile
quote:

quote:

Respect,
Tilla

Mohandas K. Gandhi

Ditto!

Karl

Tilla Barry took a picture of him and I can we put it on the site?

Go to Top of Page

Rocky
Starting Member

USA
27 Posts

Posted - Oct 12 2001 :  8:31:37 PM  Show Profile
You should also be commended Emperor for all the positives you bring to the RBSC.
Respect sah.

Blessed

Go to Top of Page

Tillamawnin

USA
197 Posts

Posted - Oct 13 2001 :  10:46:35 AM  Show Profile
quote:

Onandi Lowe on the contrary, is one of the most obnoxious persons I've ever come across in my life. I have had personal encounters with this warrior and I was surely embarrassed to say I was a fellow Jamaican.

Onandi Lowe with young fan Alexis at under-12
soccer camp in Kansas City

Here is a positive side of Onandi Lowe I would like to make known to all. About six weeks ago, there was a soccer camp held in Kansas City for under12 kids. Onandi Lowe was present, and took time out to take a photograph with one of his most admiring fans, a little girl by the name of Alexis. It made her day (or week for that matter).

It is true that the guy needs some attitude adjustment, but he still has some good in him.

Respect,
Tilla

Mohandas K. Gandhi

Edited by - Tillamawnin on Oct 13 2001 14:56:24
Go to Top of Page

Charmin
Starting Member

40 Posts

Posted - Oct 13 2001 :  1:28:00 PM  Show Profile
First, big up one and all...Tilla, Emperor, Gerber, Karl and Rocky and the others. Sorry that I did not get the opportunity to hang around after the game, therefore, failing to meet the massive. Hopefully, that will change in the not too distant future.

Good read...the positives and negatives. Lets hope all our players stay focus and continue to improve on not only their technique and skills, but also their human realtions skills. We are moving in a professional arena, and the players will have to realize that it is three responsibility to act accordingly, as often as possible.

Big respect to Claude Davis and best of luck to him.

If both him and Dawes were available in Boston, then they should have been the one replacing Marco instead of Marshall.

Respect and irie ites!
Charmin

Go to Top of Page

Tillamawnin

USA
197 Posts

Posted - Oct 13 2001 :  3:14:34 PM  Show Profile
Charmin: Thanks for your input. I am also sorry I did not get to link up with you and others in Boston.

With the increase in publicity of the Reggae Boyz, we are going to find a lot of talk about our players' attitudes which tends to offend fans. I can remember reading some post on our other forum some time ago, that Whitmore and Goodison were in Florida for a Jamaica match, and when they were aproached by fans for authographs, they just gave them the cold sholder and walked away.

Having our players realize that they have to respect us their fans, will not happen overnight. The JFF has to also hone our players' public relations skills, as they are now ambassadors of the country.

The ability to deal with the public and better psychological preperation for games are two areas in which we need improvement.

Tilla

Mohandas K. Gandhi

Edited by - Tillamawnin on Oct 13 2001 15:16:50
Go to Top of Page

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Oct 14 2001 :  10:47:33 AM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
quote:

With the increase in publicity of the Reggae Boyz, we are going to find a lot of talk about our players' attitudes which tends to offend fans. I can remember reading some post on our other forum some time ago, that Whitmore and Goodison were in Florida for a Jamaica match, and when they were aproached by fans for authographs, they just gave them the cold sholder and walked away.

Having our players realize that they have to respect us their fans, will not happen overnight. The JFF has to also hone our players' public relations skills, as they are now ambassadors of the country.

The ability to deal with the public and better psychological preperation for games are two areas in which we need improvement.

Tilla

As HL alluded to, in his post on "Paul's Forum", the ability to deal with the press and do so during pressure situations i.e. just before, at half-time and immediately after matches and to interact with fanz all while properly representing your country, team and self has to be taught.

As a RBSC Editorial referenced the Reggae Boyz - (team and idividuals)- is an ongoing 'audition'....THE WORLD IS WATCHING...

I'm sure, thinking of the possible rewards/benefits that could/would acrue, we wouldn't want it any other way.

Karl

Edited by - Karl on Oct 14 2001 10:50:07
Go to Top of Page

The_Emperor

USA
67 Posts

Posted - Oct 15 2001 :  08:08:48 AM  Show Profile
quote:

quote:

Tilla

As HL alluded to, in his post on "Paul's Forum", the ability to deal with the press and do so during pressure situations i.e. just before, at half-time and immediately after matches and to interact with fanz all while properly representing your country, team and self has to be taught.

As a RBSC Editorial referenced the Reggae Boyz - (team and idividuals)- is an ongoing 'audition'....THE WORLD IS WATCHING...

I'm sure, thinking of the possible rewards/benefits that could/would acrue, we wouldn't want it any other way.

Karl

Edited by - Karl on Oct 14 2001 10:50:07

This is one area that Barry touched on with Claude, he directly asked him if they got any form of training from the JFF on how to respond to the press and in public. He answered yes and gave us a brief overview of the kind of briefings that they recieve. So i would gather from that that either it is not being done properly, some people are just slow learners or as they say; you can lead a horse to the water but you cant force him to drink.

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love

Go to Top of Page

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Oct 15 2001 :  09:15:48 AM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage

"This is one area that Barry touched on with Claude, he directly asked him if they got any form of training from the JFF on how to respond to the press and in public. He answered yes and gave us a brief overview of the kind of briefings that they recieve. So i would gather from that that either it is not being done properly, some people are just slow learners or as they say; you can lead a horse to the water but you cant force him to drink.

Long Live Shorty!!#2

Blessed Love"

Emperor: The above that you quoted is also a message to the Massive. We should not take it 'as gospel' that what is 'lacking in display' by our players was necessarily not addressed by the JFF and or the Technical Staff.

Karl
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club Forums © © 2000 Snitz Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.07 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000