Voters should boycott this election

Okay then! Fine! Danville is sticking strictly to the purview of his office. Then why postpone the election any at all?

It is clear that his recommendation in light (which many people still don't have) of what we know now is downright silly. Well, that is where the Prime Minister comes in. She will examine all in front of her and do the right thing. I would hope that Bruce does the same thing when he is Prime Minister.

But then again, wi talking di JLP here. They don't care how many people they disenfranchise.
    See, thats why yuh cannot be taken serious. In all things, blame the JLP. Its reported that the cabinet voted for the September 3rd date ... why nuh attack them then? As mi say, unuh only have balls fi attack the JLP.

I cant understand the unholy rush to the polls...obviously these politicians who go home every night to a secured warm abode with light and water have no understanding of what the people in the east and parts of Kingston are really going through, nor it seems they really care.

I find it absolutely disgusting that we should even be thinking of an election when people are still trying to put back the pieces of their lives together.

I am not saying we should put off the elections indefinately as that would suit no purpose, I also understand that even if we wait six months or one year, there are some who wont be 100% OK or even back to where they were pre-Dean.

All I wish for is that we give those who are worst affected some chance to get things in place rather than be thinking about voting.
      Are we reading the same news?

It is the EOJ, mmade up of politicaians and "civilians" that pushed for Sept. 3.

This is not just the politicians. Also, even the Cabinet it seems wanted the early date.

I however, think a 2-3 week delay is in order, so the 10th or 17th seem more feasible.

If the cabinet voted for September 3, then they too are idiots!

We are agreeing Willi on many points....what i heard on RJR last night was those in the Cabinet calling for the September 3 date are those who say they are tired and want to get this over with, but is this good enough?

What was not in the news but what I heard is even when the Minister of Education came out and pushed back the start of school term was really an act of undermining the PM's authority and also an attempt to force her hand.

Yes there is still a faction in the PNP that is 'carrying feelings' from the presidential race and wants to see Portia out.

I get the feeling the PM is in the minority in the Cabinet however but is standing her ground doggedly.

she has herself to blame that should have been the FIRST thing she do...clean house......it come back now come bite har in har....

But you ever see mi dying trial.

I now am in total and complete agreement with Gamma. (As if I was not before...)

Portia too damn fool fool for words.

We ah tell her from last year to have heads roll and clean shop. She deserve to lose based on her lack of courage and her stategic naivete!

How the hell as a seasoned politician you can surround yuhself with such perfidy?? She mistakes strategy with sTragedy! LoL

That is why I tell you that if Bruce wins, garrisons done! He has no other choice, as he is faced with a similar situation, but SEEMS shrewd enough to appreciate it and take self preservatory action when the right time comes.
              Last edited by Willi; August 24, 2007, 03:40 PM.

What U said... LoL

I think she tried to purge but it would mean an entirely new Cabinet, lets not forget that she did not get the support of most of the PNP ministers

You mean MPs!!!!

You really think Bruce can dismantle Tivarli??? And what would the Dons there do afterwards, it is not like dem can go back to school and learn computer technology or go get a degree up a Mona

What choice does he have??

That is HIS "cabinet"...uneasy truce. They ultimately loyal to Seaga.

Look, Bruce has a 8 to 2 garrison deficit (at least), so how does it suit him to continue with the status quo? The minute he goes thru a weak period, he will be toast and he knows it.

Unique position.

Clean up TiVoli, and he then has moral authority to clean up Jungle, Payne land, Hees, Waterhouse, Rema, Seaview, De la Vega city, Tawes Pen, Text Lane, Matches Lane, italy, Beiruit, Birdsucker, Grants Pen, Trench Town, Denham Town, behind Carib teatah, Haugus town, popeen, Tarringtan, Dung Tung, Hanover street bottom, Southside, Greenwich Town, ...I could go on and on for days....You fill in the MoBay hot spots, as you know that kinda farrin to folks from our side. LoL

Backtu, Paradise, ...

Flankers, Norwood, Greens, Gulf but then all of North West St James is a Garrison

Yuh all over the place breden! Have you changed course from the ODPEM thing or ... yuh naah change nuh course?

Yuh seem to forget the role of Danville Walker. They've made their recommendation, and are stuck because Portia and her clowns cannot get dem 5hit together. Sometimes yuh mek some talk mi wondah if yuh have it together.
                              nuh badda wid dat recommendations are just that 'recommendations'.

The PM takes all recommendations on announcing an election date at this time under advisement!
                              ...and, then says - Sit tight, I will speak when I shall!

Is the PM or the GG who decides on the rescheduled date???

I think I read that ts the EOJ who gets to determine the date, according to accepted convention.

It is confusing.