But you ever see mi dying trial.

I now am in total and complete agreement with Gamma. (As if I was not before...)

Portia too damn fool fool for words.

We ah tell her from last year to have heads roll and clean shop. She deserve to lose based on her lack of courage and her stategic naivete!

How the hell as a seasoned politician you can surround yuhself with such perfidy?? She mistakes strategy with sTragedy! LoL

That is why I tell you that if Bruce wins, garrisons done! He has no other choice, as he is faced with a similar situation, but SEEMS shrewd enough to appreciate it and take self preservatory action when the right time comes.

Willi - Play Portia immediately after she became head of Government and select your Cabinet.

Sickko: kindly list all the current PNP MPs. Thanks!

Gamma: Please help Willi?

Mi seh Portia had to sit tight and await the opportunity to put in if har people dem ..such dat di numbers deh pan fi-har side!!!!

...Ooooh Willi mi nat laffin seh yuh post chupid...mi laffin ow yuh put hit ti-ged-da. makes for smiling! Funny post! Enjoyed it!

I thought it was the Prime Minister who calls the elections in Jamaica?!? In case of postponement does that privilege now become that of the EOJ or the GG? I doubt that very much.

The EOJ's job is to recommend. And sit still.

No,

The PM is out of it for rescheduling it seems.

Convention says EOJ, and I think constitution says GG.

I totally agree.

Just another tactic to delay the elections and wait for Portia to come up in the polls. Do you really think a majority of the cabinet and the JLP would want to disenfranchise people. Me not fool to believe that.

The election date was selected by the EOC. Blame the EOC.

But to be honest the PNP must have felt that extended the date would only make matters worse. My strategy would have been to flood the electorate with free AID goods and money and free troops and then keep the election.

So in other words buy out the voters...thought we were trying to get pass that kind of pork barrell politics and ask people top vote on issues

Old habits die hard?

Still, no one can say that we have not matured.

I cant understand the unholy rush to the polls...obviously these politicians who go home every night to a secured warm abode with light and water have no understanding of what the people in the east and parts of Kingston are really going through, nor it seems they really care.

I find it absolutely disgusting that we should even be thinking of an election when people are still trying to put back the pieces of their lives together.

I am not saying we should put off the elections indefinately as that would suit no purpose, I also understand that even if we wait six months or one year, there are some who wont be 100% OK or even back to where they were pre-Dean.

All I wish for is that we give those who are worst affected some chance to get things in place rather than be thinking about voting.

Perhaps this is the wrong approach. Perhaps instead voters should turn out strongly and vote correctly to ensure that this sordid and embarrassing bungling of public affairs, perpetrated by those who hold power, to their own devious and cunning ends, will never happen again. LOL!

Boss welcome back and I hope everything is A-OK with you and all family members!

Originally posted by Comment View Post
                      Perhaps this is the wrong approach. Perhaps instead voters should turn out strongly and vote correctly to ensure that this sordid and embarrassing bungling of public affairs, perpetrated by those who hold power, to their own devious and cunning ends, will never happen again. LOL!
                      devious and cunning?

Boss that State of Public Emergency was needed.

The only problem you had were the speakers - AJ and other being inarticulate and pointed in pointing out the benefits it would brign as efforts were being made to protect live and property.

I care not whether it was Bruce or Portia or John Tom a State of Public Emergency was needed.

...and, if Bruce wins and another hurricane approaches I hope he declares the State of Emergency before the hurricane hits!

The matter of the security forces being ready to ensure safety (as per policing) and ensuring easy passage of services personel for rescuing of people, restoration of water, electricity, distributors of food and clothing, other necessary emergency personel - those who would be clearing roads (with, ofcourse attendant equipment) with police and or other security persons providing security escorts and directing traffic (i.e.sealing off side roads as the emergency vehicles and or equipment rush on there way...without any others on the highways and byways...etc., etc.

That keeping of all unneccesary vehicles and persons off the streets aid swift response. Unless you would ahve preferred an all-island curfew...and, what the hell would be the difference to law-abiding citizens?

As far as I am concerned the resistance is by uncaring persons and or persons ignorant to the need for only persons, equipment anmd supplies that aid safety, aid fastest response to persons in distress and need to ensure essential services continue to be provided...or just plain damn fools would object to keeping all others out of the way!

Karl,

I think he is referring to the putting off of the election date for 3 months till Dec. 17.

In any case, I do not agree that a SoE was necessary. i do believe preparation was necessary and all the other things you speak of, but we donbt need martial law to have that.

Dont you realize that one can call a SoE and NOT make all the necessary perps to deal with the aftermath of disaster?

A SoE is neither a neccessary nor sufficient condition to succesfully addressing such a disaster crisis. It is a nearly completely independent event.

Now, I do not think that Portia should be villified for this, as she did not abuse anything and her actions were not extreme nor apparently ill-intentioned. Indeed, it would have been more effective if her party was behind her. To me she did OK on this, despite some procedural hiccups.

What if the security forces recommend a SPE when Bruce is Prime Minister?