I think these comments are worthy of discussion under a new

So are you saying that Bob was not already a big international star BEFORE the release of the Legend album?

"Take away the locks and ganja smoking and you would never have heard of Bob Marley"
    You do realise that Bob Marley was just another artist in the US before his death don't you? Never had a hit single in the US and never sold more than Gold outside of the US. After his death he sold Diamond. Do the math. Was his popularity before his death even close to what it is today ? The answer is no now go back and look at the crux of my argument.

in the US...he was HUGE in europe and africa waaaaaaay before that. how yuh think the song zimbabwe came about? dem pick him name out of a grab bag?
      You realise he never had a hit single in the US right?

the US is the world?

Like with HL's posts, it difficult to respond to sinting dat nuh mek nuh sense.

Brickie, stick to yuh Beenie Man history.
          While on tour in the summer of 1980 trying to break into the United States market, he collapsed jogging in New York's Central Park.
          You continue to deal in emotions I will continue to deal in facts

Is the US part of the world? I thought he was huge in America yuh backing off dat statement now? Go back to the crux of my argument which deals specifically with the popularity he enjoys now as opposed to his popularity before his death. Focus.

So he was not big in the US, so by definition he was not an international star, correct?

Interesting. I guess nobody has ever heard of Sachin Tendulkar , multi-millionaire and cricketing legend though he is.

After all who has ever heard of him the US?

So he was not big in the US, so by definition he was not an international star, correct?

Interesting. I guess nobody has ever heard of Sachin Tendulkar , multi-millionaire and cricketing legend though he is.

After all who has ever heard of him the US?
                His popularity before his death as opposed to the popularity he achieved after his death. Focus and stop backtracking.

Crux of your argument:

"Take away the locks and ganja smoking and you would never have heard of Bob Marley"

Now would you care to define who "you" is? The American teeny bopper?

Lawd Bricktop, you could say that about many, many great people whose works are only truly appreciated years, decades, centuries after they are completed.

What does that have to do with wether having dreadlocks and smoking weed made him popular?

Now would you care to define who "you" is? The American teeny bopper?
                      You don't know who you are? In the words of Bob marley "Yuh running and yuh running and yuh running away from yourself"

You realise that if we follow Brickys line of argument, nobody would have heard of David Beckham if he didn't move to LA and start hanging out with Will Smith. LOL!!

where did i say he was HUGE in america? i said he was huge in europe.

anyway from in the 70's bob had influence on the us market (he had written a few songs for johnny nash, streisand had covered guava jelly and clapton's version of i shot the sherrif was popular) and yes he wasn't as big there as he was in europe or perhaps even the rest of the world.

my argument never was that he was HUGE in the US in 1980 or 1984 as the case may be, my argument is that bob was a worldwide star long before he entered the US market in a big way.

my argument is that bob was a worldwide star long before he entered the US market in a big way.
                            My argument is that his popularity today is tenfold what it was before his death and that this increase in popularity can greatly be attributed to his rasta image.

You have it backwards.

He MADE the rasta image a commercial product, the rasta image didn't make him.

i don't know about it being GREATLY attributed to his rasta image maybe his rebel image....... remember reggae was originally categorised with punk