I think these comments are worthy of discussion under a new

yeah? i have another take on it....

I dont think there is a better lyricist in any genre than bob. This is one of the crazier argumnents on this site.. This is something HL would say..

so bunny and Peter were not rasta and ganja smoking.. A who really say this...

bricktop the flaw with your argument is that there are others before him and after him dont let no one sensible hear you say that. Never say that again..

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            so bunny and Peter were not rasta and ganja smoking.. A who really say this...
            Is Sean Paul the best lyricist in Dancehall? When did Bob Marley's popularity skyrocket? Is Bunny Wailer dead? Did Bunny Wailer tour and do interviews? Was Peter Tosh media friendly?

LOL, it really nuh mek any sense.

Another big flaw in Bricktops argument is that he seems to think that the image that Rasta has worldwide today and what is was in the early 70s when Bob was going international is anything near the same.

Bob's success made being Rasta a marketable thing for Jamaican music but it certainly was not that when he started out. The Jamaican artistes who had some international success before that, Milli Small, Desmond Dekker, etc were not Rasta.

People wear t-shirts of icons passed musical or otherwise, we study the works of GREAT people, their impact on their times and on times after...to say that Bob's popularity is based on his image IS TO DISREGARD the musical genius that he was and the impact his music had on people, totally transcending his physical persona. EVERYBODY ultimately became a Bob Marley fan IN SPITE of his ganja smoking dreadlocked image.

And Hortical, no one would take anything away from Tosh and Bunny Wailer but neither had that extra something special that separates good from great... the fact that people walk around wearing a Bob t-shirt today is only half the story; most of them are also listening to his music.

LOL, it really nuh mek any sense.

Another big flaw in Bricktops argument is that he seems to think that the image that Rasta has worldwide today and what is was in the early 70s when Bob was going international is anything near the same.

Bob's success made being Rasta a marketable thing for Jamaican music but it certainly was not that when he started out. The Jamaican artistes who had some international success before that, Milli Small, Desmond Dekker, etc were not Rasta.
                  The flaw in your argument is not realizing that Marley's success as we know it today didn't happen until 1984 so mi nuh kno whe 1970's drop in. Problem is unnuh seem to have a problem grasping the crux of my argument

People wear t-shirts of icons passed musical or otherwise, we study the works of GREAT people, their impact on their times and on times after...to say that Bob's popularity is based on his image IS TO DISREGARD the musical genius that he was and the impact his music had on people, totally transcending his physical persona. EVERYBODY ultimately became a Bob Marley fan IN SPITE of his ganja smoking dreadlocked image.
                    Did I say that his popularity was based solely on his image while disregarding his musical contribution or are you putting words in my mouth?

So are you saying that Bob was not already a big international star BEFORE the release of the Legend album?

"Take away the locks and ganja smoking and you would never have heard of Bob Marley"

Before him and after him that what? That had the combination of image, musical catalogue, marketing and tragic death going for them?

The flaw in your argument is not realizing that Marley's success as we know it today didn't happen until 1984...
                          A suh yuh young? Or a suh yuh ignorant?

Bob struggled to break into the US market before his death and exploded in popularity 3 years after his death. I deal in facts not emotions maybe yuh memory not so clear in your advanced years

in the US...he was HUGE in europe and africa waaaaaaay before that. how yuh think the song zimbabwe came about? dem pick him name out of a grab bag?

Like with HL's posts, it difficult to respond to sinting dat nuh mek nuh sense.

Brickie, stick to yuh Beenie Man history.