• Jawge this must twist your Brain bad. HEART GARMEX

At the HEART of GARMEX
    Learning the ins and outs of interior decoratingTanya Burke
    Thursday, January 31, 2008

From left: course facilitator Nicole Anderson, decorators Sandra Brady, Diana Tie, and Marshalyn Campbell with course facilitator Marie Fraser.
    How many times have you entered a room and almost instinctively you mentally rearrange the furniture, repaint walls and replace existing drapery?
    How many times have you been told by friends and family members you should be an interior decorator but haven't the faintest idea where in Jamaica to learn the art?
    My love for interior decorating and architecture started as early as age nine when I spent many a summer day with graph paper drawing my dream house and daydreaming about its furnishings. Believing in my natural ability to design spaces, I was presumptuous enough to apply to the university of Technology to pursue architecture. I was soon made to realise that talent alone was inadequate when the University responded with four words only . "You do not qualify."
    Decorated by Arthur Anderson, Wackene Pitters, Camille Edwards and Tanya Burke using the casual ethnic design style.
    Not to be deterred, I continued decorating my own space while longing for the opportunity to embark upon a short course that did not require migration. I considered a number of correspondence courses but always felt the need to be in a classroom.
    I learned about the Interior Decorating Course at HEART GARMEX through a friend who started the course and never completed it. In all frankness, being a university graduate and a young professional, I had my reservations about attending classes at HEART, for this reason I procrastinated and did not enrol until months later. Today, I am able to say, enrolling is one of the rewarding experiences I have had to date!
    The interior decorating course is offered both part-time and full-time. Based on my other commitments I opted for the part-time programme. The entire part-time course is 12 weeks in duration and costs $12,000.00. For a mere $1,000 per week you are taught about colour schemes, space planning, types of lighting, how to create lighting plans, the elements and principles of design, which are fundamental aspects of interior decorating. While you are not taught how to sew drapes, you are introduced to the various drapery styles and hardware. Students are required to attend a five-day workshop at Sherwin Williams where they are taught painting techniques by the experts. At the end of the workshop students receive a certification from Sherwin Williams.
    On completion of the 12 weeks, the class is divided into groups required to decorate a space. This space is approximately 8'x10' in size and is made from sheets of previously used plyboard nailed together to form a room with three walls.
    Depending on the facilitator, you will either decide what kind of room you intend to decorate and the style or you will be required to design and decorate a specified space incorporating painting techniques and other areas taught such as paint techniques and candle making. The decor of the space must demonstrate effective application of the knowledge garnered throughout the course. Students are required to provide all furnishings, accessories and paint supplies used to transform second-hand plyboard into a habitable space.
    One appreciates that 12 weeks is inadequate time to regard oneself as an "expert" in interior decorating. On completion, however, the course is designed to develop one's natural talent to become a decorator and serves as a catalyst for structured independent learning.
    The facilitators at HEART, Nicole Anderson, Mrs. Marie Fraser and Mrs. Comrie are to be commended for exemplifying professionalism, and their genuine interest speaks to their commitment to developing the skills of each student. I had the pleasure of being taught by Nicole Anderson, who has been engaged in the course for over seven years.
    HEART GARMEX offers Jamaica the economical, informative Interior Decorating programme many will appreciate.
    Tanya Burke, an attorney-at-law, completed her interior decorating course on January 12, 2008 and plans to take on her entire neighbourhood.
    (Photos: Robert Brady & Wackene Pitters)

What a story. Nice pics too

So we can do other things than IT?

And UTECH tell har that "you are not qualified"

not only that, when a man work hard to develope his business and is successful at it, why the hate?

is like a spill over from the 70's ..... manley's rhetoric actually made some people feel that they had a right to expect that if a man had 2 cars, they would be entitled to one.....and where people were flinging out the word "capitalist" as if it was a bad word!

i remember a man yelling out "captalist" as my father was driving by.....he knew nothing of us or anything whatsoever, how hard and how long my father had worked...

manley didn't properly prepare the masses for the rhetoric that he was delivering on a daily basis and they defined how it best suited to them....man wid cyar "capitalist"...man without car "sufferah" and every "sufferah" was entitled to some of what the "capitalist" had across the board.

absolutely not

Ah lie yuh a tell pon Jakans
              stop di ol labourite propoganda.

as if i am ASKING you a question. i am stating a fact! what i saw and heard first hand! not what someone told me!

i beleive you know that too but find the cheap political rhetoric an esay avenue of escape.

that is all we a try tell you.

DIVERSIFY.

We need specialised training for young people. Currently my plumber is also a HEART graduate of Portmore. He was fully qualifed when he reached America, it took him less than two years to buy his first house as he didn't have to go to school or learned a trade, he already had a good one.

Capitalism is what Garvey did:
                    floated bonds among his people to buy ships and have his own line.
                    He didn't wait to get govt. money (taxpayers money) to start the Black star liner. When will we see something like that in JA? Real capitalism that
                    if you ask me.

one a mi neighbour jump over him neighour fence and say you have fi share this wid we when we win again. These were neigbours who had a good relationship but one worked hard and have a decent house and land space and the other just bearly making it. He didn't take into consideration the fact of how many times the neigbour help him out when his family was short.

Them can jump up bout propoganda now but until today it is an evil thing to be a "capitalist".

Neva hear nuhbaddy say capitalist when
                        mi parents ah pass dem. Dem Mobay was PNP coountry.
                        Mussi Trevor constituency, yuh did live to rhatid.

Give me an example of capitalist in
                          JA? Approach this one carefully.

ok...what that has to do with me? the incident i referred to happened at the corner of tom redcam and south camp road...i have no idea who was the mp then...this was about '78-79.

i don't need to lie about any of this.

Someone who believe in the market system and take advantage by working hard, invest wisely and maximize profit to get ahead. Someone who believe in productivity and gaining marketshare. This person is a calculated risk taker, and believe in Capitalism.