Based on the clear video evidence, admission of guilt from Suarez, conviction of racist abuse, my recommendation is a 6 month worldwide ban from all football activities. Your recommendation?
Suarez: 6 month ban recommended
Originally posted by Hortical View PostBased on the clear video evidence, admission of guilt from Suarez, conviction of racist abuse, my recommendation is a 6 month worldwide ban from all football activities. Your recommendation?"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Hortical View PostBased on the clear video evidence, admission of guilt from Suarez, conviction of racist abuse, my recommendation is a 6 month worldwide ban from all football activities. Your recommendation?
Wait nuh? He has a case to answer for punching an opponent in his last WC qualifier."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Originally posted by Hortical View PostBased on the clear video evidence, admission of guilt from Suarez, conviction of racist abuse, my recommendation is a 6 month worldwide ban from all football activities. Your recommendation?
After we have all 'cooled down' i.e. become rational and dispassionate -
...seriously - Where would you put that bite alongside a career ending injury whereon the action of the player who injured his opponent was deemed to have done so deliberately? ...violent conduct whereon the opponent was spat on?
What has been punishment meted out in each of the above? ...i.e. what has been the precedent? ...and of course there would have to be a look at previous incidents of a similar nature, e.g. the previous occasion on which Luis Suarez has transgressed in this manner and that of the Tottenham and England striker Jermain Defoe.
What say you?
Time ban? ...or number of matches ban?
...and would you keep him at your club?
Aside: On a personal note not wishing to have had or have any of the above visited on any player...I would think the player would prefer a bite to career ending injury or being spat on.
...I think in the heat of battle I would if there was no way around it prefer a bite to any of the above.
Being spat on would bring out murderous rage. I was threatened by a 'hawking Desmond Mackenzie' after a Tivoli v JDF match at the National Stadium which Tivoli lost' and I swear to God when I stepped to him I would have killed him with my bare hand(s) if he went through with his threatened act.
I was ashamed of my thoughts and act (said some things) afterwards...but my stomach turned and I felt at the time (unfortunately I am not sure I could even now in this my advanced age control myself...although at this age I think it would be 'attempt' rather than doing... ) that he was about to subject me to the ultimate disgrace/humiliation. Even now on an emotional level death is preferable to being spat on...my rational thought says otherwise.
Anyway - My thoughts on punishment for Suarez - Match(es) ban! -- through first match of the next season."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Karl, you are right that spitting is a worse infraction than biting...however, that may be cultural. I remember seeing an English woman cleaning the matta out of her baby's eye with her spit when I was a little boy on holiday in England. Peter may remember it. One of the things we need to keep in mind about the great sport we love is that cultural perceptions of what is acceptable (and not) vary around the world. However, I can't see biting being acceptable by the vast majority of cultures out there."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
You see, that is why we may never see eye to eye on these things! A mother using her spit to clean matta out of her baby's eye, or slicking down his hair is a completely different thing from someone spitting at you on a football field!!!
Apparently, even within our own culture there are huge differences!
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostYou see, that is why we may never see eye to eye on these things! A mother using her spit to clean matta out of her baby's eye, or slicking down his hair is a completely different thing from someone spitting at you on a football field!!!
Apparently, even within our own culture there are huge differences!
Grrooooooooooooosssssssssssss!!! :vomit:"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostDidn't say I like to see it but a lot of Jamaican mothers apply generous amounts of their own spittle to catch that odd Gerber stain when they are out of baby wipes on the bus!
Stap yuh nise!!!!....Like seh yuh madda never used to wipe out yuh yeye dem wid har spit too or use har spit fi wipe off the ley-ley offa yuh mouth cawna when yuh was a dry-head, picky-picky head lickkle bwoy. Yuh nuh betta than none a we 'ere.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Karl, lets say a person was convicted of robbery for the first time, and the person faced a sentence of 3 to 10 years. For his first offense, he was given a sentence of 3 years as a first time offender. He robbed another bank after getting out of prison 5 years later. What would be your recommendation of a prison sentence for a second time offender?Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi