Topic  |
|
Mexxx
Starting Member
USA
56 Posts |
Posted - Feb 15 2003 : 3:24:30 PM
|
Here is my analysis of the game, and as usual I always wait a full day to get rid of excess emotion whether good or bad.
We should all remind ourselves that the mids and forwards only had 3-4 days together and hence might not be as fluid as the 5 week together US team BUT we should be appalled at our defense which has been together for 2 weeks and has played games in Japan, Nigeria and the Caribbean.
'If you cheat yourself in practice, you'll cheat yourself in a game; and if you cheat in a game, you'll cheat yourself for the rest of your life.' --Vince Lombardi
Ratings of positions and not individuals.
Forwards 4 Midfield 5 Defense 4
When watching this game on TV you wont get that aerial view to decipher the whole tactical arrangement of the teams but what caught my eye immediately about our play was our spacing and pace.
Our Spacing is poor, our Vertical spacing between Defense to Midfield to Forward needs to be retrenched, why is it the team cannot build the play as a unit with vertical spacing limited to 30-40 yards from defense to forward as we move forward with pace? We should be doing this more often than not and rely on the long ball as a counter attacking option only.
I noticed that when the US players had the ball they were rarely harassed, they had a full 3 seconds to caress and pamper the ball and make up their minds what to do next, that is way too much time. If you give a top-notch side that amount of time they will kill you. When a team is compact the opposing player has to move the ball around faster or lose it. Did Jamaica use the offside trap? Or were we so scared of Beasly and the other forwards speed. Maybe we are not fit enough or we do not have the confidence to play that way, until then we shall not be going to Germany.
Our Defenders were woeful. This is the worst game I have seen Pepe play, Claude was a little better but his long ball passing has to be corrected (minimized), I think Claude is a good passer and is comfortable with the ball and he should not be moved from his central defensive (no midfield) duties, he is one of our better young tacklers (Marco also). Our defensive unit looked bad because they gave up space with their midfield counterparts causing unnecessary vertical space that can be exploited. Shavar as our sweeper was surely missed. In viewing the defense I see them playing deep in our half, actually they were camping on the 18 yard box, one play that highlights this is we won a corner and the US cleared the ball then we immediately regained possession and the ball was passed to Omar Daley at half-line and he passed the ball all the way back to Claude Davis on the 18 yard box that is madness!!!, neither players were under pressure but we relinquished territory to the US and we can guess what Claude did with the ball BOOOOOOMMM. Now it is easy to say Omar should not have played it back but what the hell was Claude doing all the way back there? Was Claude following coaching instructions? Our wingbacks need to be extremely fit and MUST know how to cross the ball if not why be a wingback.
Our players it is said are more comfortable with the ball at their feet than our American counterparts; if this is so why do our players crowd each other? Can you imagine what Tappa/Bibi can do with dribbling/passing options and not have 2 opponents in close proximity. If I am a midfielder for the US, it is easier for me to mark a space and effectively mark 2 players at once because our players are so close together, hence the ball has to go somewhere else or the person passing the ball has to be very accurate and the one controlling it has to do so with aplomb (no roll of foot business). If I was Brown, during practice, when we have possession I would mandate in most circumstances that no mid is to be within 15 yards of each other, and I would stop the play, when the “crowding” occurs. Did we view any switching of the play from one side to another? I didn’t but maybe our players cannot do that.
More to come in Part 2, if the Massives want my fenke fenke view. Devour the message below for now.
'Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.' --Calvin Coolidge |
-------------------------------- Mexxx What the MIND of MAN can conceive and BELIEVE he will ACHIEVE |
|
Karl
USA
914 Posts |
Posted - Feb 15 2003 : 10:48:04 PM
|
Mexxx - Just to touch on the disjointedness and spacing spoken about in the "free flowing forum" and mentioned in your post.
My problem stems from the knowledge that players at the national level, even if the coach is a rucks, (...and I am not here alluding to CB, I mean any coach...) must know how to maintain shape and form.
If I am right; who are these guys (i.e. ...guys pretending to be players of quality? ...rather, pretending to be players?)?
That is my big concern! |
Karl |
Edited by - Karl on Sep 08 2003 2:09:43 PM |
 |
|
Mexxx
Starting Member
USA
56 Posts |
Posted - Feb 17 2003 : 11:28:46 AM
|
Karl, tell us who you believe these players are since you said and I quote you.. "My problem stems from the knowledge that players at the national level, even if the coach is a rucks, (...and I am not here alluding to CB, I mean any coach...) must now how to maintain shape and form"
Let us look at the sweeper and why he was playing so deep, was he following the coaches instructions ?
According to Claude Davis(the sweeper in the US game) he stated when he plays he tries to follow to a tee what the TD requested and he gave BIG PROPS to Carl Brown in helping him as he mentioned to the newspaper following the game
So again who do you think are the players who are not of quality in regards to spacing and tactical awareness etc..
|
-------------------------------- Mexxx What the MIND of MAN can conceive and BELIEVE he will ACHIEVE |
 |
|
Karl
USA
914 Posts |
Posted - Feb 17 2003 : 12:12:51 PM
|
quote: Originally posted by Mexxx
Karl, tell us who you believe these players are since you said and I quote you.. "My problem stems from the knowledge that players at the national level, even if the coach is a rucks, (...and I am not here alluding to CB, I mean any coach...) must now how to maintain shape and form"
Let us look at the sweeper and why he was playing so deep, was he following the coaches instructions ?
According to Claude Davis(the sweeper in the US game) he stated when he plays he tries to follow to a tee what the TD requested and he gave BIG PROPS to Carl Brown in helping him as he mentioned to the newspaper following the game
So again who do you think are the players who are not of quality in regards to spacing and tactical awareness etc..
Claude could not have expected you to interpret his comments as meaning the coach gave instructions on the dymanics of a game not yet played. That is what you have done here.
Coaches give instructions on BASIC PLAN based on PREVIOUS knowledge. Knowledge gained from a) PREVIOUS WORK with his charges and b) PREVIOUS SCOUTING of opponents.
The dymanics of the game DEMANDS sensible players who can think and ADAPT and MODIFY the BASIC PLAN. If what you are saying is Claude is a fool, that is your ascribing that title to him.
I have played and I know the above is what my then coach wanted...THINKING PLAYER! Players who would impose/use their intelligence. Put on your "thinking caps", Ken Walton, for example, would say. No coach can predict exactly how a game will flow. Impossible!
I have coached and one of the things I stressed with any age group I have had occasion to work with is the game is played "in the head". It is a "thinking man's game".
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I suppose you would like to draw me into a controversy -
OK! Lowe and JJ, for example, are dumb arses based on past and current (Reggae Boyz) behaviour!
|
Karl |
Edited by - Karl on Feb 17 2003 1:01:08 PM |
 |
|
Mexxx
Starting Member
USA
56 Posts |
Posted - Feb 17 2003 : 12:32:25 PM
|
I'm not trying to draw you into a controversy, you just stated your question so I wanted to know if you identified the players who are NOT of quality in regards to spacing and tactical awareness. So are these the only 2 players, if so we are almost there if we disregard those 2 correct ? |
Edited by - Mexxx on Feb 17 2003 12:33:37 PM |
 |
|
Karl
USA
914 Posts |
Posted - Feb 17 2003 : 1:07:43 PM
|
I'm not trying to draw you into a controversy, you just stated your question so I wanted to know if you identified the players who are NOT of quality in regards to spacing and tactical awareness. So are these the only 2 players, if so we are almost there if we disregard those 2 correct ?
No! Those were not the only two players with the problem. Those were the worst offenders and made for good examples for pointing out the problem.
The two players who would not fall into that category during the Reggae Boyz/US Feb. 12 game were Tappa and Burton. All others to lesser extents were guilty.
Bibi showed he had that problem when he repeatedly attempted to beat the entire field. He had problems recognising 'depth and spacing' on when to release the ball during too many of his runs. All players will miscalculate/misjudge at times...but, Bibi did it too often! We are here talking within the 'concept' of trying to reach the TOP OF THE WORLD.
I think Delroy hit the nail on the head...an American emphasis on TEAM...TEAM...TEAM would be good for the Reggae Boyz!!!!!
The Reggae Boyz could do worse than visit the US (near to Ja), tour and play closed door games against all the MLS teams. Perhaps, an appreciation of TEAM would gradually seep in.
Ofcourse a better option would be to play EPL teams. The pace, spacing and signature TEAM play would be a definite plus. A few bus arse by club teams (said in and felt...disgust) would awaken the Reggae Boyz to the importance of TEAM...apparently CB's words are not making the impression it should. Bus arse by club TEAMS may add potency to CB's words. |
Karl |
Edited by - Karl on Feb 17 2003 1:15:50 PM |
 |
|
Karl
USA
914 Posts |
Posted - Feb 17 2003 : 2:23:24 PM
|
Here is my analysis of the game, and as usual I always wait a full day to get rid of excess emotion whether good or bad.
We should all remind ourselves that the mids and forwards only had 3-4 days together and hence might not be as fluid as the 5 week together US team BUT we should be appalled at our defense which has been together for 2 weeks and has played games in Japan, Nigeria and the Caribbean.
'If you cheat yourself in practice, you'll cheat yourself in a game; and if you cheat in a game, you'll cheat yourself for the rest of your life.' --Vince Lombardi
Ratings of positions and not individuals.
Forwards 4 Midfield 5 Defense 4
When watching this game on TV you wont get that aerial view to decipher the whole tactical arrangement of the teams but what caught my eye immediately about our play was our spacing and pace.
Our Spacing is poor, our Vertical spacing between Defense to Midfield to Forward needs to be retrenched, why is it the team cannot build the play as a unit with vertical spacing limited to 30-40 yards from defense to forward as we move forward with pace? We should be doing this more often than not and rely on the long ball as a counter attacking option only.
I noticed that when the US players had the ball they were rarely harassed, they had a full 3 seconds to caress and pamper the ball and make up their minds what to do next, that is way too much time. If you give a top-notch side that amount of time they will kill you. When a team is compact the opposing player has to move the ball around faster or lose it. Did Jamaica use the offside trap? Or were we so scared of Beasly and the other forwards speed. Maybe we are not fit enough or we do not have the confidence to play that way, until then we shall not be going to Germany.
Our Defenders were woeful. This is the worst game I have seen Pepe play, Claude was a little better but his long ball passing has to be corrected (minimized), I think Claude is a good passer and is comfortable with the ball and he should not be moved from his central defensive (no midfield) duties, he is one of our better young tacklers (Marco also). Our defensive unit looked bad because they gave up space with their midfield counterparts causing unnecessary vertical space that can be exploited. Shavar as our sweeper was surely missed. In viewing the defense I see them playing deep in our half, actually they were camping on the 18 yard box, one play that highlights this is we won a corner and the US cleared the ball then we immediately regained possession and the ball was passed to Omar Daley at half-line and he passed the ball all the way back to Claude Davis on the 18 yard box that is madness!!!, neither players were under pressure but we relinquished territory to the US and we can guess what Claude did with the ball BOOOOOOMMM. Now it is easy to say Omar should not have played it back but what the hell was Claude doing all the way back there? Was Claude following coaching instructions? Our wingbacks need to be extremely fit and MUST know how to cross the ball if not why be a wingback.
Our players it is said are more comfortable with the ball at their feet than our American counterparts; if this is so why do our players crowd each other? Can you imagine what Tappa/Bibi can do with dribbling/passing options and not have 2 opponents in close proximity. If I am a midfielder for the US, it is easier for me to mark a space and effectively mark 2 players at once because our players are so close together, hence the ball has to go somewhere else or the person passing the ball has to be very accurate and the one controlling it has to do so with aplomb (no roll of foot business). If I was Brown, during practice, when we have possession I would mandate in most circumstances that no mid is to be within 15 yards of each other, and I would stop the play, when the “crowding” occurs. Did we view any switching of the play from one side to another? I didn’t but maybe our players cannot do that.
More to come in Part 2, if the Massives want my fenke fenke view. Devour the message below for now.
'Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.' --Calvin Coolidge
Excellent! |
Karl |
 |
|
Karl
USA
914 Posts |
Posted - Feb 20 2003 : 8:51:35 PM
|
DweetSweet Congratulations CB, considering just what you were up against. Wednesday, February 19, 2003, 12:47:59 PM IP:66.218.39.138
KINGSTON TRIP REPORT By DweetSweet
Yes, I said it. Well done, Carl Brown. I feel confident in being optimistic about Jamaica’s performance after our 2-1 defeat against a “B” USA team playing away in Kingston. My opinion is contrary to the mostly negative posts on the defeat that I have read on this forum since the game. Most of the vitriol is targeted against individual ballaz and Carl Brown. I believe Carl Brown and the Jamaican national team’s preparation, performance and loss by the odd goal was extraordinary considering what he up against.
Jamaica faced a USA team that had 24 players in camp preparing for a game against Argentina and Jamaica. Camp for the USA started on January 4, players in residence, and training twice per day. This means that by the time the US ballaz kicked off against Jamaica on February 15, they will have had 38 days, more than 60 training sessions, and most importantly, one international against Argentina to work out the kinks. Carl Brown and Jamaica had only 4 days and maybe 9 sessions with all of his ballaz to put together a cohesive team, design a game plan around the players that turned up (remember they were some absentees, Lisbie et al) and prepare the ballaz for an international. I traveled to Kingston fully expecting Jamaica to lose because of the formidable difference in time for preparation between the two sides. I was pleasantly surprised by our performance after the USA scored their tow goals in five minutes. I take comfort that Jamaica created good chances to score, was able to keep possession in the central third, and more importantly was able to deny a USA team of 11 players who knew each other from having played, slept, eaten, and lived for the past 38 days. Bruce Arena can not have felt good about the result or the performance of his team against a literally “hurry-come-up” Jamaica team. Considering that compared to the USA CB had the basket to carry water, he produced a result that says something about the good standard of our players, and Carl Brown’s ability to “tun-hand make fashion” in 4 days. Yes, Jamaica lost. But only by the odd goal!
This ability to organize and prepare a team quickly is the most important skill for a national team manager. World Cup qualification is a league format, not a tournament. What this means is that all national team managers will normally have only 4 days to prepare a team from 22 players coming from the more comfortable and familiar environment and tactics of their clubs. Those coming from overseas clubs and facing pressure from their club managers to not play for their country will need special attention to refocus their minds to international football.
Like most, I was also annoyed at Lowe’s seeming inability to bring other players into the game, especially when needing assistance and trying to take on 2-3 USA defenders. Many times the simple pass out to the flanks was on. On reflection though, I think that Lowe is a simple man that needs to get very familiar with his midfield and strike partner in order to use them while playing a traditional hold-up role as a big-man striker. And that may only come with more training and living time with the national team.
I was once again fortunate to be able to see the Reggae Boyz play in Kingston. Much has been said about the new playing surface. I can also confirm just how good it is because I was privileged to walk on it about 30 minutes before the start of the game.
Here are my comments on the actual game. We surprised Bruce Arena and the USA by starting the game really slowly. The opposite was expected from a national team playing at home. I thought Arena’s game plan would be similar to the last time he visited Kingston during WCQ, that is defend, keep possession, frustrate Jamaica, come away with a draw. He expected Jamaica to just keep coming at the USA. When he saw that Jamaica was content to keep the ball in their third, with only occasional but tentative forays forward, he told his team to push up and attack. This resulted in their two early goals. Jamaica spent the rest of the game trying to catch up, and could have if they had converted the chances that they created. Tappa’s lack of match fitness showed by the end of the first half. A good performance in the first 40 minutes suggest that he could be the main playmaker if the can get match fit for international level football. He certainly has the skills, but without the conditioning and nutrition I doubt he could be a threat to any international team for a full 90 minutes.
The one constant liability I saw was young Zaidie in the right back position. Most of the USA attacks came down their left side. Zaidie was frequently out of position, which came mainly from him, or some other Jamaican midfield losing the ball when he decided to go forward. That and his inability to cope with DaMarcus Beasly’s touch and speed meant that he had a rotten game. Goodison’s lack of professional club competition and fitness showed. When you see a center back having to tackle to break up attacks, it invariably means that he has not been able to use positioning to read the game and close passing lanes when they open for his opponents. For a center-back that comes from playing top-quality football, and specialist defensive training. I don’t think he is getting that with an NPL club.
The one thing that was consistent in Rene Simoes WCQ98 team was the defence. I have said it before and will say it again: it was the strength of our defense that qualified Jamaica for WC98. My preference is to use a back 6 for our defensive shape of GK Lawrence, CB Darren Moore and Frank Sinclair, full backs of Robert Scarlet and Granny Marshall Jr., with a Chris Dawes in defensive midfield. Keep this group together, experiment with the rest and the attacking shape. Note that I suggest a recall for Darren Moore (west Bromwich Albion) and Frank Sinclair. Frank brings the speed and commitment to Jamaica. Among other things, Moore brings positioning and height.
Al in all I had a great but short trip to Kingston. Thanks to Courtney and Balla for sharing the delights of Kingston’s nightlife on Wednesday night after the game. The employees of the club that Courtney and Balla took me to were so friendly and courteous. They all seemed to know Courtney and Balla very well as frequent patrons, often showering them with great affection. Ahh bwoy…..
|
Karl |
 |
|
|
Topic  |
|
|
|