Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club
 Everything Reggae Boyz Forum
 How much does qualifications mean to us?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ShattaCleve

USA
73 Posts

Posted - Aug 03 2001 :  12:48:22 PM  Show Profile
We should have enforced the rules below. There is a time for everything and in a perfect world all would be okay but sometimes a man has to do what a man has to do. That is why CEO gets paid the big bucks as they sometimes have to make the tough decisions.

What is more important at this juncture, Qualifying or having the clubs pissed at us for a short period?

respect

FIFA Rules
under FIFA rules, players have to be released by their clubs five days in advance of internationals.
But if there are two internationals within an eight-day spell, the players can stay with their national team for the entire period.

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Aug 03 2001 :  2:14:07 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
The World Cup comes once every four years. OK! The practise matches and the qualifiers are usually long drawn out. However, in Jamaica's interest qualifying is most important. Consider what keeping our players in the spotlight (for 8 years and more) will do for the entire "Jamaica Football Industry".

1. Players exposure. 2. Possible new contracts for players. 3. Possible job opportunities for Jamaican coaches/TD...in the Caribbean? 4. Money coming to the JFF's coffers. 5. Greater salability/marketablity of the Reggae Boyz. 6. Spin off merchandising 7. Easier to attact FIFA training courses (referees, administrators, coaches etc.) at home. etc., etc.

Imperative we qualify! That is why I do not understand the JFF's approach to preparation for this 4 coming crucial matches.

Regardless! Forward to 2002!

Long Live Shorty! Long Live Shorty! Long Live....

Karl
Go to Top of Page

Charmin
Starting Member

40 Posts

Posted - Aug 04 2001 :  08:55:34 AM  Show Profile
Shatta, if you are talking about enforcing the FiFa rules for the game in Brasil, then I must disagree here.

Before I do though, let me state that I am disappointed, a bit, with the JFF, not for the cancellation of that game, but for the lack of planning, it seems, for the summer. Truth is, that game should have been declined from the outset, not because of player availability, but we should have had our summer planned out long before this, especailly after the draw against the USA.

We knew before hand that we wouldn't have had the services of most of our senior players. Therefore, we need to come up with a strategy to maximize these two free months...July & August. If we say okay, it doesn't make sense playing a number of games when most of these players will not be on the starting roaster anyway. Fine! (Though one must question that route) Then why not give the international exposure to the younger sqauds...say the U/17 or even the girls, and keep the seniors at home, training and playing parish teams like we have been doing...Sure the supporters would not have been happy with this. But I think if we communicate a lot better with the supporters, educating, enlightening, reenforcing {I am on a roll here:-)} ect
our reason for doing what we do, then I think more people would be less critical of the JFF actions.

Now back to the real issue...Should we have enforce the FiFa rule for the game in Brasil?

No, I say. That is a battle that the JFF would win, but a war that most of our players would ultimately loose with their respective clubs. If we could not negotiate with the clubs and come to a verbal agreement, then I say leave it be. The rules should be enforce come September, if the clubs decide not to cooperate, considering the fact that we play Mexico and Honduras both in four days.

But for the game in Brasil, I don't think we should take it there with any club at all, at all, at all. Saying that, however, I am not too please with our preparation strategy so far at all. Lets see what materialize after the game between Swansea, and that is what I can't stand. We don't seem to have a concrete/direct plan as to how to go about getting ourself ready for the final hurdles.

Respect and irie ites!
Charmin

Respect and irie ites!

Go to Top of Page

ShattaCleve

USA
73 Posts

Posted - Aug 04 2001 :  2:35:53 PM  Show Profile
Charmin I agree with your sentiments and I think that it would work in a perfect world. However we are talking about the JFF here and they are far from the most professional outfit out there.

You have made your point but I suspect that you still think that we can beat Mexico on a wing and a prayer.

My question is this Charmin
If we had a choice of qualifying or pissing off the clubs and not qualifying what would you chose? Yes Charmin we know about being pro active(trust me who was it that was crying about B-Teams and friendlies? noow you remember it was Shatta)

So what is your answer?

Go to Top of Page

Charmin
Starting Member

40 Posts

Posted - Aug 04 2001 :  3:45:45 PM  Show Profile
Shatta, one game, even with Brasi in Brasil, will not make a difference in how we turn up for Mexico and company come September...That is with the overseas based players I am talking. Therefore, I wouldn't take that chance. As I don't think the players would want to be in a situation of having to make a choice at this point.

B-Team, C or even D, you really think that would make a difference? What we are missing is quality preparation at all levels. Why do you think the U/17 and u/20 feared so badly in their respective tournament? Even if we had such teams, without quality exposure it would all be for nought. Don't tell me that we would be expecting Clovis to do all here. That to me is one of the reason for our down trend of late.

Don, the programme needs to be laid out on a table, examine, and then recommendations be made to get the programme working in the way that it was intented to.

Respect and irie ites!
Charmin

Go to Top of Page

ShattaCleve

USA
73 Posts

Posted - Aug 04 2001 :  6:10:39 PM  Show Profile
Charmin the Brazil game is a tournament I think and so then we could have played more than one game. What about Peru and Paraguay? We have too much excuses now, we have become a team of excuse makers. It is time we shape up or ship out.

We can talk until we are blue about the program but do any of us for one minute believe that the JFF wants our help?

Take a look at the apparrel contract.
We would always say that the JFF would learn in due time and after the fiasco with Lanzera/Kappa what did we do? We went back and had the captian who knows nothing about negotiating sensitive deals signing a deal with UHL sports and then we hide our heads in the sand by saying that we are minnows and shouldn't expect better.

Don't you see it Charmin?
Everytime the JFF messes up we have a tailored made excuse at the ready. When are we going to grow up? WE are regressing in our manner and program and yet everyone act like they can't see it.

Everyone is on this trinidad trip and thinks that becuase we have players playing overseas then we don't need practise games. Well chemistry is what got us to France and in case we forgot this qualification caught us off gaurd as it was move up and on top of that we were coming off a 9 month break of no international games.

It is the chicken coming home to roost. I have no problem with us making sure that we have a wonderful relation with the clubs all I have to say is that we start to prepare for 2006 right now.

The JFF dont' want our help they dont' want anyone snooping around. They don't even have a damn website for crying out loud. I mean how much more incompetent can you get than that?
respect

Go to Top of Page

Charmin
Starting Member

40 Posts

Posted - Aug 04 2001 :  7:41:40 PM  Show Profile
I agree with most, but why do you want to get me started on the website saga. That is a issue that I doubt the JFF ever address, at least to my knowledge. It is baffling to me that a Federation representing a country, the first English speaking Caribbean country that qualified for a W/Cup finals...A country that is one of thirty-plus nation to ever qualify for the W/Cup...And they do not have a functioning website. In this day, age and time is very, very, embarassing.

Don't get me wrong, they must be commended for a lot. It hurts though because I know they know what is required to make the Federation more efficient.

Peru and Paraguay I will leave alone. I don't understand, and truss meh, trying to analyze their moves sometimes only gives one a migraine.

I, however, understand the need to be careful at this moment in ensuring that we keep the "Office" record intact at this point in our campaign.

I read an article my an American which basically stated that for American to improve and get better they need to get away from Concacaf and play more European teams. I believe that we need to do the same and look towards Europe, South America, Asia and Africa. We need to get away from the Caribbean and start showing more confidence in the "Replacement Soliders".

Respect and irie ites!
Charmin

Go to Top of Page

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Aug 05 2001 :  09:12:05 AM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
quote:

I agree with most, but why do you want to get me started on the website saga. That is a issue that I doubt the JFF ever address, at least to my knowledge. It is baffling to me that a Federation representing a country, the first English speaking Caribbean country that qualified for a W/Cup finals...A country that is one of thirty-plus nation to ever qualify for the W/Cup...And they do not have a functioning website. In this day, age and time is very, very, embarassing.

Don't get me wrong, they must be commended for a lot. It hurts though because I know they know what is required to make the Federation more efficient.

I like the qualification - "...they must be commended for a lot." We all agree on that. It is the areas that need tighten up that drives us to distraction.

A big part of the problem is due to the legacy of JFF past leaders. Insurlarity and or a continuous running of 'elections' to stay in office i.e. a refusal to contract certain tasks to outside sources...e.g 1. using professionals to design, monitor and 'run a website 2. using corporate legal teams with expertise in negotiating contract to negotiate on the JFF's behalf...etc., etc.

quote:

Peru and Paraguay I will leave alone. I don't understand, and truss meh, trying to analyze their moves sometimes only gives one a migraine.

I, however, understand the need to be careful at this moment in ensuring that we keep the "Office" record intact at this point in our campaign.

I read an article my an American which basically stated that for American to improve and get better they need to get away from Concacaf and play more European teams. I believe that we need to do the same and look towards Europe, South America, Asia and Africa. We need to get away from the Caribbean and start showing more confidence in the "Replacement Soliders".

Respect and irie ites!
Charmin

You are bang on! We need to 'step out' into the wider world where the competition is to be found that will supplement the drive towards higher standards of play.

Karl
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club Forums © © 2000 Snitz Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.05 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000