Topic |
|
fleX
Starting Member
Trinidad and Tobago
38 Posts |
Posted - Dec 19 2001 : 9:14:32 PM
|
Wolde Harris out of MLS. By Jason Williams. 19 December 2001 (TEAMtalk) -- MLS has decided not to renew the contract of New England forward Wolde Harris, leaving MLS’s 18th all-time scorer without a club. According to the Jamaican forward’s agent, Ken Neal, MLS informed them on Wednesday of their decision not to renew Harris’ contract with the league, which owns all player contracts under the single-entity system. Harris, 27, finished with only three goals and five assists in a disappointing year for both he and his club, especially in light of his spectacular debut with the Revs in 2000, when he scored 15 goals and added seven assists. The five-year MLS veteran, who played his first three years in Colorado, scored 44 goals over 135 games played. The Clemson University grad has also appeared numerous times for his country, including during the Jamaican’s successful qualifying campaign for the 1998 FIFA World Cup, the first in the country’s history. There are two scenarios in which Harris could return to the league: if he were to re-sign to a lower salary or if he was “re-discovered” by another MLS club while playing in another league and brought back to the league as a Discovery Player. New England and Major League Soccer were unavailable for comment at the time of this report. The decision makes Harris a free agent as of January 1, 2002. Harris recommends Scarlett to Revs Internetsoccer News. New England forward Wolde Harris has recommended his Jamaican compatriot Robert Scarlett to The Revs as a possible player option for the club. The young midfielder impressed against the US in New England's Foxboro Stadium in October, as the States edged past the Jamaicans with a 2-1 win. When asked about who he thought would be a viable new recruit to the New England cause, Harris knew right away. "If you watched the Jamaica vs USA game at Foxboro there was a player by the name of Robert Scarlett who was playing left midfield," Harris told TEAMtalk. "He's only about 21 to 22 years old and he's very fast and extremely skilful." Harris ans Scarlett were also team mates at Habor View. "It wouldn't hurt to know that when I played in Jamaica for Habor View in the off-season, he supplied a lot of crosses for my goals." The new MLS season kicks off in March, which would allow ample time for a trial, should The Revs' coaching staff wish to invite Scarlett into their pre-season camps. Fuller decision expected imminently. Internetsoccer News Hearts have offered Jamaican striker Ricardo Fuller a deal to stay until the end of the season - and expect a decision in the next 48 hours. The player's agent has been in Edinburgh since Friday negotiating the fine detail of Fuller's contract extension with Chris Robinson and Craig Levein. The Tivoli Gardens hitman has been a roaring success at Tynecastle since arriving on a three-month loan deal from the Caribbean in October. Hearts are desperate to hang on to him and expect a positive answer from Fuller - by pledging himself to Gorgie Road until May. Despite scoring just twice for Hearts, Fuller is a firm favourite amongst supporters of the improving Gorgie club. His ability to bring others into the play in the attacking third is a commodity which has been missing for too long at Tynecastle. He is also the type of player who brings extra supporters through the turnstiles. Fuller is undoubtedly an entertainer, and there are times in matches when it seems the player himself does not know what he's going to do with the ball next - prompting one team-mate to liken him to former Rangers enigma Gabriel Amato. Levein does not have anyone with comparable ability at his disposal and it would be a major blow if Fuller was to surprise everyone and fail to reach agreement with the club. Yet, it is understood that both clubs have already agreed that Fuller can see out the remainder of the season at Tynecastle, but with a price of £1million on his head it is likely that May will see the end of Fuller's association with the club.
Soca Warriors For Ever. God Bless. |
|
Tillamawnin
USA
197 Posts |
Posted - Dec 19 2001 : 9:31:13 PM
|
Thanks for the news Flex. Wolde out of work? Kind of hard, considering that he did not really spark for the Reggae Boyz. That being the case, he cannot look to England, as he does not enough national caps.
What are your thoughts on the Fuller deal? Should Tivoli and his agent drop their asking price to allow Hearts to be able to afford him? I do not think so. I think that there are other clubs out there who knows the player's worth and will be more than willing to pay.
I also have my doubts about a club which is having problems balancing their books. Next thing you know, Fuller cannot get his pay when he plays. I say seek a team which will give the player playing time, but make sure that the team is financially viable.
TIlla
__________________________________________________ Live simply so that others may simply live.
Mohandas K. Gandhi |
|
|
fleX
Starting Member
Trinidad and Tobago
38 Posts |
Posted - Dec 21 2001 : 7:19:02 PM
|
Fuller is definitely one of-if not the best and exciting Jamaican strikers, and yes he deserve ever last cent they can pay for him, Hearts will make a good signing if they take him, however discipline and experience has a major part to do with anything, not that he's not discipline, but you must wonder why he hasn't sign with a club after all this time and he is a good striker and he has recovered 100% from his back injury.
Soca Warriors For Ever. God Bless.
Edited by - fleX on Dec 23 2001 11:30:10 |
|
|
Karl
USA
914 Posts |
Posted - Dec 23 2001 : 08:48:16 AM
|
quote:
.....however disirpline and experience has a major part to do with anything, not that he's not disirpline, but you must wonder why he hasn't sign with a club after all this time and he is a good striker and he has recover 100% from his back injury.
I do not think discipline has anything to do with Fuller not signing a deal.
He has had incredible bad luck. Remember he was on the verge of signing for one million pounds when he failed his physical.
He certainly deserves at least that million pounds signing.
Damn! Those were two excellent goals against Motherwell.
Karl |
|
|
fleX
Starting Member
Trinidad and Tobago
38 Posts |
Posted - Dec 23 2001 : 11:38:15 AM
|
Karl - dont get so defensive, relax. I'll tell you what, I have a tape in Trinidad with the Reggae Boyz vs the Soca Warriors a friendly which T&T won back in March 1998 final score 2-0, anyhow my point is Fuller looked the most dangerous player on the field from both sides, he even looked better than Dwight Yorke by far, he was dangerous everytime he had the ball, David Johnson also played in that match and he was notting compaired to Fuller, Fuller had me bitting my nails off, when your coach took him off in the second half I was relief as hell, look! if I had money I would buy my own club and I would look to sign 3 Jamaican players I admire alot, Fuller, Withmore and Gardener (if I had the money that is).
Enjoy yuh holidays, laterz.
Edited by - fleX on Dec 23 2001 11:41:42 |
|
|
|
Topic |
|
|
|