Author |
Topic  |
|
Charmin
Starting Member
40 Posts |
Posted - Nov 14 2001 : 3:19:33 PM
|
After all the games played over the last few months between teams that make up Concacaf. I am now willing to share a few points that I think should be in place come qualifying time for Germany.
1) The importance of a sound federation.
Costa Rica never made it to the W/Cup after '90' because the team always seemed to involved in some sort of war with the Federation.
During and leading up to our campaign for Korea/Japan, the Reggaeboyz were not only faced with various tragedies, but also an inept federation, and maybe and overworked and inexperience coaching staff.
I think too many distractions took place this time around. "Tappa" went missing...Carl Brown knew, but didn't see it fit to tell the TD even though, Tappa's disapperance was making local headlines..Nandi not turning up for training until the last minute..."The Pearl" also not turning up for trainig...One TD being dragged all over the place in an effort to get him to coach three teams at the same time...No practice matches...No facility...Brown's poor judgement (Remarks about Hayles)...A disgruntled Hyde openly voicing his anger with at the Federation, and the list could go on.
What I am saying is that, there was just too much unnecessary burden that with proper diplomacy, some could easily have been avoided and/or solved.
Next time we need to better manage our internal affairs.
Veterans: I realize the importance of having verterans around. Now, I am not talking about age, nor am I talking about players with international experience. Instead I am talking about players with the experience of playing in W/Cup qualifying games in the Concacaf region.
You see, in the end, Mexico relied on three veterans who, all incidentally, came through for them. Blanco (Forward), Aspe (Midfield) and Saurez{sp} (Defense). What a difference those three players made. Of course, the coach deserve tons of praises too. But those players were an inspiration to both team and supporters. Class is class.
The USA relied heavily on their vets too: Agoos, Regis, Strewart and most importantly, Reyna...They can't seem to win without him.
Looking at TnT Vs the USA Sunday gone, I also noticed the play of their vets. Rougier in defense and Dwarika in midfield. Dwarika, being in the midfield, was the flashier of the two, but Rougier silently effective in the defense.
What I am saying here is: Lets not isolate our veterans, as we now seek to give more exposure to the youngsters, with silly comments. But let us also communicate with them our plan for the future, so that they may feel that they are still a part of the family.
We should not eliminate, but instead expand on our pool of players, because come crunch time, those vets, the proven warriors, may just be the shoulders on which we need to fall.
Team play: The USA and Mexico were the two teams that benifitted most from this.
Costa Rica this time around was in a league by themselves.
Mexico struggeled all campaign long. But though it's superior team play, that encourages players to support each other, they were able to pull through.
Jamaica did not play as a team for ninety minutes of any game during this campaign. We were too dependent on a few individuals and also the moment of individual brilliance.
This needs to be addressed and corrected if we are to become a power in world soccer.
Homefield: I realize that come next qualification, homefield advantage will be even slimmer this time around. Teams are better prepared to deal with the adversities of playing on the road. Therefore, Jamaica cannot make the "Altitude and playing in Central America" excuse at all.
We must be prepared to play anywhere and at anytime if we have any intention of succeeding next time around. We will have to get the "monkey of our backs".
Breaks: We must be prepared for any break in our campaign, that drags on and may cause complacency to set in...The two months summer break--We should have long devised a plan of action.
Handling of the Local players: We showed a lack of faith in the local players that may cause these youngsters to question their abilities, leading to and inferior complex.
We should not shy away from exposing these talented players to stronger oppositions.
While other coaches could and would make changes to their squads. We, however, kept making the same predictable moves over and over again. Seemingly afraid to go with the locals.
Lets not make ourselves so predictable next time nuh.
Facilities: Of all six teams: Mexico, Costa Rica, USA, Honduras, TnT and JA. JA was the least equipped to offer it's players proper facilities on which to train and prepare for their upcoming engagements. This, surely, without a doubt, affected the national football programme.
Yes, we qualified the last time with the same poor facilities, but bar has since been raised even higher...We need to get with the programme.
Sumady duh, tell mi dat dere is hope in site.
I am sure there are a lot more issues to address, and hopefully the JFF will be addressing them soon...Like the search for a new TD. But in the mean time lets us wish Carl Brown, Peter Cargill and the youngsters all the best.
Respect and irie ites1 Charmin
|
|
Karl
USA
914 Posts |
Posted - Nov 14 2001 : 9:45:19 PM
|
Very, very good read!!! Yes Iyah!
Karl |
 |
|
Tillamawnin
USA
197 Posts |
Posted - Nov 14 2001 : 11:23:50 PM
|
quote:
Veterans: I realize the importance of having verterans around. Now, I am not talking about age, nor am I talking about players with international experience. Instead I am talking about players with the experience of playing in W/Cup qualifying games in the Concacaf region.
We should not eliminate, but instead expand on our pool of players, because come crunch time, those vets, the proven warriors, may just be the shoulders on which we need to fall.
Team play: The USA and Mexico were the two teams that benifitted most from this.
Costa Rica this time around was in a league by themselves.
Mexico struggeled all campaign long. But though it's superior team play, that encourages players to support each other, they were able to pull through.
Jamaica did not play as a team for ninety minutes of any game during this campaign. We were too dependent on a few individuals and also the moment of individual brilliance.
This needs to be addressed and corrected if we are to become a power in world soccer.
Homefield: I realize that come next qualification, homefield advantage will be even slimmer this time around. Teams are better prepared to deal with the adversities of playing on the road. Therefore, Jamaica cannot make the "Altitude and playing in Central America" excuse at all.
We must be prepared to play anywhere and at anytime if we have any intention of succeeding next time around. We will have to get the "monkey of our backs".
Breaks: We must be prepared for any break in our campaign, that drags on and may cause complacency to set in...The two months summer break--We should have long devised a plan of action.
Handling of the Local players: We showed a lack of faith in the local players that may cause these youngsters to question their abilities, leading to and inferior complex.
We should not shy away from exposing these talented players to stronger oppositions.
While other coaches could and would make changes to their squads. We, however, kept making the same predictable moves over and over again. Seemingly afraid to go with the locals.
Lets not make ourselves so predictable next time nuh.
Facilities: Of all six teams: Mexico, Costa Rica, USA, Honduras, TnT and JA. JA was the least equipped to offer it's players proper facilities on which to train and prepare for their upcoming engagements. This, surely, without a doubt, affected the national football programme.
Yes, we qualified the last time with the same poor facilities, but bar has since been raised even higher...We need to get with the programme.
Sumady duh, tell mi dat dere is hope in site.
I am sure there are a lot more issues to address, and hopefully the JFF will be addressing them soon...Like the search for a new TD. But in the mean time lets us wish Carl Brown, Peter Cargill and the youngsters all the best.
Respect and irie ites1 Charmin
Charmin, you have touched on so many valid points that I do not know where to start.
Firstly, let me touch the subject of veterans. While I agree with you that we should not throw away our vets, I must say that our players should be selected not by their birth cirtificates, but how much they can contribute to the team. We are a lucky team though, in that by the next world cup, we will have veterans like Ricardo Gardner, Andy Williams, Aaron Lawerence, Donovan Ricketts, Pepe Goodison to name a few. These players will complement the group of young and inexperienced talent we will unleash on CONCACAF.
Hopefully, the JFF can by then address some of the areas in which they failed the team this time around. We need to see some organized leadership and us putting our programme on the right track again.
Thanks for a very concious post sir. I hope the powers that be are taking notes!
Respect, Tilla
__________________________________________________ Live simply so that others may simply live.
Mohandas K. Gandhi |
 |
|
Lyod
Starting Member
16 Posts |
Posted - Nov 15 2001 : 10:23:48 AM
|
Charmin, I sometimes wonder if we can see all of this Can't the JFF. I mean most of what you stated is blatantly obivious to many. The Infastructure of Jamaican football leaves alot to be desired. But nothing gets done. The Local players are usually treated like garbage(or Placeholders as they call it) but nothings is done about it. I Have Given up on the NY Knicks because of imcompetent management and i'm trying not to let the JFF get to me.
Since WCQ is over and Jamaica is staying home, this would be a great opportunity for the JFF to develop our local players. Who says we cant have a camp now. Gather the best 25 local and take them on a mini-Concacaf tour. TnT would be a great place to place, Haiti, Martinique, Grenada, Barbados, just get them playing time and exposure. Yes thier plaing in the NPL, but nothing compares to international games. But i'm sure from this suggestion we here cries of "No money." as always, this is precisely why it would be a Caribbean tour, the least cost.
JFF drops the sponsorship with Amrican Airlines, picks up Air JAMAICA, get flown free to any Island, Get Butch "Superclubs" Stewart as a sponsor. Have free hotel stays and that would take care of most of the cost.
You know what writing this is making me mad i have to stop. I cant believe its so hard for the JFF to get going.
Mi Gone
|
 |
|
|
Topic  |
|
|
|