Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club
 Everything Reggae Boyz Forum
 Charmin's take on the US vsThe Reggae Boyz match..
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Oct 08 2001 :  7:18:09 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
..at Foxboro. Time: 10/07/2001

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charmin
My impression
Mon Oct 8 14:40:27 2001

I must first commend and congratulate coach Brown and Cargill for being bold enough to bring some changes to the starting line-up and attempted to instruct the players to play attacking football.

Whether this was achieved yesterday, Sunday or not, is not the point. At this moment I welcome any change from the norm. I kept this in context because neither man had the luxury of a practice match to fine tune they had planned for the team.

I must also commend the players for playing with heart for their country and supporters all around the world. They do have their deficiencies, but we can only demand of them so much. Keep in mind that we are still mixing amatuers with pros. Therefore, the weight will not be equally distributed along the chain. But looking at the locals especially, suggested to me that the local leagues are coming along. They still have a ways to go, but progress are being made.

I will not give a game report, since most have now seen the game by this. But will give my impression of the individual players.

Aaron Lawrence: Kept goal magnigficently, and positioned himself with the type of expetise that most of us wanted to see from our keepers. He was always in position to pull off the spectacular saves and also the straightforward ones. Distributed the ball fairly well. Job well done, Wild Boy.

Marco Macdonld, Fabian Davis and Roberts Scarlett are no stranger to the programme (Scarlett being the expection of the three), but to see all three, in a W/Cup qualifying game,on the field at the same time...suggested that the wind of change had indeed arrived.

Scarlett was the pick of the bunch. Playing for the first time in a W/Cup game and in front of such a large gathering, must not had been an easy assignment for the youngster who wears the captian's armband for NPL oufit, Harbour View. It was nice to see him actually trying a long range effort, even though, it sailed harmlessly high over Fridel's goal. But it was still good see. Overall he gave a good account of himself, considering his limited exposure to this level of the game.

Marco was having a good game and also demonstrated a certain level of maturity, even though, like Davis, he is scarcely used at this level.

Fabian Davis, as we have come to expect, was his usaull steady self. Seems a more dominant player though, whenever he cuts inside and takes up a midfield position rather than then usuall wingback role he plays for the national team.

Note: Our wingbacks must be encourage to go forward when the opportunity presents itself. But, the central defenders and defensive Midfield players will have to understand that they may have to cover for the wingbacks whenever they venture forward. The US exploited us in this department.

Simpson: Simpson played fairly well, but his better days are behind him. This does not mean that he should just be discarded...Even though he is slower, Jamaica does not have too many good defensive midfield players coming through the ranks. He still give the workrate that the local players should be trying to emulate. But it is now time to look at others inorder to encourage future development.

Jamie Lawrence: Lawrence will not give you the dazzling display that we Jamaicans love to see. Talk about understand ones role and playing within the boundries of ones limitations, Lawerence is truly a professional in all aspects of the game. He was the main man in the midfield yesterday, and when he had to depart the game because of an injury to one of his arm, our midfield, which was being outplayed anyway, lost it's backbone and along with the departure of Marco Mcdonald, contributed greatly to us losing the game. We need to develop defensive midfield players in the mold of Lawrence. A real workhorse in the middle. Quick, determine, agressive and also willingly voluteered to represent us. Solid effort.

Tappa: What is there to say about Tappa's performance yesterday. I will put it like this: The main reason that the US lost and we did not was because of two players; Claudia Reyna (USA) and Tappa (JA). Reyna showed up and ran his midfield. Tappa did not. Yesterday we were missing that attacking midfield player, who was suppose to be creating and supplying the passes for Bibi and company. It is time to move on. This is now old, too old.

Bibi, Fuller and Lowe:

Occasinally Lowed showed what he is caple of doing...team play. But most of the times it was Lowe being his normal self...One ball of migraine headache. Time for us to start looking and weighing other options.

Fuller: "Wily Boo" is one for the future, and the sooner he gets into playing competitive soccer again, the better of he will be. His decision making in front of goal leaves a little to be desired. But he is worth working with.

Bibi: It was about time he was relieved of his wingback role. Not a very spectacular day, but an encouraging one. He should relish and grow in this new role.

Paul Hall: He expose one area of our game that must be improve...The ability to quickly switch the point of attack. After entering the game, Hall preceded to take up a wide position on the right wing. However, our players failed on a number of accasion to quickly swith the point of attack. Instead we play the ball to a player in the middle who in turn may play it to another, who then passes it wide. The USA, however, would accurately make the 20-30 yard passes, forcing our players into scrambling for positon.

Jermaine Johnson: Could not alter the outcome given the short time he spent on the field. Showed enough though, to suggest that is time as come. Next game, he should be in the starting line-up.

Marshall: After coming on, Marshall gave us the height in the back, and was in fact playing well until he made a very poor tackle on London Donovan, giving the US the penalty that would eventually seal the victory for them. Marshall is a player worth keeping in the programme. Does not have to be a part of every squad. But the youngster is willing to represent us, and should not be discarded, but it is time to again weigh our options and look and other upcoming talents.

Yesterday, Sunday, was a game that brought mix feelings to me, personally. I saw a lot of talent and promise, but also a lot of team flaw. That is our problem. Team play. We play slower that I would like yes. We also showed a lack of creativity in and around the opposing eighteen. But our biggest downfall is that we are still playing as three separate entities...Defense, midfield and forward. We need to concentrate on promoting the team concept at the junior levels right up to the seniors if we are to be better prepared come 2006. I see us having caple players for 2006, but without the team concept we will surely be doomed again. We cannot keep relying on that moment of individual briliance. We must learn to rely on each other...the team.

Congrats to the USA and Costa Rica. Congrats to TnT on their first win. I don't know if Honduras deserves now to go to the W/Cup, but I will not be betting against them. This should be a very good game. A nation will be weeping after the game between Honduras and Mexico. Congrats to the RBz and supporters. All we can realisticly demand of anyone is to give of their best. I believe the players did and to an extent even the coaches, though they had they faults. The JFF though, needs to look closely at it's policies and ask itself, if it is seriouly commited to the cause...The advancement of the game in Jamaica and seeing the Boyz become a force to be reckoned with.

Respect and irie ites!
Charmin

Karl

Tillamawnin

USA
197 Posts

Posted - Oct 08 2001 :  11:06:14 PM  Show Profile
Really a balanced report Charmin. I could not add much to that, well except that I am encouraged by the performance of Robert Scarlett, Fabian Davis and Marco McDonald. Brown and Cargill did well with their handling of the team. I thought that I would have sent out Chris Dawes for Marco though, instead of Marshall. Well, that is now all water under the bridge.

Respect,
Tilla

Mohandas K. Gandhi
Go to Top of Page

Lyod
Starting Member

16 Posts

Posted - Oct 09 2001 :  08:26:15 AM  Show Profile
Robert "Likkle bibi" Scarlett, is certainly on to watch. I hope that he will continue to perform well even though he is not given as much playing time as others.

Hopefully Nov 11th we will see a younger and more diverse Reggaeboyz team.

Bless

Go to Top of Page

Karl

USA
914 Posts

Posted - Oct 19 2001 :  10:25:38 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl's Homepage
Charmin: Your take on the "bitter sweet" nature of the happenings in the Foxboro Stadium is one I share.

The "sweetness" was the display of the effort given and the potential observed. Certainly this campaign has left me shaking my head...as I believe that an opportunity to be at the "big dance" was squandered.

I cannot in all fairness blame the players when they were not given the same attention as the '98 squad. Someone within the JFF must have believed that after the showing of the Reggae Boyz in '98 all others would be 'coming hard.'

It is incomprehensible that a) The team was not assembled earlier b) At least the number of practise matches played by the '98 team, played.

The strange thing is this US match and the match against the Hondurans in the "Office" appear to be our best display of team play. Yet, this US match still saw too many minutes of poor team shape. Hey! We all look to the preparations for 2006. I say the team must play 8 - 10 matches each year. This will allow i) team shape and team play to come together and ii) the smooth introduction of younger players.

Remember the battle will be hotter.

Forward!

Karl

Edited by - Karl on Oct 19 2001 22:28:49
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club Forums © © 2000 Snitz Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.04 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000