• A nuh me say suh a di Economist

Macroeconomic Forecast Jamaica

http://www.latinamericamonitor.com/f...t-jamaica.html

October 2011 | Macroeconomic Forecasts
    Printable version Email Bookmark
    BMI View: Despite rising annual inflation, the Bank of Jamaica cut its policy rate for the second time in two months, from 6.5% to 6.25%, suggesting that, as global growth slows and tourism to Jamaica remains weak, the central bank has shifted to a growth rather than inflation bias. At this point, annual inflation remains within the central bank's 6.0-8.0% target range, but it has been rising steadily, from 6.9%y-o-y in April to 7.8% as of August. Monetary policymakers defended the cut by citing a positive trend in headline and core CPI as well as the future expectation of deflationary pressure caused by the slowing growth of international commodity and oil prices. However we believe that the central bank's growth bias will cause the country to miss its inflation target, and we are therefore happy to stick with our above-target inflation forecast for end-2011, at 9.0%.
    To read the full article, please choose one of the following options:

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The Economist?!?

Thought it was the Latin America Monitor. Anyway, did they not get the memo that Bruce is the most successful prime minister since the arrival of Cristobal Colon?

...tourism to Jamaica remains weak...
    Sass, please send these guys an email pronto. Better yet, give them a call and set them straight, please!

What is the biggy about this? It is there prediction and not actual numbers. Nobody including them thought the economy would grow by 2.0 either.

When the actual number comes out then you can talk to me. So far the inflation number for Ja has been good this year. You never believe them when them say Bruce has accomplished a lot economically so it ironic how you and X a but so much faith inna them now.

9% inflation by end of year , the year is almost finished.So what does next year hold ?

Higher unemployment and inflation?...No biggie?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

that is a prediction. The BOJ has predicted 7%. A lot will depend on food prices and oil. With the economy growing by 2% and 1.5 a quarter it is hardly likely there will be net job loss but instead job gain. Did the ecomomy tell you about job lost or you gone on a usual tangent?

So how will pension cuts and layoffs in the civil service increasing the unemployment rate demanded by the IMF affect those figures ?

I forgot to add Taxes to it .Patiently awaiting your response.

10000 over 10 years????? Is that a hugh amount???? Retirement is not unemployment and retired people can also work part time to make up income as a lot of them have good experience. While Casino and some IT projects will come on stream early next year.

While Casino and some IT projects will come on stream early next year....lol yuh campaigning hard...lol ....

Retirement is not unemployment and retired people can also work part time to make up income

My hospital layed of almost 600 people , half was early retirement packages and 90 % , are still out of work thats 2 years ago.I dont need to remind you we are in a recession do I?

Please dont forget taxes.

what are you saying ?

yuh want Chris Zacca job ?

maybe we could arrange a brainstorming session.. you, Chris, Wheby... ?

Wheh yuh tink ?

You think the above mentioned those mentioned havent put forward some of my suggestions, I hear they have done so and more , Only to have the politics of change rejected, of course along tribal rational.

Are the early retirement getting income????

If they are they are not considered unemployed, but retired. I assure you they can't apply for unemployment.

How does a tax on a reduced pension , or even a full pension help them , throw in high unemployment ?

DEAL WID DI TAXES ! , dont leave it out of your rebutal, its a holistic system where if one arm gets cut the other arm feels the burden of extra work.

huh ?

be specific.. wheby and Zacca juss get dem assignments since 2007..

Casserley juss get his a month ago..

Wheh dem was before ?

maybe dem did too Brown ?

your argument is flaw. Unemployment is not retirement.

Secondly what raise in taxes are you talking about??? Where is that currently proposed? Instead I read of reducing GCT.

Tell me of the increase in taxes.