Booed in absentia!

• Booed in absentia!

In declaring the recent Jamaica International Invitational T&F meet open last Saturday, Minister Olivia Grange had to recognise some people in the royal box. First she apologised for the absence of the prime minister. Not sure she should have bothered. There was a faint, but audible enuff, round of boos in my area in the bleachers. I can bet it was that way around the stadium.

Then she bigged up her sister, Portia Simpson, and the cheers were loud contrasting.

Okay, maybe I was sitting in that part of the bleachers reserved for comrades.

It reminds me when then PM Michael Manley was booed at the WCT tournament in Montego Bay and the subsequent discussions on the call-in programs back in the 70s. I happened to be in that crowd when it happened. Now this was nothing like that one, but one wonders what would have happened if Brucie was there.

Something tells me Bruce will not be making too many public appearances any time soon.

heh heh

Mi memba when dem did stop announce PJ presence at Stadium (if him did even dare to show up).. he won 4 elections...

In declaring the recent Jamaica International Invitational T&F meet open last Saturday, Minister Olivia Grange had to recognise some people in the royal box. First she apologised for the absence of the prime minister. Not sure she should have bothered. There was a faint, but audible enuff, round of boos in my area in the bleachers. I can bet it was that way around the stadium.

Then she bigged up her sister, Portia Simpson, and the cheers were loud contrasting.

Okay, maybe I was sitting in that part of the bleachers reserved for comrades.

It reminds me when then PM Michael Manley was booed at the WCT tournament in Montego Bay and the subsequent discussions on the call-in programs back in the 70s. I happened to be in that crowd when it happened. Now this was nothing like that one, but one wonders what would have happened if Brucie was there.

Something tells me Bruce will not be making too many public appearances any time soon.

heh heh
      There was an ite that used to say something about 2 parents, how one would allow unuh fi duh as unuh want and the other whey keep unuh in line. Look like him know what him was saying.

I'm Puzzled....

First she apologised for the absence of the prime minister. Not sure she should have bothered. There was a faint, but audible enuff, round of boos in my area in the bleachers. I can bet it was that way around the stadium.

It’s obviously very easy to understand why there would be a “faint, but audible enuff, round of boos” for Golding.

What I do NOT understand, however, is why were the cheers for Portia “loud (and) contrasting”? In other words, why members of the audience would cheer so enthusiastically for this particular Opposition Leader makes very little sense. It’s hard to find the logic here.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
          It’s obviously very easy to understand why there would be a “faint, but audible enuff, round of boos” for Golding.

What I do NOT understand, however, is why were the cheers for Portia “loud (and) contrasting”? In other words, why members of the audience would cheer so enthusiastically for this particular Opposition Leader makes very little sense. It’s hard to find the logic here.
          Nuh worry yuhself ... there are many things in Jamaica that will leave you confused.

Mama 'P'..

Jawge can explain it to you...

this is how i read it .... it all occurred where mosiah was sitting...he heard himself boo and he heard himself cheer!

Nuh worry yuhself ... there are many things in Jamaica that will leave you confused.

Things that may you go gaga, or mek yuh scratch yuh head

a friend of mine related similar to me... he was in the grandstand and he said babsy and bruce got booed and surprisingly portia got big applause...

seems the people realized dem swap black dawg fi monkey and are eager to revert...

tings nuh look suh good fi drivah and company...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                    a friend of mine related similar to me... he was in the grandstand and he said babsy and bruce got booed and surprisingly portia got big applause...

seems the people realized dem swap black dawg fi monkey and are eager to revert...

tings nuh look suh good fi drivah and company...
                    As mi say, history repeating itself.

Mosiah...what are you doing sitting in the bleacher section? I expek better than that from you.

Whooops. Figet you haffy bun you bush tiger....

true

true again.

i hate to say it, but portia is looking quite a bit more prime ministerial than some people, esp. when she doesn't utter a word!

bruce has lost his credibility.

funny, but baddaz has already confirmed what i said. maybe is ongle comrades attend track meets!

and for the record, i do not boo my elected officials!