• Pressure the Trinis: Start negotiating US Free Trade pact

...like S Korea, Colombia, Panama et al

Propose talks on a Free Trade treaty with the US to possibly replace Caribbean common market place.... this will:

Force Trinidad to offer better terms of trade including national treatment for energy... or lose the US$550M+ positive annual trade balance

The US will also be eager to blunt growing Chinese influence in Jamaica and the Caribbean and may be willing to grant concessions for special access to US markets and/or trade development programs.. wussa like how US manufacturers ah suffa an unemployment chronic

Time to play off Babylon an Chineyman...and get real benefits in the process.. using the roti eaters as a pawn in the game

Chess Master tings

Panama dweet

Tea Party love it
    Last edited by Don1; November 9, 2010, 07:16 PM.

Wha kinda free trade when we nuh have nothing fi export???

u continue to be at sea on the issue of trade.... yuh tiad me out

if yuh nuh play chess...plus if yuh nuh know int'l trade & GEO-POLITRICKS...mi cyaan elp yuh

nuh you tell me we can't compete? So if we can't compete how we a go trade??

nuh you tell me we can't compete?
          It's not about competing young man...it's about NET BENEFITS....Economic & Political

We cannot even compete with TT...they dominate our markets and we cannot get into theirs...tiny as it is. Obviously we cannot compete either with US manufacturers but with the size of the US market there will be far more opportunities for our businesspeople than TT/Caricom

Jamaica can benefit by holding out the possibility of granting the US Most Favoured Nation status....and preferred access to our markets currently dominated by TT.... TT would love to maintain that and the US would love to have it...so either one may be willing to provide concessions...get it?

On a political level the US will be concerned by the growing influence of China in Jamaica and the region and will want to blunt that influence in its own "backyard" as they call it. Consequently a free trade pact may be attractive to them to have more influence in Jamaica thru trade,,,and limit China.... obviously the jobs issue with increased Jamaican market access would be positive for them as well.

Jamaica should just take the BEST deal...wherever it arises...US-Caricom-China,,, nuh sacred cows nuh deh

Time fi yuh watch di Hard Talk interview
          Last edited by Don1; November 9, 2010, 07:57 PM.

up to now I don't see you mention one thing about our products. Are we suppose to continue to play that old game we played in the 1970s again?

As soon as the US and China status change them drop Jamaica and aid again? It nuh matter who we a import from as long as we nah produce nothing it means beggings or slow death.

up to now I don't see you mention one thing about our products. Are we suppose to continue to play that old game we played in the 1970s again?

As soon as the US and China status change them drop Jamaica and aid again? It nuh matter who we a import from as long as we nah produce nothing it means beggings or slow death.
              I request that you re-read what I posted and try to get the point I'm making... pretty please?