• The Revolt at liverpool has begun

Glen Johnson slams Hodgson's 'boring' tactics and wants to leave Liverpool

By JOE BERNSTEIN Last updated at 10:19 PM on 13th November 2010
    England international Glen Johnson wants to leave Liverpool in January after a total breakdown in his relationship with manager Roy Hodgson.
    The right-back is said to be outraged by the way Hodgson is alleged to have handled his injury problems this season and the public criticism he received from his manager on Friday.

Seeing red: Glen Johnson has fallen out with Roy Hodgson

The player's representatives will meet new director of football strategy, Damien Comolli, this week to make it clear the £18million England man has no faith left in Hodgson's 'boring' style of play.
    Johnson's team will also claim the boss rushed the defender back from a groin injury, leading to further setbacks.
    'Things have moved rapidly downhill for Glen since Roy arrived,' said a source. 'He finds the style of football boring and the way he was criticised by the manager in public was uncalled for. He was made to train too soon with a groin injury and it's kept him out for longer than it should have done.'
    Johnson, signed by Liverpool's former boss, Rafa Benitez, is prepared to quit English football to end his association with Hodgson. Bayern Munich are monitoring the situation, but if Liverpool progress from the Europa League he would not be able to play for the German giants in this season's Champions League.

Showdown talks: Johnson's representatives will meet new director of football strategy, Damien Comolli

Johnson missed four games in October with a groin injury but was picked by Hodgson for the Europa League win over Napoli on November 4.
    However, the problem has recurred, causing him to miss Liverpool's past three games and ruling him out of England's friendly against France on Wednesday.
    The 26-year-old, hailed as the missing piece in Liverpool's title jigsaw when he arrived from Portsmouth last year, is believed to be furious at the way Hodgson rounded on him in a press conference on Friday.
    It is unusual for managers to criticise their players so directly but Hodgson pulled no punches as he said: 'To be frank, he has not performed up to now to the level I would expect of him. You would have to ask him the question, "Do you think you are playing at top form and are you playing like the best right-back in the country for your club?" If he says yes, we will have to agree to differ. And if he says No, then you have to ask the question, why not?'
    The fall-out with Johnson marks the start of a critical period for Hodgson, with Comolli ready to take on a more front-line role in player recruitment after being appointed by Liverpool's new owner, John W Henry, of New England Sports Ventures. Comolli is to host meetings with agents this week and also plans to publicly outline his role at the club.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz15D6eBvpa

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Stoke 2 Liverpool 0: Fuller and Jones lift City into top half and end Reds' mini revival

By MARK RYAN Last updated at 11:14 PM on 13th November 2010
    Liverpool manager Roy Hodgson ignored the late calls among his own club's supporters for old favourite Kenny Dalglish to take back the reins at Anfield.
    That much was understandable: but Hodgson's extraordinary acceptance of his side's deficiencies during the post-match inquest was even more worrying than the result, as Stoke recorded their first victory over the Merseysiders for 26 years.
    Ricardo Fuller's scrappy, 56th-minute strike gave Stoke the lead they deserved and his fellow Caribbean marksman Kenwyne Jones made certain with a late second to send the Britannia Stadium into calypso mode.

Lucky break: Ricardo Fuller (2nd L) celebrates scoring against Liverpool

To make matters worse for Hodgson, his Brazil midfielder Lucas was sent off in the dying seconds for a second bookable offence, although that feisty streak might have been much better used during a midfield battle which only ever provided one winner.
    Asked if he was satisfied with the mental strength his team had shown considering the fact that the Britannia is a cauldron which demands any visiting outfit to fight fire with fire, Hodgson replied: 'I think I am, and it would be a very unfair accusation to say that we lacked mental strength and character - our defending of so many throw-ins and set-pieces proved that.'
    But a team who remain under so much pressure are always likely to come unstuck in the end and Liverpool clearly lacked a cutting edge.
    Incredibly, Hodgson added: 'They outbattled us on occasions but our midfield isn't a battling midfield.'
    When finally challenged on the obvious truth that any fully functioning midfield requires a battling element, he tried to do a U-turn.

Flippin' marvellous: Kenwyne Jones celebrates his strike in acrobatic fashion

He explained: 'What I meant was that in players like Raul Meireles and Maxi Rodriguez we don't have big guys in there, so I'll take that back.'
    MATCHFACTS

Stoke (4-4-2): Begovic; Wilkinson, Shawcross, Huth, Collins; Pennant, Whitehead, Delap, Etherington (Wilson 90min); Fuller (Walters 87), K Jones. Subs (not used): Sorensen, Higginbotham, Whelan, Gudjohnsen, Tuncay.Booked: Collins, Fuller.

Liverpool (4-4-1-1): Reina; Carragher, Kyrgiakos, Skrtel, Konchesky; Meireles (Ngog 66), Lucas, Gerrard, Maxi (Babel 73); Kuyt, Torres. Subs (not used): Jones, Jovanovic, Poulsen, Shelvey, Kelly. Booked: Torres, Lucas, Skrtel. Sent off: Lucas (90min). Referee: M Halsey (Lancashire).

Quite what Liverpool fans are supposed to make of that confused thinking is anyone's guess. Hodgson added that he did not see it as his role as manager to take off an injured striker if that player did not himself want to come off.
    Speaking of Fernando Torres he explained his logic like this: 'We missed him after the knock he took to his ankle but he didn't want to come off and I didn't want to take him off. But I don't think he was firing on all cylinders after that. When a player like that wants to stay on, you don't take him off.'
    A Rory Delap long throw soon after half-time sparked a scramble in the Liverpool area from which no defender emerged with much credit.
    Robert Huth outmuscled the likes of Martin Skrtel and Sotiros Kyrgiakos and found time to pass to Matthew Etherington on Stoke's left. His killer cross created more pinball in the danger zone before Fuller stabbed home Stoke's opener.

Hot under the collar: Less than a week after beating Chelsea, Roy Hodgson heard calls for Kenny Dalglish

In the closing stages, Liverpool old boy Jermaine Pennant threaded a perfect pass into the path of Jones, who cut across Skrtel before putting the result beyond doubt by scoring.
    On those chants for Dalglish, Hodgson reflected: 'Obviously I'm disappointed if that has happened but that would be part of life at Liverpool. You heard it, I didn't, but I'm sure there are many of our fans who sympathise with what we are trying to do.'
    Jubilant Stoke manager Tony Pulis has seen his club's fortunes change dramatically in the space of two games and he admitted: 'We are very pleased - the important thing was to push up on Liverpool and stop them from getting any rhythm in their passing.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz15D7bHEtO

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Put the blame for this at Gerrad and Carragher , they requested an english manager and it was rumored they said Rafa had lost the dressing room meaning whom ? Them !

Gerrad wanted to run wild in the middle ,because he felt Torres was getting bigger than him (scoring more goals) and Carragher had an injury plaqued season coupled with a fall in form last season (his worst at pool ).

Dem man deh mi nuh rate dem again ...selfish as Karl say anti team...Well dem get im deal wid im .

Put the blame for this at Gerrad and Carragher , they requested an english manager and it was rumored they said Rafa had lost the dressing room meaning whom ? Them !

Gerrad wanted to run wild in the middle ,because he felt Torres was getting bigger than him (scoring more goals) and Carragher had an injury plaqued season coupled with a fall in form last season (his worst at pool ).

Dem man deh mi nuh rate dem again ...selfish as Karl say anti team...Well dem get im deal wid im .

Liverpool is a weak club , its deeper than we think.I cant see that happening at Man U with Shergry and Arsena wid Arse , maybe Chelsea where abramovich is the defacto manager.But Big clubs move a certain way.

This is an article from THIS IS ANFIELD...LOL..post Stoke loss.

Beautiful game? Not at the Britannia
            Stoke 2-0 Liverpool FC
            Written by Matt Ladson on November 14th, 2010 View Comments

Stoke and Liverpool played out one of the ugliest games of football you are ever likely to watch, with the home side coming away deserved victors.

One thing’s for sure, this wasn’t an advert for the beautiful game. Stoke are a rugby team playing the wrong sport, while Liverpool under Roy Hodgson have made watching paint dry seem appealing.

Hodgson brought back the in-form Sotirios Krgiakos in attempt to combat Stoke’s predictable aerial threat, meaning Jamie Carragher moved back to the position he once refused to play and is clearly uncomfortable playing – judging by the number of aimless hoofed balls he played anyway.

On Wednesday, after the miserable performance at Wigan, Hodgson blamed tiredness for his side sitting so deep and inviting pressure from their opponents. So just the one change was made here. Meaning Raul Meireles continued in his unfamiliar role of right midfield and Steven Gerrard continued in centre midfield – a position many have noted he isn’t most suited to, and instead is better used further up the pitch alongside Torres.

This match represented Roy Hodgson’s 25th in charge of Liverpool. Not many supporters have seen any signs of progress in that time, and contrary to what the manager himself says, we haven’t played “good football” at any stage under his reign. Not unless you count the odd 20 minutes here and there. To say we have played good football is derogatory to those sides who do genuinely play good football.

Given that Stoke’s main threat is the laborious Rory Delap long-throw and their physical presence from set-pieces, you’d think Liverpool would have attempted not to give away cheap free-kicks and throws in their own half. The first half was littered with both, time and again balls were thrown into the box. Fair enough, we dealt with them but there was always the feeling that eventually one would lead to a goal.

The second half arrived and so did a goal – from a Delap long throw of course. That throw was given away after Paul Konchesky’s awful backpass forced Pepe Reina to kick the ball out. No doubt Konchesky was taken by surprise that Reina dare throw the ball to a player inside his own half, that’s not allowed under Roy you see.

John W. Henry recently defended Hodgson by saying he hasn’t built this squad. If Konchesky is evidence of the type of player we will be signing if he’s given chance to build his squad then we really are in more trouble.

Pretty would not be the word to describe Stoke’s goal. Or their approach. Or their supporters. Or anything about Stoke in general. But I digress.

Liverpool went looking for an equaliser, although, by ‘looking’ this was hardly all guns blazing attacking. Maybe the full backs went a whole 5 yards over the half-way line. Although even from there Carragher’s distribution could’ve been played with a blindfold on. Not Carragher’s fault necessarily, he isn’t a full back, we all know it, he knows it, shame the manager doesn’t.

The best chance fell to Maxi Rodriguez from Dirk Kuyt‘s good work down the right, but the Argentinian’s shot was straight at the keeper. No doubt he was surprised to have had a chance inside the box. It’s a rare event for LFC thesedays.

So to the closing minutes and Gerrard’s mis-placed pass from midfield which led to Stoke playing in Kenwyne Jones to make sure of the points for the Potters. This was one of the reasons Gerard Houllier first moved Gerrard from centre midfield, and why Rafa Benitez gave up playing him there and found a role that suited him. Same might be said for Fabio Capello with England. Not Hodgson though, stick him in there where he’s less effective and more prone to giving the ball away.

Lucas was then rightly sent off for a second booking. His attempt at a tackle was actual quite laughable. Surely he knows only Gary Neville gets away with that sort of challenge?

The travelling Reds weren’t happy. Reports of Carragher having words as he walked off and chants of “Dalglish” ringing out from the away end. All is not well.

Hodgson commented that the Dalglish chants aren’t helpful, well, they’re not intended to be are they Roy. They’re intended to show almost every Liverpool supporter wants a change of manager and many would like Dalglish appointed, even if only in the interim. Supporters can see you are not a Liverpool manager.

5 points from 21 away from home this season.

1 point from trips to Wigan and Stoke. Added to those good old home defeats to Northampton and Blackpool.

Those who ask how come we beat Chelsea a week ago; it’s blatantly clear that Hodgson’s negative approach is more suited to being the underdog, hence his success at Fulham. Furthermore, players are quite capable of motivating and inspiring themselves against the league leaders with a strong home support riding the wave of new ownership.

The sign of a quality manager is getting results at places where you are expected to do so. Hodgson’s response is to lower expectations. That isn’t the answer.

Do the right thing, John, listen to the fans – and the players given their body language and performances on the pitch. Not to mention the numerous reports of unrest from various key members of the squad.

Liverpool: Reina, Carragher, Skrtel, Kyrgiakos, Konchesky, Meireles, Gerrard, Lucas, Maxi, Kuyt, Torres.

You would be surprised. It could happen in lots of places. While I dod not agree with Rooney's public outbursts, I think the Glazers are behaving like they are not interested in being contenders in anything anymore. If Man U spent anything remotely close to what City are spending, there would be a first place team and then the next team would be at around fifth....just like it was in the nineties.

I am not , I am hoping its you next , the interest payments are getting higher and no championships this or next season means a decrease in revenue and higher interest rates.

How much higher than 16% can they get? Manu is clearly in a state of decline, but the onus is on Slurgieson to find a successor to take over. He may have 5 more years in him, but that is time that should be used to groom the heir apparent. Westman or one of the manu man dem may know more, but I don't think they have anyone being set up to inherit the manager's spot after slugieson gone. It doesn't matter anyway, because absent some miracle, the economics of the situation will dictate the Glazer's behaviour and the team's fortunes.

Listen me now....the modern management way is not to have anyone near you who is strong enough to be your successor for fear that they may depose you prematurely or get too much praise while yur ego craves it all. That goes for all types of leadership; from the JLP to football.

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                      Listen me now....the modern management way is not to have anyone near you who is strong enough to be your successor for fear that they may depose you prematurely or get too much praise while yur ego craves it all. That goes for all types of leadership; from the JLP to football.
                      Yes, that's true, but Slur Alex is not in the same category as everyone else. If the club were relegated tomorrow, he would still be in charge and there is no one that he could possibly be "grooming" that could oust him. That said, I do believe that Mourinho is being groomed to take the job, but by the time that happen, the Glazer dem might run outta money di way di interest rate a bun dem; an' you know how Jose work - if you don't have the funds, him nah go show. Roman spwile him.

Xcuse yuh suppose to feel like sheeeeeeetttttttt eeh? Look pon the striker whey yuh seh no good a bury yuh side.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Never said that , I said he was an xceptional club balla.What he does at Stoke is amamzing , BTW stoke is my 2nd side starting today.

is true...liverpool are revolting!

BTW stoke is my 2nd side starting today.
                              Your 2nd rugby side?