Now could you imagine the noise and the cussing and lambasting the empty barrel dem woulda mek if...? Anyway.
I have said this before, and I will say it again. The players have to step up. We out-shot Rubin Kazan 35-5, played against 10 men for most of the game, and had a 60-40 split on possession with "no results". The team lacked the required creativity in the final third to break down the visitors and definitely lacked the finishing touch. And while playing against 10 men more often than not presents a more difficult scoring challenge than playing against 11, the Reds had 55' to work on it.
The ignorance that abounds scoff at the suggestion that not replacing Suarez with a similarly gifted talent was a strategic mistake by the owners and former manager, but hey even the magical powers of the new manager couldn't manufacture a goal last night. But while spending big could be part of the overhaul and overall solution, the current crop of players still have to take responsibility. Coutinho, Milner, Origi, Can (who did actually score and played great), and Benteke all had chances. A 35-1 return can't be blamed on the manager, but then again, for some, it depends on who the manager is. The players have to step up. Hopefully the injury crisis that we have been hit with from the start of the season will abate and we can soon field our strongest 11.
But first, let's see what Sunday brings.
I have said this before, and I will say it again. The players have to step up. We out-shot Rubin Kazan 35-5, played against 10 men for most of the game, and had a 60-40 split on possession with "no results". The team lacked the required creativity in the final third to break down the visitors and definitely lacked the finishing touch. And while playing against 10 men more often than not presents a more difficult scoring challenge than playing against 11, the Reds had 55' to work on it.
The ignorance that abounds scoff at the suggestion that not replacing Suarez with a similarly gifted talent was a strategic mistake by the owners and former manager, but hey even the magical powers of the new manager couldn't manufacture a goal last night. But while spending big could be part of the overhaul and overall solution, the current crop of players still have to take responsibility. Coutinho, Milner, Origi, Can (who did actually score and played great), and Benteke all had chances. A 35-1 return can't be blamed on the manager, but then again, for some, it depends on who the manager is. The players have to step up. Hopefully the injury crisis that we have been hit with from the start of the season will abate and we can soon field our strongest 11.
But first, let's see what Sunday brings.