Top prospects beginning to opt for Europe over MLS

• Top prospects beginning to opt for Europe over MLS

<DIV class=pagetitle><H1>Top prospects beginning to opt for Europe over MLS</H1></DIV><DIV class=bylinebox style="MARGIN-TOP: 8px"><DIV class=bylinephoto></DIV><DIV class=bylinetext>Jeff Carlisle
    Archive </DIV><DIV style="FLOAT: left"></DIV></DIV><BR clear=all><DIV class=text11 style="BACKGROUND: rgb(255,255,255) 0% 50%; moz-background-clip: initial; moz-background-origin: initial; moz-background-inline-policy: initial"><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>

Remember the North American Free Trade Agreement? It was a deal that former presidential candidate H. Ross Perot promised would create a "giant sucking sound" as jobs headed out of the United States. While it's likely that he wasn't thinking of American soccer players when he made that statement, some anecdotal evidence suggests that the rate of players leaving the U.S., while not quite reaching NAFTA-like proportions, is at least accelerating. So will MLS change its ways to hang onto more homegrown talent? Not likely, which depending on whom you talk to, might or might not be a problem.<DIV class=phinline>
    <DIV style="WIDTH: 205px"><DIV class=photocred2>Tony Quinn/WireImage</DIV><DIV class=photosubtext>Hamburg's Benny Feilhaber, left, chose the Bundesliga and Champions League action over MLS.</DIV></DIV></DIV>

To some, I'm sure the issue is of little concern, the thinking being that the more American players there are in Europe; the better it is for American soccer. That might be true for someone like Clint Dempsey, who had three professional seasons under his belt with New England before transferring to Fulham of the English Premier League. Whether that's true for a player signing his first pro contract is debatable.

What isn't in dispute is that for all of the talk about star imports, MLS is a league built on the backs of its homegrown players, and in order for the on-field product to improve, it's imperative for the league to succeed in signing the best American prospects. If the rumblings at this year's SuperDraft are any indication, the league's ability to do that is being challenged.

That's because prior to the first pick even being made, the player pool had long since been shorn of some its biggest talents. Boston College forward Charlie Davies, deemed by many to be the top prospect in the draft, signed with Swedish side Hammarby. Current U.S. U-20 international Robbie Rogers departed five months earlier to sign with Heerenveen of the Dutch Eredivisie. And UCLA product Kamani Hill signed with Bundesliga outfit Wolfsburg last fall.

There were also the threats to go to Europe by players like Notre Dame midfielder Greg Dalby and Cal defender Steve Purdy (both drafted in the lower rounds of the 2007 MLS SuperDraft), which made them less desirable than their respective abilities would imply. In Purdy's case, he made good on his pledge, signing with German side 1860 Munich. Dalby is reportedly on trial with Italian Serie A club Siena.

Out of the players mentioned, the likes of Davies and Rogers were the biggest losses. Not only were they talented attacking players, but as underclassmen, they would have entered the league's Generation adidas program. This would not only have guaranteed them a roster spot, but also a relatively higher salary that would not have counted against the salary cap, increasing their value to MLS teams. And giv

RE: Top prospects beginning to opt for Europe over MLS

My prediction still stands that more of Jamaica's best youth players will stick around in the NPL waiting for a chance tomove into the lower leagues in Europe rather than go to college in the USA. This after our eyes have finally been opened to more accessible leagues outside of England.

I believethese are the last days thatNCAAsoccer gets to count the likes of Akeem Priestley among it's treasures.

Also of note in the article above is the point about players coming out of college to make thirty thousand dollars. Most American kids after four years of college don't need anybody to pity them with $30k jobs - so MLS needs to stop trying to be a job provider for the fringe players American born or not and just find exciting young talent around the region or world to nice up the league.
    SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

Siya (1/29/2007)My prediction still stands that more of Jamaica's best youth players will stick around in the NPL waiting for a chance tomove into the lower leagues in Europe rather than go to college in the USA. This after our eyes have finally been opened to more accessible leagues outside of England.

I believethese are the last days thatNCAAsoccer gets to count the likes of Akeem Priestley among it's treasures.

Also of note in the article above is the point about players coming out of college to make thirty thousand dollars. Most American kids after four years of college don't need anybody to pity them with $30k jobs - so MLS needs to stop trying to be a job provider for the fringe players American born or not and just find exciting young talent around the region or world to nice up the league.
      Well I have to admit I initially disagreed with you but see it your way now. With the avenue to Scandinavia now open for our players from the NPL it is the best use of their time and efforts to go there vs. MLS. If you do not qualify for the 75% international rule at leastafter 3 years in one of the smaller leagues in Europe itwill qualify you to play in England. On top of that their pay structure is better. So a tip of the hat to you Siya. I believe the days of MLS being a good avenue for our players is over. - T.K.

The less serious ones will take the free money and play in the NCAA. Then look for a jobafter graduation.The stars will stay away and wait for Europe.

So finally unnu come around? Well better late than never and TK before mi leave let me say it was never personal the war with the I and the rest of man dem.

Its an Aries thing and in order for me to move forward I had to search and find out who I am so I could know my purpose and while its a lifelong road the little that I have found so far tells me that I am talking too much and that I am cut out for much bigger things than just talk so before I go I want to say it was all love and that thanks for acknowledging the vision years ago but now that I confirmed why I am a visionary its time to act.

BTW Siya a from long time we a talk bout academy where the regulars go to college here in the states and the top shelf youths go pro. Way before it was fashionable we did a bawl Academy just ask Scaly and I used to take it personal until one day a lady told me that I need to go read up on my astrology and to read the Egyptian books and find out who I am as i think that everyone thinks the same way I do. I am glad I LISTENED to here and seek to know myself

Here is a little of what I found and btw the struggle will continue as no guy no more dan we and when mi say that I mean that after all who is guy? I mean really.

The Zodiac comes from a set of people who sat and studied the stars for thousands of years and at the same time studied people so when dem talk bout modda woman and obeah woman those are people with a heightened sense of who they are and in essence who others are.

think I am lying check this out and see how they all relate to Shatta

After today mi ago cut lef unnu and watch and see if unnu nah go see everything wah mi say come through. It never fails its the blessing and the curse.

My problem is that I was talking too much and now its time to do. I didn't know myself and so I had to take the time to know me.

Now that I am on the path of knowing me I begin to see my purpose and no guy can stop prophecy.

Aries inner self(man know thyself)
          http://www.novareinna.com/constellation/ariesself.html

Sizzla Kolongi

check the youth birthday
          http://www.starpulse.com/Music/Sizzla/Biography/

I don't carry "belly" because it isn't me, I just can't as even when I am hated my weakness is that I always show love. Thats just who I am

http://www.cafeastrology.com/zodiacaries.html

Scroll down to read when "The Man" was born

http://www.amazon.com/Star-Bethlehem.../dp/0813527015

It was fun but time to move on and no its not because I am upset why I am leaving its because I have a higher purpose that needs to be fullfilled.

respect to all who I have debated with over the years and to all whom I sparred with

My email is Shatta@reggaeboyzsc.com and people bout the place know my number. Best wishes to the man dem but duty calls.

BTW one last time before I go and sorry but as an Aries(on the border with the bull Taurus.I must go out in style. Its in my nature and I couldn't resist it.

Struggling Wigan Athletic want two African stars to turn their season around, while Glenn Roeder goes back on his word...

JULIUS AGHAHOWA LATICS CLOSE IN ON AFRICAN DUO
          Who? - Julius Aghahowa/Papa Bouba Diop
          Where are they? - Shaktar Donetsk/Fulham
          Who are they linked with? - Wigan

Wigan Athletic manager Paul Jewell is on the verge of bolstering his relegation-threatened squad by signing the Shakhtar Donetsk striker Julius Aghahowa. The 24-year-old Nigeria international is expected to move to the Latics in a deal worth approximately £4million. "Aghahowa has been with us for almost seven years and it's time for him to move elsewhere,"

It's Shatta CLEVE, or Shatta Cleo?

Woah!

I always knew that Shatta was a little bit out there. But now it looks as if he's gone completely off the deep end! I mean cuckoo!

Shatta, seriously. I'm hoping that this is just a phase, or that maybe you're just suffering from the effects of something that got slipped into your glass of Red Stripe.

Why don't you go for a nice, long nature hike to clear your head, and then come back and join us down here on planet Earth, OK?

It'll do you some good.

[quote]Shatta Cleve (1/30/2007)So finally unnu come around? Well better late than never and TK before mi leave let me say it was never personal the war with the I and the rest of man dem.

Its an Aries thing and in order for me to move forward I had to search and find out who I am so I could know my purpose and while its a lifelong road the little that I have found so far tells me that I am talking too much and that I am cut out for much bigger things than just talk so before I go I want to say it was all love and that thanks for acknowledging the vision years ago but now that I confirmed why I am a visionary its time to act.

BTW Siya a from long time we a talk bout academy where the regulars go to college here in the states and the top shelf youths go pro. Way before it was fashionable we did a bawl Academy just ask Scaly and I used to take it personal until one day a lady told me that I need to go read up on my astrology and to read the Egyptian books and find out who I am as i think that everyone thinks the same way I do. I am glad I LISTENED to here and seek to know myself

Here is a little of what I found and btw the struggle will continue as no guy no more dan we and when mi say that I mean that after all who is guy? I mean really.

The Zodiac comes from a set of people who sat and studied the stars for thousands of years and at the same time studied people so when dem talk bout modda woman and obeah woman those are people with a heightened sense of who they are and in essence who others are.

think I am lying check this out and see how they all relate to Shatta

After today mi ago cut lef unnu and watch and see if unnu nah go see everything wah mi say come through. It never fails its the blessing and the curse.

My problem is that I was talking too much and now its time to do. I didn't know myself and so I had to take the time to know me.

Now that I am on the path of knowing me I begin to see my purpose and no guy can stop prophecy.

Aries inner self(man know thyself)
                http://www.novareinna.com/constellation/ariesself.html

Sizzla Kolongi

check the youth birthday
                http://www.starpulse.com/Music/Sizzla/Biography/

I don't carry "belly" because it isn't me, I just can't as even when I am hated my weakness is that I always show love. Thats just who I am

http://www.cafeastrology.com/zodiacaries.html

Scroll down to read when "The Man" was born

http://www.amazon.com/Star-Bethlehem.../dp/0813527015

It was fun but time to move on and no its not because I am upset why I am leaving its because I have a higher purpose that needs to be fullfilled.

respect to all who I have debated with over the years and to all whom I sparred with

My email is Shatta@reggaeboyzsc.com and people bout the place know my number. Best wishes to the man dem but duty calls.

BTW one last time before I go and sorry but as an Aries(on the border with the bull Taurus.I must go out in style. Its in my nature and I couldn't resist it.

Struggling Wigan Athletic want two African stars to turn their season around, while Glenn Roeder goes back on his word...

JULIUS AGHAHOWA LATICS CLOSE IN ON AFRICAN DUO
                Who? - Julius Aghahowa/Papa Bouba Diop
                Where are they? - Shaktar Donetsk/Fulham
                Who are they linked with? - Wigan

Wigan Athletic manager Paul Jewell is on the verge of bolstering his relegation-threatened squad by signing the Shakhtar Donetsk striker Julius Aghahowa. The 24-year-old Nigeria international is expected to move to the Latics in a deal worth approximately £4million. "Aghahowa has been with us for almost seven years and