Dancehall stars bring life to Mandeville at PNP-organised...

• Dancehall stars bring life to Mandeville at PNP-organised...

Dancehall stars bring life to Mandeville at PNP-organised show
    Elliot Blake, Observer writer
    Saturday, August 04, 2007

Deejay Munga Honourable on stage at the PNP-organised show in Mandeville on July 26.
    Mandeville, Manchester - The typically slow nightlife of Mandeville suddenly came alive on July 26 when some of the island's top dancehall artistes performed in front of hundreds of People's National Party (PNP) supporters as Parliamentary candidate for Central Manchester, Peter Bunting, continued his campaign to win the seat in the August 27 elections.

The star-studded event, dubbed 'Youth Link-Up', organised by Bunting in conjunction with Central Perspective, an organisation that focuses on political issues both locally and nationally, boasted a bill of dancehall artistes including deejays Munga Honourable, Mavado, D'Angel, Chuck Fenda, Niney, Danger Man, B Steppa, Shorty Legg and Crazy P, as well as cultural musician Tarrus Riley.

Hundreds of orange-clad PNP supporters bearing pictures of Bunting and Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller arrived in a party mood at the venue, Fayor's Entertainment Centre, chanting 'Peter B and Sister P'.

"I love the vibes of the people here this evening and I want to thank all the artistes for coming out," Bunting said in an address to his supporters. "I know youth want two things - jobs and entertainment - and you get a touch of the second one tonight, for I man on ya, and I nah leave ya, because I love Central Manchester." The speech elicited chants of "power", "power", the PNP's trademark refrain.
    PNP candidate for Central Manchester Peter Bunting (left) greets singer Tarrus Riley.
    Sound systems Stone Love and Black Love provided music, while MC Reggae Rogers's sense of humour and positive words added to an already entertaining night.

Despite her marital status being the focal point of some local media, D'Angel was able to give a solid performance, leaving spectators demanding an encore. However, her husband and self-proclaimed king of the dancehall, Beenie Man, provided perhaps the only damper on the night's proceedings as the billed deejay failed to turn up.

Following the show, Bunting told the Observer that the event's main purpose was to provide a means through which the government can connect with the youth and at the same time build a platform for positive development among youth and adults alike.

"Well, I have been told that there is a lack of entertainment in Mandeville," Bunting said. "Tonight's show was orderly and high in entertainment, but more importantly we can connect with the youth and adults too, through music, steering them towards training and constructive growth."

Bunting's opinion of the event was shared by chairman of Central Perspective, Dr Devon Gardner, who also pointed to the positive benefits such events can have on society's youth.
    "I think tonight's event was a success, but I think that apart from that, we were able to get across to the youth that this event will bring them together and help them realise Mr Bunting is the candidate for them, and I think we pulled it off," Gardner said.

When asked about his chances of being elected to Parliament on election day, Bunting replied: "I won't become complacent. I have been working hard and I will continue to do so as I'm trying to just energise the constituency."

Wow, most top artistes stay away from publicly endorsing politicians...they might not have said go and vote for PNP on election day but simply turning up on this stage may brand them.

So knowing that, is it about convictions...and or reading of the mood of the country? ...or, as the JLP apologists always claim 'di people dem fool-fool'?

could be money too...

Could be!

Dancehall stars bring life to Mandeville at PNP-organised show
            Elliot Blake, Observer writer
            Saturday, August 04, 2007

Deejay Munga Honourable on stage at the PNP-organised show in Mandeville on July 26.
            Mandeville, Manchester - The typically slow nightlife of Mandeville suddenly came alive on July 26 when some of the island's top dancehall artistes performed in front of hundreds of People's National Party (PNP) supporters as Parliamentary candidate for Central Manchester, Peter Bunting, continued his campaign to win the seat in the August 27 elections.

The star-studded event, dubbed 'Youth Link-Up', organised by Bunting in conjunction with Central Perspective, an organisation that focuses on political issues both locally and nationally, boasted a bill of dancehall artistes including deejays Munga Honourable, Mavado, D'Angel, Chuck Fenda, Niney, Danger Man, B Steppa, Shorty Legg and Crazy P, as well as cultural musician Tarrus Riley.

Hundreds of orange-clad PNP supporters bearing pictures of Bunting and Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller arrived in a party mood at the venue, Fayor's Entertainment Centre, chanting 'Peter B and Sister P'.

"I love the vibes of the people here this evening and I want to thank all the artistes for coming out," Bunting said in an address to his supporters. "I know youth want two things - jobs and entertainment - and you get a touch of the second one tonight, for I man on ya, and I nah leave ya, because I love Central Manchester." The speech elicited chants of "power", "power", the PNP's trademark refrain.
            PNP candidate for Central Manchester Peter Bunting (left) greets singer Tarrus Riley.
            Sound systems Stone Love and Black Love provided music, while MC Reggae Rogers's sense of humour and positive words added to an already entertaining night.

Despite her marital status being the focal point of some local media, D'Angel was able to give a solid performance, leaving spectators demanding an encore. However, her husband and self-proclaimed king of the dancehall, Beenie Man, provided perhaps the only damper on the night's proceedings as the billed deejay failed to turn up.

Following the show, Bunting told the Observer that the event's main purpose was to provide a means through which the government can connect with the youth and at the same time build a platform for positive development among youth and adults alike.

"Well, I have been told that there is a lack of entertainment in Mandeville," Bunting said. "Tonight's show was orderly and high in entertainment, but more importantly we can connect with the youth and adults too, through music, steering them towards training and constructive growth."

Bunting's opinion of the event was shared by chairman of Central Perspective, Dr Devon Gardner, who also pointed to the positive benefits such events can have on society's youth.
            "I think tonight's event was a success, but I think that apart from that, we were able to get across to the youth that this event will bring them together and help them realise Mr Bunting is the candidate for them, and I think we pulled it off," Gardner said.

When asked about his chances of being elected to Parliament on election day, Bunting replied: "I won't become complacent. I have been working hard and I will continue to do so as I'm trying to just energise the constituency."

Wait, is Bunting defying Portia's ban on campaigning during Emancipation week?

no the PM had asked the campaigning stop between July 31 and August 6, this was held July 26th.

Whew,

Otherwise, he would have been in trouble.

I went by the story filing date, but I see the real date in the body of the text.

Fire on the rasta artistes that performed on this show. Notice di KING did not show up.

Elvis was invited??

Fire on the rasta artistes that performed on this show. Notice di KING did not show up.
                      Stop the foolishness BT. During the 2001 Bi-election campaign in NE ST. Ann a certain "King" was at Marcus Garvey High with a former PM and BOLDLY stated, "If PJ a B-Man .... ME a B-Man tuh"!! to the amusement of the masses.

Anything to back this up or yuh just throwing sh*t on the wall and hoping some sticks?

Yuh sounding defensive. When yuh see him, ask him bout campaigning in NE ST. Ann.

Ha ha ha...I like this one, never heard it before but it aptly describes how some of the people here debate.

Some of the laborites dem on yah will do anyhting to try and score points, all try to rewrite history and down right lie.

I went to four JLP meetings and saw the same set of people, some in the same green shirt and man who nuh deh no where close ago tell me seh a lir me a tell...as me madder would sey every liad is a damn tief

Ha ha ha...I like this one, never heard it before but it aptly describes how some of the people here debate.

Some of the laborites dem on yah will do anyhting to try and score points, all try to rewrite history and down right lie.

I went to four JLP meetings and saw the same set of people, some in the same green shirt and man who nuh deh no where close ago tell me seh a lir me a tell...as me madder would sey every liad is a damn tief
                              And I am to assume you are incapable of telling an untruth?