What Makes A Truly Great Concert?

• What Makes A Truly Great Concert?

Beyonce Knowle’s performance of “If I Were A Boy” (at the 2010 Grammy Awards on CBS) still ranks today as one of the most memorable concerts I have had the pleasure of ever listening to or viewing! And trust me when I say that I have literally seen countless live performances from many countries!

Musically, one of the first things that struck me was that the ENTIRE band was comprised of women. After doing some research back then, I realized that this was a policy of Beyonce. This, in my opinion, makes a great deal of sense.

But to answer the question in my subject line, a “Truly Great Concert,” such a concert involves:
    1. An outstanding singer;
    2. A powerful, well-composed song;
    3. An excellent, flawless band (listen, for example, to what the superb drummer did at about 5:06 in the video);
    4. Superior choreography.

This 2010 Grammy Award concert, by the way, involves a medley of two songs. Beyonce starts with “If I Were A Boy,” interrupts this hit with Alanis Morissette’s “You Outta Know,” but then reverts back to “If I Were A Boy” towards the end.

Here is the YouTube link for this wonderful performance:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqzKEMqKwf0

*(For the record, in the many years that I have been a member of this forum, the only other time I have ever posted a live concert was when I posted Toto’s “Africa” from their live in Paris 2007 recording:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aymnC9PR7AQ )

The group Third World featuring the original performers. ..had great concerts. I always look forward to Cores cello classics as part of the show.

I Share Your View

The group Third World featuring the original performers. ..had great concerts. I always look forward to Cores cello classics as part of the show.
      I fully agree with you!

To this day, the 1980s version of Third World (especially with the outstanding Michael “Ibo” Cooper on keyboards) remains my all-time favorite Jamaican group, without any exception! The later (immediate post 1980s) and present day versions were/are also outstanding, although the group suffered an immeasurable loss when former Chalice keyboardist Mikey Wallace (who replaced Ibo in Third World) was shot to death. In my opinion, though, Third World’s all-time greatest drummer is their present drummer, Tony “Ruption” Williams from Montego Bay.

Nevertheless, HL, I strongly recommend that you view and listen to this Beyonce Knowles concert at the 2010 Grammy Awards (YouTube). Use external speakers or a good pair of stereo headphones. This is the total package, from singing to great music to lighting to choreography.

The truth is that it is very difficult for developing countries to feature their stars in like manner.

Here is one of my favorite recorded concerts.
        John Holt & Freddie McGregor with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

I think it was during the Christmas season of 1992 . I was dating a pretty likkle "browning" with a phat ass. We had gone to the annual Pulse concert at their HQ in New Kingston. The headliner was the American R&B group Shai. They had the ONE hit song "If I Ever Fall In Love". That concert stands out in my memory as one of the best that I've ever gone to. They worked that one song for about 45 minutes and had the crowd of about 90% females, in a frenzy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OXNNVUuIDgc

I honestly cannot remember them doing another song. I could be wrong, but I also remember watching Bounty Killer and Beenie Man performing at the same venue, not sure if it was the same concert. It was then Beenie Man became my favorite local performer. He did a tap dance routine to one of his songs. Betcha didn't even know that he could tap dance.

Another concert that stands out in my memory was one at a casino in Atlantic City. I saw The Platters perform (not the entire original group). The singing and harmonizing was out of this world.

I saw The Mighty Sparrow perform in my neck of the woods. Outstanding.

I need to call up on that "browning" to go to a concert....if we can find a babysitter.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The Monotony Of Reggae

I enjoyed this Freddie McGregor medley of songs. Freddie will always be one of my all-time favorite reggae singers. Also, the musicians in this video are obviously very experienced, highly professional instrumentalists.

There was absolutely no sign or sound from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra during Freddie’s performance (I guess the orchestra was hired only to back John Holt). All that we had behind Freddie was the usual reggae band complemented by a small horn section.

The primary criticism I have had of reggae all my life is the lack of a featured instrument. The rhythm of reggae is powerful and infectious, but boring after awhile through its endless repetition. Do reggae bands hate solo breaks? Compare the average reggae band, on the one hand, with Bob Marley & the Wailers, Burning Spear, Third World, and Peter Tosh on the other. These latter four sometimes included powerful solos in their recordings and performances; for example lead guitarist Wayne Perkins’ rock solo on Bob Marley’s remix of “Concrete Jungle,” and Al Anderson’s memorable solo on “No Woman No Cry.”

Other examples include Peter Tosh’s live Canadian concert performance of “Rastafari Is” with the unforgettable extended blues solo by Donald Kinsey, and the heart-wrenching solo by guitarist Joe Ortiz on Jacob Miller & the Inner Circle’s “Disciplined Child.” When I was much younger I used to get excited over Byron Lee & the Dragonaire’s “Tiny Winey” primarily because of that “wicked” synthesizer solo.

This is where, in my opinion, the ska and rocksteady eras are musically more interesting: the role of musicians in creating outstanding, monotony-breaking solos (horns, guitar or keyboard).

Here is a concert I would have loved to have attended... EW&F!
              https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sJbZht9Jp94

BTW Historian,
                Did you now Richard Pryor was a singer before comedian? I didn't. Just saw this on FB. man sound damn good (to my untrained ear).
                https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mXLxJVIPSk

Wha di A**?!!

BTW Historian,
                    Did you now Richard Pryor was a singer before comedian? I didn't. Just saw this on FB. man sound damn good (to my untrained ear).
                    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mXLxJVIPSk
                    Yuh better throw een dat caveat! How dare you try and tell Hissy about who can sing from who can't!

Wooooiieee! Mi larynx!

Yuh better throw een dat caveat! How dare you try and tell Hissy about who can sing from who can't!

Wooooiieee! Mi larynx!
                      LOL!!!

I agree with you on the lack of solos in reggae. I would add Cat Coores solos , for example on Try Jah Love.

I always enjoyed watching Cat play his cello or other non traditional (for reggae) instruments during Third World performances. It added some variety and a different dimension.

Historian, some time ago when I posted an article where the role of Edna Manley school in Jamaicans music industry was being debated you had promisied a response on it but I don't think you got around to it. What role should they be playing and are they doing it now?

I see where Dionne got her interview style. Nicely done, Islandman!

LOL.

Shai - "I honestly cannot remember them doing another song".
                              My favorite by Shai was Comforter.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdIOlNMXvwo

The group was formed on the campus of Howard University in the early 90s. There was a time where everywhere you turned you would hear them in DC. Another one I liked was Baby I'm Yours:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iOQ3RWngIM
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran