The Caribbean’s Top Festivals (USA Today)

• The Caribbean’s Top Festivals (USA Today)

Source: USA Today: http://www.10best.com/awards/travel/...n-celebration/

(Chosen by readers of “USA Today” and “10Best” in an online poll.)

The full list of winners in the 'Best Caribbean Celebration' contest category for 10Best Readers' Choice is as follows:

1. Junkanoo - Bahamas
    2. Carnival - Trinidad
    3. Crop Over Festival - Barbados
    4. Soul Beach Music Festival - Aruba
    5. Christmas Festivities - Puerto Rico
    6. St. Patrick's Day - Montserrat
    7. Carnival - St. Thomas
    8. Cancun-Riviera Maya Wine & Food Festal
    9. Ironman Triathlon - St. Croix
    10. Tobago Heritage Festival

....suh waaaap'n...? Wha 'bout Jumaica?

Carnival in T&T second to Junkanoo - Bahamas? I wonder what the criteria are?

Best Reggaeboyz joke for the year, now let me find some
      Junkanoo videos.

I guess the joke is on me...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtE9kM1181o

Re: Wha ‘bout Jumaica?

....suh waaaap'n...? Wha 'bout Jumaica?
          I suspect that the people surveyed were thinking of celebration festivals. Aside from two or three annual small carnivals in Kingston & St Andrew, Jamaica does not really have festivals such as those selected by the Americans who were polled. Reggae Sumfest and its forerunner Reggae Sunsplash, and Sting, could be more accurately described as stage shows/concerts rather than festivals.

Even at our “festivals” such as Jerk Festival, Yam Festival, etc, whatever performances take place are done on stage by individual artists.

Agree with the above.

Caribbean Culture

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
              Agree with the above.
              Thanks, TDowl .

A problem I find with some Jamaicans who I’ve spoken to over the years is their insularity. Great cultural things have been happening throughout the Caribbean region for decades, but how many Jamaicans are aware of these?

To cite just one example, how many realize that the St. Lucian Jazz Festival preceded the Air Jamaica Jazz and Blues, and in fact, the Jamaican organizers were assisted by St Lucia in the early stages? And I could go on and on about this topic of Caribbean culture.

I notice in T&T and the Bahamas how many youngsters who can play instruments, I do not see that in Jamaica, am I wrong?

I Agree With You

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                  I notice in T&T and the Bahamas how many youngsters who can play instruments, I do not see that in Jamaica, am I wrong?
                  You are correct. Not a great deal of youngsters in Jamaica play instruments, not even in schools.

In some other regional countries, their popular culture involves direct participation in music and dance by a wide cross-section of their population rather than individual hit makers performing on stages to soundtracks or small backing bands, and so youngsters learn to play the drums and brass instruments (in particular) from a young age in those countries.

In Jamaica’s case, for example, there are few marching bands. Several decades ago we had marching bands like the Boys Brigade, but I’m not sure if these exist or are popular anymore.

Poverty probably also play a role, because instruments cost money.

The churches, of course, provide impetus for some musically inclined members of their congregations, but this would obviously be limited (how many musicians, for example, generally play in the typical Jamaican church band?).

This post by me is not meant to be a comprehensive discussion of the possible reasons for the relatively small numbers of Jamaican teens who play a musical instrument.

I was a member of the Boy's Brigade, I recall the Lionel Town, Coke Methodist and the Mo Bay bands, I am not sure the Boy's Brigade exist anymore. The Military band looks short of members too, I thought someone here wanted to donate instruments some time ago to JA.

Doesn't come close, in spite of the video...

Those arguments would make sense if there really was some thought put behind this thing, but the specification criteria was way too wide thus entries like Christmas in PR, how much more general can you get than that, Ironman Triathalon! is a cultural festival, I am actually holding my belly laughing at this. Junkanoo over Carnival in Trinidad that is where you know this list was dominated by American cruisers out of Florida with the only stop being the Bahamas.

Is USA today a legit rag or was the editor taking a nap and this idea passed his desk would be interesting to see how many people were polled for this.

Yeah that was the funniest one. Me thinks the voters were dominated by American cruisers on a one day trip to the Bahamas.

Nowhere close, I thought that was San Diego, no the Rose Bowl.

With this definition, Champs would have to be in the top 3! LoL