African Americans or West Africans -cultural ties

• African Americans or West Africans -cultural ties

Recently Historian posted a thread on top five black singers and the results made me realize that though theoretically we may think we are closer to people from west African countries especially Ghana, Gambia, Nigeria our actual choices certainly in terms of music is overwhelmingly African American, there is little if any regard for any music outside the Western Anglo African diaspora.

Made me wonder as well about the personal experiences of yard people in the Us and Canada in personally connecting on a family type level with African Americans or immigrants from West Africa or any other cultural groupings except other West Indians of course.

Is that so...remarkable? I bet if you ask Nigerians, South Africans or Kenyans to name their favourite black singers, their choices may be very similar to ours.

The fact is American culture (music especially) has a huge influence on most countries in the world. True to some degree of British music as well. Jamaican music and dance is representing nicely these days too!

It's a bit unfortunate, I guess. I know I used to attract weird glances singing Miriam Makeba chunes, or singing Mama Say Mamakossa before Michael Jackson made it famous. And were it not for my African upbringing maybe I would have listened only to Kartel like some of us!

Brickie, how yuh do?

In terms of popular music , the link between Jamaicans and African American culture is VERY strong, much stronger than anything coming directly from Africa. Our traditional folk songs and have closer ties to Africa but not our popular music.

Think about it, Ska was created by Jazz musicians. Rock Steady (especially) and early reggae groups including the Wailers were heavily influenced by groups like the Temptations and The Impressions. the early sound systems were built around R&B music before we generated enough of our own.

On the flip side Hip Hop has roots in early dancehall music, hence it is easy for fans of dancehall to identify with that art form. Then there is Gospel music which has influenced our religious music tradition heavily.

I agree with heavily influenced ,I think you made a slip with created by and this is where we do a disservice,mento- calypso was able to make an influence in Ska,Rocksteady & Reggae ,also the USA - Forgein lets not forget Lord Flea,Belafonte and Farrakhan were leaders at a time when Jazz was king in promoting that influence.

That early form of westindian music is still played on latin American coast of gautemala,nicaragua and c.rica although practically dead in Jamaica.Ohh yes Trinidad still plays the calypso form.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I would never downplay the influence that mento-calypso had on Ska, but what made Ska evolve was the Jazz/Blues musicians who blended those Afro-American genres with the traditional mento form.

That's the thing no singular thing made it evolve,its a combination granted some influences played a greater role than others, thats the thing musical ethonologist can debate.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

No single thing, but African American music played a larger part than any other non-Jamaican influence, is my point.

That said, clearly traditional African music is the root of it all. You can hear it in both the negro spirituals of the American slaves and the folk songs of the Caribbean, and all other music forms from both communities evolved from those.

Agreed found a lovely mento site from of course New York.

Mento and Jazz

http://www.mentomusic.com/samManning.htm

3 for the road :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4buRMBPk8Nw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f672lOs03js
                  Jazz- sly mongoose
                  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KybRmr0erzY
                  mento- sly mongoose

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTfrZ4z3iB8
                  Last edited by Sir X; April 17, 2014, 08:02 PM.

Found this Jazz/Ska

Ska -Gaylads
                    Sly Mongoose
                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2nKAtbWfps

Charlie Parker- Jazz
                    Sly Mongoose
                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9pBI_3kSKc

Sweet.

Very nice

Proof to me the influence was both ways,who exerted more ? Up to this day with rap/dj music the debate is raging.My take ,jackmandora mi nuh ave none.

C.Rica -Mento ..dem call calypso

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8bmLhdoKZI

Nicaragua

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xHqmxJ-vmw

Mento me call it

I can't profess to listen to music outside of the normal spheres of what influences us... I do love "latin" music, whatever that is, and these two women in particular I have listened to lately; Cesaria Evoria (deceased, from Cape Verde) and Concha Buika (Spanish (Mallorca)) of African heritage, and thoroughly enjoy their singing styles and what they have to offer.

As a teen in the 70s I was introduced to a band called "Osibisa" and though I never bought any of their albums, I had friends (East Indians from Kenya and Uganda) who just loved this music and always played it. Another band I was introduced to back in those days was a group called "Exile 1"... if you like the French West Indian genre of "pop" music they were it...

I always thought that Osibisa was Kenyan, but it appears they were actually a product of the Ghanaian and West Indian diaspora.
                            Hope y'all enjoy this as much as I do... I listen to that Buika song ALL the time. She's singing about a lost lover (female)... oh well

Sample of Osibisa:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MeH3OdgGHso
                            Cesaria Evora singing a classic:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LLsg_Lk819s
                            Concha Buika :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8SVDn34vVQ
                            Exile 1:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ynUalTJzvmg

Well early hip hop without a doubt has roots in the art of toasting on Jamaican sound systems. It has since evolved enough to itself influence modern dancehall music.

Jamaica punches way above its weight class in terms of contribution to popular music.