• British PM Decendants got huge payout from slavery abolition

Britain's colonial shame: Slave-owners given huge payouts after abolition

David Cameron's ancestors were among the wealthy families who received generous reparation payments that would be worth millions of pounds in today's money

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk...n-8508358.html

Sexual Life of a British Slave Owner, Thomas Thistlewood in Jamaica.
    http://people.cohums.ohio-state.edu/...26/Burnard.pdf

"As part of his punishment to slaves on his plantation, he would defecate in their mouths, and wire it closed for hours."

We need to seriously study slavery and relationships that existed between men & women of all races. In doing so, we will have a better understanding of ourselves, and how we can redirect our lives.

That is the passage that Martin Bashir on MSNBC quoted and said someone should do the same to Sarah Palin. He eventually had to resign over it.

I hadn't heard of Thomas Thistlewood before that incident, his account is painful but instructive reading.

Thanks for this post Hortical. I was planning on posting a topic for debate regarding the differences between how a white man views his role as as a father in comparison to a black man. My wife and I have had this ongoing debate for a while now, and your post lends support to my argument that it goes as far back to slavery.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I didn't know that he was fired. Wow.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Some scoff at repartriation,its a valid request,we were never taught the true horrors of slavery ,its glossed over ,so we dont have a true understanding and psychological grounding to prepare ourselves for the world.We are learning on our own,how to reconstruct ourselves socially.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Yeah, after the incident on MSNBC I spent a lot of time reading about his diaries of savagery in Jamaica. Apparently Thislewood wrote over 10,000+ pages about his daily life in Jamaica as a slave overseer.

A book was written about Thislewood's by Trevor Burnard.

http://www.slideshare.net/asartehuti...ethobook4meorg

repatriation or reparations?

Kmt!

Look how long slavery abolish, bredren? We need to look forward and stop trying to look excuses for our sorry existence.

Yuh think LKY busied himself with ancient Chinese invasions of Singapore?

I forgive you for your comments. All the best in 2014!

Looks like MSNBC is getting some more heat today for another racial story.

Melissa Harris-Perry and her panel making fun of Mitt Romneys adopted black grandson. Very bad idea. If someone on Fox had done this everybody would be screaming racism.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czMoPk9trqg

With the s ,thank you counselor.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.