• Banning T&T goods

Anything else on this?

I have this hot pepper sauce name Matouks Sauce that is made in T&T. I discovered it when I was a student in DC, not sure if it was as a result of having a Trini roommate. Anyway, wherever I go, I have always tried to find this sauce. I introduce it to my coworkers and have created quite a following. One guy even buys it by the case online when he could not find it in KC.

That is the only thing T&T I knowingly buy, but have been seriously thinking that I would give it up too if there is really a move to send a message to the T&T folks.

I know my few bottles I buy may not make much a difference, but it is a start.
    Attached Files
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/...234332201.html
    http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/...234528671.html

Thanks PR. I have a couple bottles of the Matouks in my stock. I was thinking that when it runs out, that was it.

Well, good to know I will not have to go through such drastic steps. :-)
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Matouks makes a range of products... their pepper sauce is popular in the export market, but if you taste some of the more home-made style pepper sauces in T&T you wouldn't buy Matouks.

The boycott T&T issue IMO, is really a knee-jerk reaction to the unfortunate situation that recently occurred. I think the local (T&T) minister of national security was not diplomatic in his comments which did nothing to defuse the outrage by Jamaicans generally. The thing is that there are the issues of movement of people within the islands and how they should be treated, as well the enormous imbalance of trade between JA and T&T which does need to be addressed. With respect to JA products here, apart from Grace and Tastee patties that's about it.... can't even find Red Stripe in the supermarket. I see it from time to time in a specialty shop in the mall selling for almost $4US a bottle retail! when a Carib or Stag is $1.30 and a Heineken $1.50 in the supermarket.

Anyway, this is the hot topic of the week. My wife is attending the Caribbean Actuarial Association conference in JA where the potential boycott and repercussions of the recent events are on the agenda. I'll let you know what came out of that discussion as several presenters including the T&T governor of the bank among others will be involved.

This is an extract of today's session; not sure if the trade issue is a late addition to the agenda.
        Concurrent Sessions:
        A, Trinidad’s Role in Assisting the Caribbean out of its Financial Malaise
        -Jwala Rambarran, Governor of the Central Bank of Trinidad & Tobago

Student Session
        1:45pm - 2:45pm
        Achieving Energy Efficiency and Diversifying Energy Sources
        -Kelly Tomblin, President & CEO of Jamaica Public Service Company
        - Winston Watson, Managing Director of Petrojam
        - Wesley Hughes, CEO of PetroCaribe Development Fund

I know my few bottles I buy may not make much a difference, but it is a start.
          Once I feel a certain way about something, I couldn't care less who else supports me on it. So if I'm the only one boycotting NCB, the Nuh Care Bank, then so be it.

After all, if you feel a certain way about something, most likely others do too.

Once I feel a certain way about something, I couldn't care less who else supports me on it. So if I'm the only one boycotting NCB, the Nuh Care Bank, then so be it.

After all, if you feel a certain way about something, most likely others do too.

..and I know how you felt about the former Cawliss and Wutliss (now called LIME) telephone/internet provider.