• I am not coming back home

I am not coming back home

Thursday, October 31, 2013 | 9:02 AM

Dear Editor,
    I took a trip earlier this year on my way back to the airport, I told the taxi man that I'm never coming back "home." He looked like he wanted to cry and went off on a rant blaming the police for making the country unsafe. I remember one thing he said that stood out; "if you did not come back home, how I would get the US$25 that I get this morning."

1/1

I meant what I said. Sincerely, but I could change my mind.
    It was a completely different country that I saw. I felt like I was being watched every step of the way. I felt a latent unease the minute I landed at the airport. Once out and about my "discomfort" increased dramatically. I won't say much more on that. I spoke to a few younger guys that I knew and I was shocked at the glorification of "badmanism", unbelievable. They literally worshipped the Don. I'm talking country bush bush.
    Upon my arrival at the airport, the custom officer asked some very rude and intrusive questions; like why I had so much "things." I'm a computer tech guy and businessman so I have all types of gadgets that I need. He also went on to question me about why it took me so long to return home -- seven years. He wanted to find out exactly the district I was staying, which I found quite odd. He seized a pair of pants I had because they are not allowed in the country -- ridiculous.
    I have relatives that I'm close to still there but I don't think that is enough reason for me to return. Next time I need a vacation I'll go elsewhere. Jamaica is not the only place in the world with sun and sea. I just feel sad about the whole thing but at this time, I don't feel like ever returning there again...ever.
    Leewayne

I want to stay home

Thursday, October 31, 2013 | 12:42 PM

I have been asked similar questions being tech girl especially since I turned up with a Mackbook as well as a HP laptop, iPad, cell phones etc.
    My view, they are just doing their jobs. I was also told to give the exact address I will be staying at which I found annoying since I could not come up with a house number but guess what they were doing their job.

1/1

Things have changed and the youth seem to have no real role models. I must say however that the experience has had a different effect on me. It has made me more determined to return home and contribute in whatever way I can.
    Most Jamaicans here find me odd and express shock and even disappointment at the fact that I want to return home. But I always respond... There are criminals and violence everywhere, life is hard everywhere I would rather suffer and die at home than here. But then that's just me. I think we are at times too quick to condemn our own than to try to help.
    LEA

Leewayne a eediat! Tek a pair a pants because dem illegal?! Dem coulda full a sequins him woulda haffi low mi pants!

Anyway, I think when you've been a way for very long, you may get the feeling that everyone's about to rob you. That "I've been away for years and I'm parro as hell coming back home" look doesn't help either!

Lea a fool! She going to find that she won't be paid anywhere close to what she's worth. And worse, when the jobs dry up around her she will be looking for work outside of Jamaica.

You see, Lea just lef yard di odda day. She nuh get use to di big money a farin yet. She soon find out how difficult it will be just to pay the bills, much less to purchase house and car, not to mention put away for retirement. A gwine give har 3 years before she change har tune and declare she can love Jamaica from long distance.

Army fatigues...

Yu hitting hard this morning Sir.

3 years is reasonable..

Jamaica is a lovely place to be idle..

When it comes to productive efforts.. as Chris Issa seh.. you have to be schizophrenic..

Straight mad-house..

Leewayne a eediat! Tek a pair a pants because dem illegal?! Dem coulda full a sequins him woulda haffi low mi pants!

Anyway, I think when you've been a way for very long, you may get the feeling that everyone's about to rob you. That "I've been away for years and I'm parro as hell coming back home" look doesn't help either!
                Mmmosiah?

Iz zis you?

Asked why it took him 7 years ?

I had a customer office ask me the same thing,I showed him my US pass port , he game me 1 week in the Island...I was insulted, my ticket was 4 two weeks.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Yuh mean IMMIGRation offisah.

I had a customer office ask me the same thing,I showed him my US pass port , he game me 1 week in the Island...I was insulted, my ticket was 4 two weeks.
                      the man a mek yuh know you are not jamaican.

Yep and I'm nuh value mi Yankee dollars.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

experienced something similar. my son was wearing fatigue short pants and they had me tell him to change before he exited the airport......

i don't have a problem with that...but to confiscate ... that is outta order i think but then this is JA ...

... HIM let the man know seh him is not jamaican ... US passport!

US passport? I recall Jamaica's beloved PM at the time encouraging J'cans to get citizenship so they could vote in the USA and have a 'voice.' Yet there are those who wanna treat these people as if they're not Jamaicans? I bet you if X was a sports/music star he would have been treated with love? Tek Tessane for example .... all of a sudden everybody know her .... yet they ignored her music all these years.

Jamaicans are an ungrateful set.