Why is Steven Francis not considered pretty?

Now he is claiming he just repeated what he heard others say...

Davis: 'Ugly' Outrage Misplaced
    Published: Friday | August 23, 2013 0 Comments
    THE EDITOR, Sir:

My Wednesday co-lumn 'He ain't pretty but he's pretty damn good' was not intended to cause injury to Stephen Francis. It was not intended to offend black people nor be derisive to corpulent people. It was not written with prejudicial intent nor crafted to communicate my personal disdain for hard-featured people.

Those who know me know the stout defence I mount on Francis' behalf whenever he's criticised for the handling of Asafa or for a refusal to work with the media's agenda.

I've heard him described as all kinds of ugly and awful epithets by people who remain stubbornly blind to the quality of his work. The descriptors used in the article and which have riled so many, causing some to send what I can only class as hate mail to me, represent the warped views of verandah and armchair commentators I've heard who value looks and conduct over performance.

I was simply communicating the fact that even if such critics have overpowered me into buying into this looks argument (and they have not), the facts are that Stephen Francis is a pretty damn good coach. A genius, even!

Those who understood

I want to publicly thank St. G. Foster, D. Henry, K. Slowley, M. Headley, S. Bennett, L. Nelson and D.P.W. These are readers who responded on the day the article was published and so weren't influenced by the sirens of the outrage police. Thanks for understanding the points I intended to make and recognising that there was no racism or even snobbery in it.

Very few of those who've exercised their 'curse and carry-on muscle' took the time to comment on the reasons I set down for Stephen Francis to be accorded the respect that his quality as a coach demands. In this way, they support the argument I've posited. That Stephen Francis doesn't get due respect because of issues surrounding looks and behaviour.

Selah.

GEORGE DAVIS

george.s.davis@hotmail.com

Di man a teacha inna di ting fi sure, jus doan stress it

So George, do you consider him ugly???? Why???

Expect better than this from someone like this.

He obviously does:

'Frano' could hardly have been more unfortunate in the looks department. A corpulent man who makes the shade black look black...
          These are his words...he did not attribute them to anyone else...there were no quotation marks included...these are his original thoughts...

Nice try George but no cigar. Real fool.

He hit rock bottom and amazingly kept digging.If his article was to unmasked the unfair treatment of the coach then the criticism of his shameful comments should be well met,if he was sincere to begin with.
              Two things of great concern;the intellects that supposedly found nothing wrong with what he said and the fact he really thought he would not be treated accordingly for his comments.

Looks like he's struggling in that photo

that is a high risk for a heart attack right there.

I still cant figger how him bring skin colour /tone into it??

Jacka$$ Journalism!

Bout STOUT defense ......

If you are going to write an article as dumb as this one, then it would be disingenuous to leave out skin colour/tone.

Lol

I guess....