• look like the apologist them nah touch this

Hylton In Hot Water - Businessman Sues Minister To Recover US$120,000
    Published: Sunday | June 2, 2013 4 Comments

Anthony Hylton
    1 2 >
    Tyrone Reid, Senior Staff Reporter

Minister of Investment, Industry and Commerce, Anthony Hylton, has found himself in a messy business deal which has resulted in him being slapped with a multimillion-dollar lawsuit.

The lawsuit was filed by prominent Corporate Area businessman Metry Seaga after Hylton allegedly failed to pay outstanding amounts for a four-bedroom house in Norbrook, St Andrew.

Seaga, deputy president of the Jamaica Manufacturers' Association, told our news team that his lawyers filed the lawsuit late last week to recover approximately US$120,000 (J$12,000,000).

Seaga said he was forced to initiate the legal action as a last resort because he has been trying for years to amicably recover the funds owed to him by Hylton.

"I have been out of my money for six years. Promise after promise after promise has not borne fruit so I'm afraid that it has had to come to this.

"I hope that the minister finds it within himself to honour the debt and maybe we don't have to go any further with this because I am very uncomfortable with this matter of going to court, with Minister Hylton being a public official," said Seaga.

"I do have a promissory note signed by him and the money is outstanding and I need it to be paid. It has to do with the sale of a house and the figure of US$120,000 is the agreed figure. He took over the house and lived in there for years. There was a vendor's mortgage which he just didn't honour."

Admits he owes

When contacted, Hylton admitted that he owed Seaga approximately US$120,000.

He explained that it was his intention to pay and he was banking on doing so by selling a property he owned, but not being able to dispose of that property grossly handicapped his ability to honour his obligation to Seaga.
    "I actually lived in the premises for over a three-year period. We made the arrangements to pay but I could not conclude on the transaction because the property which I expected to be sold became embroiled in a lawsuit not of my making," said Hylton.

According to the Cabinet minister, he is hoping for an out-of-court settlement as plans are far advanced on the sale of a property that should allow him to pay what he owes by next week.

tyrone.reid@gleanerjm.com

Who are the apologist ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I would like a US120K house in Norbrook...

Just give a 'deed in lieu of payment'. ...should have done that long ago. Nuh badda claim yuh get FINSAC!!! You agreed to contracted payment!!!

House couldn't cost $120,000 US...that must be the balance owed...

Dat is the balance owing....

Promissory note is a comfortary to a fool. LoL