Portia to step down...according to Mark sWignall

• Portia to step down...according to Mark sWignall

Is PJ Patterson revving up regime change in the PNP?

If there is one politician in this country who knows the usefulness of bowing out before the political stale-bread gets moldy, that man is former Prime Minister P. J. Patterson.

There are many who believe that it was PJ who encouraged Omar Davies to compete in the 2006 PNP presidential race.

Having absolutely no hope of winning, Davies’ 300 votes became the split-off of votes which carried the day for Simpson Miller and denied Peter Phillips the win, even if we factored in the view that Karl Blythe’s votes could have been utilized as leverage to his, or, someone else’s advantage.

I have been informed that PJ Patterson has been very busy in recent times and, it is my suspicion that he, a PNP loyalist to the core, is sensing that the popularity of Simpson Miller is not the guarantee that it used to be in former years.

‘Don’t quote me,’ said a PNP insider to me a few weeks ago. ‘It is my understanding that PJ has got together his council of ex-ministers and they have been strategically deployed to monitor and macro-manage area councils.’

He went on. ‘What I find strange and, telling, is that about 10 constituency polls and one national poll have been conducted and while I have no results of those polls, sources tell me that there is cause for concern.’

Conducting polls is expensive business especially considering the state of our roads in this country. We have not reached to the level of development that telephone surveys can be considered reliable and, home phones have seen a severe contraction with the growth of m0obile technology.

Ten constituency polls plus a national poll, at the cheapest, could cost about $5 million. Why would a political party in a poor country with a depressed economy deploy those resources at this time to polling when no election is in sight?

It would seem to me that maybe there is the sense that PM Portia Simpson Miller wants to pack it in and PJ, ever the master planner is looking to the PNP’s annual conference at year end to make a crucial decision.

Voices in the PNP and those outside it have been calling the name, Phillip Paulwell for some time now.

If, what some see as, the inevitable taking place, and, a special announcement is made later on in the year, we may see Phillip Paulwell taking the reins from Portia Simpson Miller who would as precondition, announce her intentions not to seek re-election.

Should that happen it would present the PNP with a new energy and would send the lackluster, boring, uninspiring leadership of Andrew Holness into hibernation for the next three years.

Certainly we have seen that our prime minister has slowed down and is giving the impression that her heart is no longer in the game, if indeed it was ever there in the first instance.

Over the next three years the PNP administration has to embark on the most intense policy planning that any administration has ever faced in regards to getting the Logistics Hub towards the end-game. In this, leadership will be of paramount importance and I cannot see any other minister than Paulwell to lead off in this charge.

Not having all the facts at my disposal, I am sticking with the credibility of my source. Still, it has all of the elements of speculation and I will have more as the weeks and months unfold.

Ready fi rob ...PNP ever ready ....JLP ready fi implode.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Right now, mi nuh care who waan tek over. Let's cross this bridge first - Portia need to pack har Louis Vuitton and go!

What is the URL for this article?

-> http://www.facebook.com/mark.wignall...53626201378591
          Last edited by Skeng DX; April 28, 2013, 02:34 PM.

Thanks, he doesn't write for the Observer anymore?

sometime the observer decide not to post his columns online...for 'sales reasons'

She has to finish her term, ending it prematurely will likely hurt the PNP,voters do no elect leaders that inherited the post.
                The problem, I have been told,is Portia lacks steel,ergo it stands to reason someone else is running the country.Is electing that person really the fix?
                It seems the PNP(as a whole) has to change.

LOL, Mark always have someone giving him some suss. He dragged the word statistics through the mud and perverted the word journalism. It's better if he said Prince Andrew is not the true leader of the JLP. What a clown.

She lacks a whole lot more than steel. She lacks intellectual curiosity, she lacks vision, she lacks a solid understanding of economic policy, I could go on.

She does have her strengths as well but few of them are prerequisites to be a national leader.

and you would say the current JLP has intellectual curiosity? Although I disagreed; do you know why PSM wanted nuclear power in Ja? Let me help; to turn the bauxite into finish product and sell at a competitive rate. The only drawback is that Ja is prone to earthquake and has poor zoning codes (if any). The info age has presented a new opportunity. Google and Facebook (both multi billion corps) can be carried around on a DVD. The heart of it is just lines of code.

I don't think there has been any JLP or PNP leader, with the exception of Shearer, who has been as intellectually limited as Portia.

She does not appear to read much, she shows no ability nor interest in grasping complex issues. She has no new ideas. She has been promoted way above her level of competence.

Yes Andrew Holness is a much brighter person than Portia is. His work as Min. Of Education shows this clearly.

Let me ask you this: Would you call Joshua bright? Do you think he came up with all those ideas by himself. Small wonder Eddie has little respect for you guys.

Did Andrew revolutionize education in Ja? Math and science in Ja was comical under his watch. To endorse my argument; he pulled his kids out of school to teach them at home. This must be comedy hour.

Math and Science in Ja was comical under his watch ??

Can you provide the numbers ?

Joshua was an intelligent man even though many of his ideas ultimately failed. He was obviously well read, he thought at the macro level. He took an interest in global issues. He could debate with the best of them.

His failures were more due to the Messiah complex he developed and a group of radicals who made him lose his way.