At some point in time yuh haffi call a spade a spade

Kindly limit the yappin' and post the source data...For the sake of credibility I would appreciate something other than Seaga's letter or the JLP website as a source

While you're at it post also the debt profile in the 1980s and massive handouts received by Seaga as Reagan's pet project for the Caribbean

Thanks in advance

my bad....PJ a still eediat doh

Education Cyaan Nyam really means Education spending doesn't win elections...but roads do

That is the data.. if you are not happy with it.. counter it.

The debt profile is a function of PNP Malpractice in the 70's.. much like the debt profile resulting in PNP Economic Malpractice in the 20 years after 1989..

Everywhere yuh turn macka juk yuh...

nope...mi nuh accept tribal rumination as factual data

Jamaica's economy in the 1980s whatever it was...was a function mainly of the overwhelming Babylon support in huge handouts and a gushing debt @ 200% of GDP...starting JA on the road to dependence on debt & foreign welfare

Ultimately neither Seaga's Babylon patrons nor Jamaicans were satisfied with the outcome...Seaga was booted, never to return

Too bad... PJ was substantially worse
          Last edited by Don1; April 13, 2013, 11:19 AM.

The start to debt independence is Growth...

How would you propose to develop a Growth platform without strategic borrowing ???

Manley emptied the coffers by his Malpractice in the 70's.

What would have been your approach..wave a Magic Wand ?

If your GDP massively reduced don't you expect the Debt to GDP numbers to be initially high ??

What you need to borrow to effect transformation cannot be based on your GDP at the time (early eighties).. you need to ensure however growth numbers within a reasonable time that will eventually bring that ratio within norms.

The PNP in the 90's killed that platform established by Seaga in the 80's.

The truth is an offense not a sin.

LOL...Transformation?? Where was the transformation????????

Introducing low level 807 garment piecework and cutting education funding while absorbing vast handouts and massive debt??

Sarry...dats not transformation I can believe in

<Jamaica's manufacturers were outperforming CARICOM competitors in regional trade by as much as 40 per cent before Trinidad imposed its trade embargo against them. Manufacturing's contribution to exports and import substitution was significant in bringing our exports to within 40 per cent of imports - a level not seen since then. Today, imports are almost four times the value of our exports.

Prospects for growth in manufacturing were being facilitated by access to the developed markets of the world through trade agreements like CBI, CARIBCAN and the GSP. Bilateral pacts with Venezuela and Colombia were available for favourable entry to those markets. And trade agreements with CAFTA and its member states could have been easily arranged to further extend market access for our manufactured output.>

Mi know unnuh cyaan believe in dat.. das why the country stay suh and dats why PNP led Administrations have succeeded in record setting Economic Malpractice in EVERY term of power.