• Trinidad: Where 1 Gold + 3 Bronzes = 1 National Holiday

Holiday declared in Trinidad to celebrate Olympians

Port of Spain - Trinidad and Tobago (T&T) went into celebration mode after Prime Minister Kamla Persad Bissessar declared a public holiday Monday in recognition of the country's achievement at the London Olympics.

T&T, a nation of over just over a million people, finished with a record four medals - one gold and three bronze - a performance headed by 19-year-old Keshorn Walcott, who pulled off a stunning upset by winning the men's javelin throw Saturday.

Persad Bissessar said the athletes had placed the oil-rich twin island republic firmly on the world map, CMC reported.

"The people of Trinidad and Tobago salute you and we thank you for once again showing the world that small though we are, far away though we are a people of passion and we can not only hold our own among the best, but also stand among the best," she said in a nationwide radio and television broadcast Sunday night.

The Prime Minister said Walcott's achievement in becoming the youngest javelin thrower in Olympic history to win gold brought unity to the entire nation.

"Yesterday many of our nations hugged and cried as he stood on the platform and our national anthem played. I was told that some citizens stood before whatever television sets they could find at the time tears streaming down their mud caked faces as they cried with pride and in celebration of themselves. Trinidad and Tobago had secured Gold in our Golden Jubilee Year."

Walcott was joined by the men's sprint relay team, distance relay team and Lalonde Gordon in the 400 metres, all of whom won bronze medals. Persad Bissessar said the nation also celebrated when the men's relay team was given the bronze medal after Canada had been disqualified.

"I have received so many calls from so many quarters asking in what way we shall commemorate this occasion to express the immense joy in the hearts and minds of every citizen of our great nation over the excellent performance of our Olympic athletes in London."

The Prime Minister said that the country's national anthem and flag have become synonymous with determination with excellence, with humility and performance, with patriotism and national pride.

Persad Bissessar said the athletes had placed the oil-rich twin island republic firmly on the world map, CMC reported.

The Prime Minister said that the country's national anthem and flag have become synonymous with determination with excellence, with humility and performance, with patriotism and national pride.
    snicker

hell...guffaw!!!!

LOL.... mi spleen

Plus Money, House n Land & assorted Trinkets

Trinidad gov't showers Olympics gold medal winner with gifts
        CMC
        Monday, August 13, 2012

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad – The Trinidad and Tobago government today showered its first Olympics gold medal winner in 36 years with a number of gifts including a TT$2.5 million (TT$1=US$0.16 cents) a house and 20,000 square feet of land.

T&T finished with a record four medals at the London Olympics that ended on Sunday, a performance headed by 19-year-old Keshorn Walcott who pulled off a historic upset by winning the men’s javelin throw on Saturday.
        Prime Minister Kamla Persad Bissessar, speaking at the Piarco International Airport, where thousands of nationals had gathered to welcome home the local Olympians, said that Walcott would also have his name on an aircraft of the state-owned Caribbean Airlines, a scholarship to attend university and $1 million to invest.

The lighthouse in the village of Toco, where Walcott was born, will also be named after him.

In an emotional brief response, Walcott said, “I went out there and did my best” praising God, his coach, manager and everyone for his success.
        “I would like to say thanks to everybody who supported me,” he added.

The Prime Minister said that gifts for the other Olympians that include Lalonde Gordon, who won bronze in the 400 metres and the men’s 4x100 relay team, given the bronze after Canada’s disqualification, would be announced later.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz23UKwCbiu

Totally obscene!!!! This while many are still suffering from the effects of flooding, loss of home, deaths...over the weekend. Politicians are indeed crass.

except "our" politician

It was a general sweeping all-encompassing statement...sorry..

I think it's quite charming...

In a Banana Republic kind of way

I don't know why all the hype over Olympics and beauty queens in the Caribbean...but politicians love to use any leverage they 'think' they can get to grab the spotlight, 'please' the people, DISTRACT the masses from the real issues....BIGSCREENS in HWT for example...yes, very Banana Republic but no less that financial endorsements of say US athletes...example Gabby on cereal box next day...
                  The term Banana Republic is disingenious since it is usually reserved for developing countries...especially Caribbean ones...
                  I just came from a 'Banana State', the good State of Florida in the USA...if you hear the things going on in education and the control of the school systems by politicians and private interests...makes us look like nutten.

The US is not a Banana Republic...it's a Police State

Mind yuh mannas

The State of Florida mi seh....no misquote mi!

...but then that is not the US...