Negative Social Relations: Jamaica's core problem...

• Negative Social Relations: Jamaica's core problem...

It is THE central issue.... so of course it is ignored and unrecognized by most. Most concentrate on superficial symptoms of this core problem and the political charlatans/big business people who manipulate the country.

Then they wonder why their backward prescriptions for progress fall flat. When will they get it?

Social Contract Now!! Memba mi tole unnu fram lang time

No growth without social cohesion

David Mullings

Sunday, May 20, 2012

NO reasonable Jamaican believes that the country is currently on track to deliver the growth that is needed in order to reduce the fiscal deficit. Unfortunately, we have grown too accustomed to growth rates in the one per cent region while seeing a massive portion of Government revenue going towards paying down debt.

The simplest way to reduce the debt burden is to grow the economy, but growing an economy is not so simple. Tax reform is one approach that has been consistently promoted, with various proposals and committees providing ideas and the evidence to support them. However, some proposals fail to account for the potential social repercussions of proposed policies.

It is hard to forget the 1999 gas tax riots which erupted out of the then Patterson-led PNP Administration planning to raise the special fuel tax from $1.5 per gallon to $2 per gallon and impose a 30 per cent hike on the cost of licensing motor vehicles.

The riots were disastrous for the economy. We had cruise ship passengers being warned not to come to Ocho Rios, flights were cancelled and the international news ran with the headlines and photos that painted the picture of a very dangerous place.

Everyone by now has seen similar stories and footage from countries like Greece which also face serious economic issues with overbearing debt, low growth, poor competitiveness and poor tax collection.

Social cohesion is the single most important ingredient for economic growth and all proposals must take that into consideration, no matter how positive they may look on paper.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz1vyQlbXUK

Do we have the leadership currently to make it happen though?

Unfortunately no imho. The JLPNP leadership is more concerned with winning the next election and feeding their partisans than anything else.

More's the pity

I think this has a bigger impact

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0lwvo...eature=related

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I tend to agree with the research analyst and I think the lady from the IMF is a sell out.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The IMF is definitely not our core problem. Barbados for example has been in more than one IMF program and emerged unscathed.

The fact that Jamaica is forced to go to the IMF is a symptom of not handling the nation's affairs well. We cannot look outside to find either to the source of the problem or the solution. The root cause is us and the solution must be found within us (yes we can learn from foreign models but the solution must be unique to us).

We will handle the nation's affairs well when there's a consensus on the optimal way forward and with all important sectors working to that goal... we see that social consensus in recently successful countries like Barbados and Costa Rica.

The solution is within us...which is why I promote the social contract concept itinually
            Last edited by Don1; May 26, 2012, 01:52 PM.

"Yow #$%.. nuh call mi dat.. mi nuh watch man.. mi ah duh security reerk !"

Not in our lifetime..

Don a weh u Mawdy now?

Mi think the IMF was Babylon. LOL.
                  Anyway if you want man money fi borrow you have to agree to their terms.

We had no IMF agreement for about 10 years and we ended up worst than when we had one. What that have to say about us.

What happen when yuh give Teenager credit card and dem nuh have job ?

Yup, and along with this we need to structure for success.

Kitchen sized cabinets are inimical to accountability.

10 ministah mazximum and the rest can be Junior ministers that run interference for MEGA investments.

Di Chiney man dem alone should have 5 Junior minister (including 1 Tal'Shiar) at dem back and call at all times to clear any stupid red tape hurdle.

BUSINESS TIME NOW. And YES, it must be done in a socialliy cohesive manner. We have about 3-4 priorities we need to run in parallel.