IT in Caribbean: Barbados the Leader?

you certainly giving our music too much credit. A few people have done their things and make it big. How many other known artist do we have worldwide other than Bob Marley, Jimmy Cliff and a few others?

As for our sprinting it was just a few years ago we had to struggle to come up with a medal in olympics. In not so long ago we couldn't beat our caribbean neighbours in football, we couldn't even pay the fees to enter in FIFA mandated competition. Thanks to Burrell and his dream that has changed. Where would we be in football without Burrell and his dream and 98 world cup?

The fact is Asians especially China takes the arts and sports VERY serious in case you don't know and stuff as gynastics, chess, and other sports are heavily supported. The fact that they are not good at ahtletics is why it is not that supported.

Take the fact that most American kids have music classes by the time they enter middle school, and I can bet you in many of the countries you calling up is the same. In Jamaica we have one good pool for kids to compete in and I can bet you it is not the same in Barbados or Cayman. As a matter of fact most good university rather a more rounded student who play sport, arts and has a background in community development.

The fact that we have a few good musicians and I said a few because if you check the credits on the records you will see, doesn't mean we spend too much time on music. Most high schools in Jamaica have no formal music training or communication classes.

The fact that Jamaican can't read have nothing much to do with sports or art, instead sports and art help to give you the discipline to achieve. What Jamaican need most is proper parenting and people contribute to our schools. Blame our parents, blame the education system, and even some of the teachers.

We don't put enough emphasis on science and others subject but it is not because of sports or music but rather our lack of discipline.

not just the very bright ones but the one with parents and communities that care as well.

Have to agree it wouldn't. For one Ja is too centralized. I know this was done by the british to have easy control and execution. Can't see the reason today. Ja needs more tertiary institutions outside of Kgn. I'm not talking satellites. I'm talking different named colleges with their own admin and faculty.

Funding is here especially for math and comp sci. See Chile has Google in its books. Costa Rica (see their initiatives in primary education and computers).

Ja's market Niche should be math and compci. One can be carry a dvd with software worth a millions to billions of dollars. Because of the episode on Profile with Byon and the engineer. I began to research parasites.These tropical parasites also affect the learning ability of students. The ministry of health has to come up with solutions for the rural areas and inner city with respect to parasites.Massive campaign educating adults and young about defecating in streams. Urinating in public places and walking barefooted.This has to be done or else it's a waste of time with early
        childhood education.

In the west there is the need to connect with the youth by teling them they can drive X6s and own mansions the legit way. They will have to work and use their minds the way mark zuckerberg, bill gates, steve jobs and others did. Stealing is not the way; their wealth is but temporary. All will end in either, death or prison.

Yes sah govt. have their work cut out but it can be done though.Mental dexterity coupled with a strong will can make things happen. "What if you cannot fail?"

ok boss

LOL

I think you miss my point.. but that's ok

Yow boss...dis DYRC ting soon start get outa hand...tings start snowball...organically.

Wi nah even try recruit or promote ...peeple start self-recruit once dem sight di rake. I kind of suspected & hoped that would occur. Yuh know wat aggo appen when DJ-M buss wi pon radio? Worries

Jawges might soon ave company cross di street an yuh dun kno wen certain rivalry kick in...it done

Plus they're certain special target schools needed to have good representation....dem need orientation now

I suspect we'll soon have to start sayin' NO...please wait until 2014.... cause it look like 2013 soon full up... unless yuh waan seh mek it 20 skool fi start...ah nuff wuk dat
                Last edited by Don1; April 30, 2012, 02:37 PM.

Yeah me see the emails. Looking good!

Me have a good bredren who work inna ICT for years, JPS most of that time. Originally from West Kingston and used to go STATHS. Was thinking of asking him for a link there but I feel say me shoulda wait.

STATHS is perfect... I would say go for it

das why mi a tell unnu fi state the thing better because our achiement in sports and music shouldn't and is not at the expense of education. It is always a cop out. Remind me of mi parents saying " pu dung the ball and go study u book".

You love anecdotes like " pu dung the ball and go study u book" ...
                        Me too ...they're very colourful and interesting

However after being entertained by the anecdotes I look at facts on the ground.. aka outcomes & data.

It is the overall outcomes and objective data that tell the real story... not your anecdotes.

Most agree that Jamaican sport & music achievements are brilliant... we punch way above our weight globally.... and sing songs of praise for that itinually.

The data indicates that Jamaica lags the region in education... the ONLY reason for that is a lack of focus on the sector... meaning that it is not sufficiently prioritized...people from the top to the bottom tolerate that insanity.

But Jamaicans will NOT tolerate failure in sports we prize.... if failure occurs..it's a ALL HANDS NO DECK effort to fix the problem. I say this as someone who loves sport and have worked in that area historically.

That dichotomy is a severe weakness of culture.

However you can continue with your quaint anecdotal analysis... it's not illuminating but it can be entertaining
                        Last edited by Don1; April 30, 2012, 04:29 PM.

"But Jamaicans will NOT tolerate failure in sports we prize.... "

a boys champs you a talk about and schoolboys football a the only two thing we really support. We tolerate all kind a slackness in sports.

Anyway...mi dun wid dis... too circular

I missed your parasite talk. What parasites are effecting Jamaican youth?? How does it affect learning ability?

LOL, me a try tek you advice and nuh disrespect nobody post but as you can see it nuh so easy.