• Observer EDITORIAL: Creating jobs for Jamaicans overseas

Creating jobs for Jamaicans overseas

Monday, April 23, 2012

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...#ixzz1t0F9v67Q

Mr Earl Jarrett, the general manager of Jamaica National Building Society, estimated that there are over a million Jamaicans living in the Tri-state area of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut, and we have heard other estimates putting the total number of Jamaicans overseas at nearly three million.

In fact, Jamaicans are well known as a migratory people, with the first wave of migrants to the US hitting Connecticut to work on its tobacco farms. Other migration waves are well-documented in Panama, Costa Rica and, of course, the United Kingdom.

Reports of the thumping reggae beat heard in the back streets of places like Kuwait have served as anecdotal evidence of how far away Jamaicans have gone to find new homes and new lives.

The point of all this is to emphasise the vital importance of migration to Jamaica's development, further evidenced by the fact that remittances have become our number one earner of foreign exchange, even over big industries like tourism and bauxite.

One wonders what would we have done as a country were it not possible for Jamaicans to find jobs overseas.

It is in that context that we wish to place the news last week that the Sandals/Beaches chain of resorts continues to create jobs for Jamaicans overseas, particularly in other Caribbean islands which are hosts to Mr Gordon 'Butch' Stewart's hotels.

Each time we refer to Mr Stewart's news-making activities, we have been constrained to seek the indulgence of those who are minded to say we are being self-serving, because he is also the publisher of this newspaper. And yet, the bigger picture beckons.

Last week, the Beaches Turks and Caicos resort announced that another 100 Jamaicans would be recruited in the next six to eight weeks, to add to the 353 already there, and with plans on the drawing board for another 50 to follow soon after. That would bring to 503, the number of Jamaicans making a living in the Turks and Caicos Islands on that one property alone.
    On the day the story appeared in our publication, hits by our online readers made it the number two most popular story, a huge indication of the interest Jamaicans have in anything that says jobs, but also in finding opportunities to work abroad.

The unemployment situation is tough here at home, and the possibility of placing Jamaicans overseas means that we will be able to release some of the pressure that joblessness is building in the society. As in the case of Sandals/Beaches, the Jamaicans who go to the Turks and Caicos Islands leave a similar number of job spaces for those at home to get, in a sense doubling the number.

The just launched Sandals Corporate University will encourage the movement of Jamaicans across the Caribbean even more, with its plans for exchange programmes among the islands.

There are other companies, which we don't name for fear of leaving out any, who have Jamaican staff overseas and we wish to salute them as they contribute in this way to the development of our country.

This is clearly a way forward.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...#ixzz1t0Eqb9Fw

T & C doesn't have people to work in the hotels? hope the influx doesn't create animosity to Jamaicans "taking" jobs from locals..

It probably will in the short term as it always does.

You know how much jamaican people pon Facebook claim say dem nah fly Caribbean Airlines cause dem leggo the JA pilot dem? When is time fe dem fly, if Caribbean Airlines have the best price you think dem a go look elsewhere? Of course not, mout mek fe say anything.

Unno naaah read mi post???/ LoL

Maybe Butch needs to leave outta likkle Baylon?
        http://www.suntci.com/index.php?p=story&id=2497

http://www.suntci.com/index.php?p=story&id=2496

Dem nuh like wi and wi nuh like dem...LoL

Butch ain't going nowhere if the venture is profitable. Neither the Trinis in JA.

Mek the masses keep themselves occupied with the petty island squabbling while the big timers drink dem champaign together and buss dem big laugh

What to do if he cant find workers and the service level plummets.

Already him have nuff sick leave from the overworked staff...

Turks people better recognize...

You are so right Islandman about the talk of boycotting Caribbean Airlines, idle chatter.

Well guess what, they offer the best deal, 2 checked luggage, whereas other airlines offer 1. And since me loaded like a jackass, when I am travelling to Jamaica, I have to make use of that - for already one suitcase is filled with supplies for the basic school and the Church youth group.

...and me seem to always get an upgrade to first class (no cussing from me)