• Digital Yard releases Robotics Manual for Secondary Schools

Digital Yard School Tech Challenge - Powered by UTech Engineering

The CAD software only works in Windoze? No bueno...

Boeing, AirBus, GM etc use versions of Solid Edge CAD

..... Take up your concerns with them

This is not my Granny's School's Challenge

The Student Edition of Solid Edge contains all of the functionality necessary to create complete designs using some of the industry’s most sophisticated and modern techniques. In addition to Siemens PLM Software’s unique synchronous technology, which combines the speed and flexibility of direct modeling with the precise control of dimension driven design, students will have access to the full function modules of Solid Edge drafting, sheet metal, surfacing and advanced assembly design.

In order to ensure students have the ability to effectively use all of the Solid Edge functionality provided, registrants are provided with links to tutorials and other on-line media, and granted access to a dedicated Internet forum that will allow collaboration with other students using Solid Edge. Users of the Student Edition of Solid Edge will also gain access to technical productivity tips to help further increase their proficiency.

"In my experience as both a student and as an intern, I've used the other leading CAD programs in the industry. None of them provide me with anything close to the comprehensive user interface or surfacing capabilities of Solid Edge," said Elle Mileti, a dual major student in Mechanical Engineering and Product Design & Innovation at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Class of 2013. "And with access to its synchronous technology, I can easily and efficiently create geometry that's almost impossible to accomplish with the other software. Nothing is more frustrating than sifting through drop down menus when you know what needs to be done; with Solid Edge I can focus on design."

About Solid Edge

Solid Edge® software is the most complete hybrid 2D/3D CAD system that uses synchronous technology for accelerated design, faster change, and improved imported reuse. With superior part and assembly modeling, drafting, transparent data management, and built-in finite element analysis, Solid Edge, a core component of the Velocity Series™ portfolio, eases the growing complexity of product design.

Siemens PLM Software, a business unit of the Siemens Industry Automation Division, is a leading global provider of product lifecycle management (PLM) software and services with 6.7 million licensed seats and more than 69,500 customers worldwide. Headquartered in Plano, Texas, Siemens PLM Software works collaboratively with companies to deliver open solutions that help them turn more ideas into successful products. For more information on Siemens PLM Software products and services, visit www.siemens.com/plm.

Nah cuss you...I am gonna run through the program later and see how it stacks up with the software i currently use...wanted my yute to download it but he has a Mac...

ok boss

Time has come and gone to get the youths up to date.

Solid Edge i believe is now Solid Works and is no where as technical as the various industry software below.

http://www.3ds.com/fileadmin/PRODUCT...DF/CATIAbd.pdf

http://www.3ds.com/products/catia/po...5/catia-v5r21/
            This - CATIA software- was used entirely to design the Airbus

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CATIA

http://www.mathworks.com/
            Matrix based - boom stuff yahsoh!
            https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MATHLAB

http://www.ptc.com/community/landing/wf3.htm
            Competes with Mathworks
            http://www.ptc.com/product/creo/parametric
            https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creo_Elements/Pro

http://www.mscsoftware.com/universit...an_nastran.cfm
            http://www.mscsoftware.com/
            Used in industry

Originally posted by world fan View Post
              Time has come and gone to get the youths up to date.

Solid Edge i believe is now Solid Works and is no where as technical as the various industry software below.

http://www.3ds.com/fileadmin/PRODUCT...DF/CATIAbd.pdf

http://www.3ds.com/products/catia/po...5/catia-v5r21/
              This - CATIA software- was used entirely to design the Airbus

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CATIA

http://www.mathworks.com/
              Matrix based - boom stuff yahsoh!
              https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MATHLAB

http://www.ptc.com/community/landing/wf3.htm
              Competes with Mathworks
              http://www.ptc.com/product/creo/parametric
              https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creo_Elements/Pro

http://www.mscsoftware.com/universit...an_nastran.cfm
              http://www.mscsoftware.com/
              Used in industry
              Nice info....but Solid Works is not a Siemens product...Solid Edge is.

Are you ready for the PayPal link so you can contribute to bringing the yutes up to date?
              Last edited by Don1; April 7, 2012, 05:23 PM.

Chue dat. Solid Works is Dassault.

However there is more than one way to skin a cat. Where there is a will, there is a way. I do not suggest the youths go pirate the software of course.

There are expensive versions, trials versions, student versions etc. After all JA is the land of versions - when it comes to music.

Just get computer and internet access to all the youths in Ja and you will see. They will figure it out.

Ok... but mi notice seh yuh ignore mi query...ar is miss yuh miss it?

Suh yuh ready fi jine di revolution... ow much yuh agguh trow inna di pot?

Ar is bayh trow word yuh deal wid

Ok... but mi notice seh yuh ignore mi query...ar is miss yuh miss it?

Suh yuh ready fi jine di revolution... ow much yuh agguh trow inna di pot?

Ar is bayh trow word yuh deal wid

Hear me now, Bhass.

Not into tracing but i have to say, being a Don, i imagine collecting might be the only way for you forward.

Which revolution?

The Industrial one long left us in the dust?(maybe can get away with blaming colonialism)

Technological one - looking slim to not at all.

At last sight Slim was saddling up to leave town.

From 2007-08, i was out of work for nearly a year. On a career change, woman screwed out of me out of a job after 3 years as a temp and so I have to go back to college to improve my job prospects as i feel i can do better than the one i have now. Compliance told me i can come back. When they this woman, if they haven't already, she won't be able to.

This college where i am registered, student programs use some of those products because these are industry standards. Some of these software products have students versions, student licenses, demos, etc.

For example, I get the Mathworks software, demonstrations, simulations, customer support as well as online conferences for questions and general discussions for $100USD(one hundred) per year as long as i am registered as a student at an institution that uses their product.

I imagine it would be the same for students of UWI, UTECH, NCU or any other institution of higher learning in Jamaica that uses Mathworks product in their academic program.

How much were you looking to collect off this information?

What good has come of all the collecting that has been going on for generations in Jamaica, including legal tribute(taxes).

I do not join throw pots, paht nah, Cash Plus or any scheme that involves collecting cash where Jamaica is concerned. Cashless society coming near you soon.

It has been reported that the South Koreans are to build an estimated $300
                    million LNG plant in Jamaica. Wonder what software they used to design it, to do simulations factoring earthquake, hurricane, temperature, etc?

Would it not be better to have a closer look at the technical backgrounds of South Koreans, Japanese, Chinese, Germans etc. to see how we can get to that level, rather than collecting 'food for the pot'.

No extra cash would be needed because the people who would be doing these type of studies are already getting paid, they would just now need to work for it.

Successive Jamaican governments have done little to improve the education standard for all Jamaicans. This is the problem. You need a base to build on. For example, there are many adult Jamaicans(and many Americans too) who do not know the difference between their and there or your and you're.

How much was spent on hosting cricket World Cup? How was this money collected and spent? Which investment would have reaped more rewards?

An investment in education or the investment hosting cricket matches?

Where does the money come form to buy so many guns and ammunition? More cash in that source than me.

No extra collection needed. Just use the gain from cutting out corruption ie. private(not paying taxes for example), individual as well the government.

Cash is like doodooh in Jamaica. And where there is brown stuff there will be flies.

No more time for this. Homework calls plus test tomorrow. 7 day week, called out today to prepare. 5 hw problems Finite element analysis problems, one is a 10 member truss(one course, full time work, full time student). Professor wants hand Matrix assembly confirmed using Castigliano's Theorem and a Mathlab script reconfirming for each of the five. I am not 25 anymore but here there is a will, there is a way.

My original post contains useful information which is free for all viewer to take upon and/or pass along.
                    Last edited by World Fan; April 8, 2012, 10:29 PM.

Interesting ...in a very, very confused sort of way ...yuh familiar wid Jawge?
                      Last edited by Don1; April 9, 2012, 01:27 PM.

lol.........same thing I was wondering too.....
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Definitely cut from the Jawgian mold. lol!

lol

When all else fails...

Simply put, i threw quite a bit of information.

You must now manipulate it.