• Police are finally fighting Tivoli propaganda

'We are doing it for the country'
    BY KARYL WALKER Online News Editor walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, June 01, 2010

THE police were adamant yesterday that the ongoing operation in Tivoli Gardens, West Kingston, is absolutely necessary for the country to advance and regain lost respectability.

Commissioner of Police Owen Ellington, who spoke candidly with reporters and editors at the Observer's weekly Monday Exchange, said the security forces who are now on the ground, are committed to the country's well-being and should be hailed as patriots.

Police Commissioner Owen Ellington (left), and Assistant Commissioner of Police Glenmore Hinds address Observer editors and reporters at a special Observer Monday Exchange at the commissioner’s office on Old Hope Road in Kingston, yesterday. (Photo: Michael Gordon)

"We are not doing it for ourselves we are doing for the country. This is a fight for governability it is not just simply a police operation which we are executing. We believe that we had to re-establish the primacy of the State and the rule of law in Jamaica that no individual or sympathisers should believe that anybody can exist in this space outside of the reach of the law," he said.

Seventy-three persons were killed after a joint police/military team overpowered a band of thugs, who had vowed to defend Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke and prevent the State from arresting the man some described as 'next to God'.

Three members of the security forces were also killed during the operation.

So far, 40 illegal weapons and more than 9,200 rounds of assorted ammunition have been recovered by the security forces.

According to Ellington, criminal elements had convinced themselves that the community where Coke was headquartered was a haven for them.

"One of the things that we had to put down was the perception that criminals could commit crimes in Jamaica and elsewhere and then take up refuge in Tivoli Gardens because that community was outside of the reach of the law," Ellington said. "The control that we have over the community, it is deliberate, it is necessary if we are to disarm the community."

Ellington, who praised the professionalism of the security forces who are taking part in the operation, said the police and soldiers had not seen their loved ones since the offensive was launched last week Monday.

He vowed that Tivoli Gardens would never again be allowed to gain the notoriety of being above the law.

"We have had situations where criminals on the run, multiple murderers, have taken up refuge in Tivoli Gardens. It provides that kind of refuge.

There are people who suspect that they are likely to be extradited [and] the first thing that they do is to go into Tivoli Gardens," he said.

"Tivoli Gardens gunmen can kill people anywhere and just go home and stay home and it is always a major challenge for the security forces to go in there and effect an arrest," Ellington added.
    Last edited by Karl; June 1, 2010, 12:02 PM.

Cops confident ongoing search will turn up more guns, ammo in Tivoli
    BY COREY ROBINSON Observer staff reporter robinsonc@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, June 01, 2010

POLICE Commissioner Owen Ellington has asked for patience as members of the security forces continue their search for illegal weapons in the West Kingston community of Tivoli Gardens.

Seventy-three civilians were killed in and around the community as police and soldiers engaged armed thugs who were trying to prevent the arrest of alleged drug don Christopher 'Dudus' Coke. Two policemen and a soldier were also killed in the operation.

Initial police reports that only four guns were seized during the operation sparked concern among Jamaicans, including Public Defender Earl Witter, about the disparity between the number of deaths and illegal firearms seized.

"First we did the primary search, which was to clear the environment and to detain people... and then we are now doing the secondary searches, which are a bit more detailed, for weapons and evidence," said Ellington, during yesterday's special Monday Exchange at his office on Old Hope Road in Kingston.

"The secondary searches are turning out the weapons; two days ago we had over 12 weapons being found and yesterday I think we found an additional seven. We will find more as we move along," he said.

Up to yesterday afternoon, the police said they had recovered a total of 40 firearms and more than 9,200 rounds of assorted ammunition. The latest discovery, Ellington said, was made among debris in garbage trucks leaving the Tivoli Gardens community.

In addition, he said many of the thugs who were shooting at members of the security forces were hit from "distances of over 300 yards".

"If a man is firing a rifle and he is taken out by snipers there is no way that the sniper can go and retrieve his firearm. It would be unwise, unsafe and downright irresponsible for him to attempt to do that," Ellington said.
    In such cases, he said, residents would have had ample time to retrieve weapons from slain gunmen.

"With time, we can find the weapons, we can find the individuals and we can disarm the community. We can't assure security and stability unless we are able to remove the killing capacity from it," he said.

Meanwhile, Ellington said he was doubtful whether or not all the bodies recovered in West Kingston were of persons killed during the security forces' operation.

"Because of the advanced state of decomposition of some bodies, we suspect that they may have been killed prior to [the operation]," he said.
    "We have intelligence that some people were killed when they attempted to leave the community, and we also have information that some people were killed because they refused to allow criminals to occupy their homes.

But that is to be determined," he said.
    Last edited by Karl; June 1, 2010, 12:05 PM.

Heh, heh there are no guns and no crime in Tivoli. Stop demoni..... oh sorry wrong decade. Gwan security forces do you ting destroy that criminal enclave. with Bruce's enlightened leadership we shall prevail.

well said.

but no need to murder people!

The security forces should continue to make frequent public statements about the status of the operation.

The PR battle is extremely important to keep the public support going, as some termites and thier supporters will fight to keep the Old Ordah in place.

The security forces should continue to make frequent public statements about the status of the operation.

The PR battle is extremely important to keep the public support going, as some termites and thier supporters will fight to keep the Old Ordah in place.
              The termite label seems already assigned to PNP loyalists..... those of the JLP variety may be regarded as chichi...or is dat chigga..mi figget

but no need to murder people!
                yeh fi real, mek di shotta dem live fi kill another day.

A necessity in the grand scheme of winning the war. Many more NEED to die, and not just in Tivoli. The security forces need to proceed with a campaign of SHOCK & AWE into the other garrisons. I have been advocating for this movement for the longest while. There is no other solution to rid Jamaica from this scourge other than extreme and complete show of force. There is no other country in the world (that I know of), outside of a war, where criminals have such a lack of disrespect and a lack of fear for the law. They are past being brazen. Only in Jamaica do you see police stations closing their door at dusk for fear of an attack.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

a necessity is to murder people?!?! people will die, yes, but our security forces should now MURDER PEOPLE??!!

maybe we need a few more uptown people fi dead too!

Huh ? Ok, lets not get

profound now.

Wheh yuh waan bring down pon Uptown people ?

If you no involve inna nothing you have nothing to worry about. If you are stay right whe you de dem soon come check you. Push come to shove you can always tell dem say you support the grand chessmaster. That might get you with a box and kick.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
                          Up to yesterday afternoon, the police said they had recovered a total of 40 firearms and more than 9,200 rounds of assorted ammunition. The latest discovery, Ellington said, was made among debris in garbage trucks leaving the Tivoli Gardens community.....
                          So all now they are still trying to smuggle the weapons out of the community. And Seaga wanted the security forces to "let [his] people go."...they should probably search Seaga's house for weapons not registered to Mr. Seaga himself...

"Murder"? It depends on which side you are on. Aren't these criminals murdering our security forces? Who is defending our secruity forces? Who is blocking roads for them? Don't they have families too?
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

murder? What murder?

Anybody picking up a gun and aiming it in the general direction of the security forces wasn't murdered but committed suicide.

Up to now I don't know how the Clarke family wasn't in the room but could be 100% sure that Clarke never fired a shot and that if the ballistics prove otherwise is police shenanigans. As for those 70-odd down in Tivoli, we all saw the videos and pictures of those men with guns. At least some of the 70-odd must have been shooting at the police and soldiers and if they didn't want to be shot, why pick up a gun and go outside to challenge the security forces?