• Opposition questions Gov't on extradition requests

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

THE Opposition People's National Party yesterday upped the pressure on the Jamaica Labour Party administration to answer its questions on its handling of extradition requests, giving the Government 21 days to make a response to the Parliament.

Phillips... called on Golding to 'indicate how many persons have been extradited from Jamaica between September 2007 and the present'
    The move is an apparent attempt to corner the administration after several manoeuvres to get it to respond to calls to release Tivoli Gardens strongman Christopher 'Dudus' Coke to the United States failed.

Coke is wanted in the US on charges of smuggling narcotics into that country and conspiring to export guns to Jamaica. The American government has requested his extradition for trial.

Member of Parliament for East Central St Andrew Dr Peter Phillips tabled the questions, which, though generally phrased and made no attempts to name Coke, would require the Government to frame a response with information on that particular extradition request.

The questions, which were not read into the records of the House yesterday, called on Golding - who is member of Parliament for West Kingston, in which Tivoli Gardens is located - to "indicate how many persons have been extradited from Jamaica between September 2007 (when it took office) and the present, and for what offences".

They further asked that the prime minister "indicate the period of time that elapsed between the receipt of the request and the issuance of the extradition warrant".

Furthermore, Golding was called upon to indicate how many extradition requests have been received since August 2009 (the time Coke's extradition request was made) and November 2009 and also to say the action taken in relation to each.

The prime minister is also expected to say whether he considered it beneficial that Jamaica maintains extradition treaties and mutual legal assistance treaties with international partners in order to effectively combat organised crime.
    Last edited by Karl; November 18, 2009, 11:15 AM.

Why is the gov't dragging its feet on this issue? Dudus should at least be taken into custody already.

dem have EVERY right!!!

why yuh acting so naive!?

i think he knows why, he is asking WHY?!!!

ok!

Here is the dirty likkle secret no one wants to talk about.

First Dudas, then SkengD and then Danhai and then...

Unno can gwaan like seh the Labourite and Socialist druggists dem are not in cahoots now! Dem travel in one Accord now. PNP have waaay more garrisons than JLP, even if Tivoli is the "mother", so they have as much if not more wood in the fire. The place set to explode and hell and powderhouse downtown is a distinct possibility!!! This is NOT in Jamaica's interest, so the JLP and PNP better get their act together on this one.

IMF money is held hostage to the withheld extradition. JAMAICA is held hostage to the fulfillment of the extradition request.

Between the devil and the deep blue sea...Scilla and Karybdis (sp?).

why yuh haffi implicate Honda inna dis dirty mess?!!

Yuh didnt know that Jesus owned a Honda?

It is the the bible.

It says that he and his disciples travelled in ONE ACCORD! LoL
                  Last edited by Willi; November 18, 2009, 10:49 AM.

dat mek it wuss!!!

Dem a try follow Jesus in all but deeds. Sigh...

matters not how many garrisons the PNP has, the response from any one of them cannot be compared to the response of a Tivoli. not even close! even if they all respond AT THE SAME TIME, they are not nearly as unified, in one honda, as a tivoli. their uprising could easily be squashed, well, at least relatively, by the security forces.

anyway, useless discussion. all the garrisons need to be dismantled, and the Prime Minister needs to take the lead on this. He had so much to say when he was in the NDP, let's see some action now!

well here we are comparing garrisons. the good ones and the bad ones...as my 2 yrear old would say.."what th..."

just needed to set the record straight. you would be silly if you don't realise there is a difference between them. it could cost you your life! then perhaps you could say, wtf didn't someone tell me!?

the way i see it your life could be forfeit in any of them after all, is a garrison.

anyway...if it cost me my life, i really can't see myself saying wtf, in fact i doubt that i would be saying anything.