• Czech Republic seeks to build relations with Ja

Czech Republic seeks to build relations with Ja
    Ambassador says the island is very popular in Eastern European country
    By Ingrid Brown
    Sunday, February 08, 2009
    The appointment of James Joseph as honorary consul for the Czech Republic in Jamaica and last week's official opening of the consul office on King street in downtown, has signified what it is hoped can be improved relations between both countries.
    Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Czech Republic, Stanislav Slavicky said he will be extending an invitation to meet with foreign affairs minister Kenneth Baugh, Governor General Professor Sir Kenneth Hall and Prime Minister Bruce Golding as he seeks to build relations with both countries.
    James Joseph (left) receives the official documentation from Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Czech Republic, Stanislav Slavicky, making him honorary consul for the Czech Republic in Jamaica while Ing Pavel Stiegler, consul in the embassy of the Czech Republic , Caracas, looks on during the official opening of the consul office at 93 King Street in downtown Kingston.
    Tourism is also expected to feature significantly in this improved relations as Slavicky said many of their nationals are open to vacationing in Jamaica and given that airlift is not a problem this could happen sooner than later.
    He also announced that they are looking at the possibility of establishing a partnership with students from both countries as they seek to forge the link between education, culture and tourism.
    "Jamaica is very popular in my country especially for reggae music and Usain Bolt who the young people just love," the ambassador told Sunday Finance shortly before the official opening of the office last week Monday.
    He said they already have a sizeable reggae market in that country and have granted visas to at least one reggae group to travel there to perform on more than one occasion.
    In the meantime the ambassador said they currently participate in a research programme where geologists from the Czech Republic will be researching industrial minerals in Jamaica and the wider Caribbean with the possibility for export and manufacturing.
    Although the Czech Republic ambassador does not have a residence in Jamaica as their affairs are dealt with through the Belgian embassy, Slavicky said he intends to visit Jamaica quite often now that building relations has become a priority.
    Meanwhile, Joseph, the new honorary consul said when he first visited Czech Republic to interview for the position of honorary consul he was impressed at the pride they have in their cities which attracts tens of thousands of tourists each year.
    As a result he said the decision was taken to establish the consul office in downtown which it is hoped will be returned to its former glory once the area is further developed.
    "I wanted the office to be opened here in Downtown as it was reminiscent of my experience in Prague ( the capital and largest city of the Czech Republic) which is over a 100 years old and because we hope to uplift downtown," said Joseph who has operated the Joseph clothing store along King Street for over 20 years.
    Ing Pavel Stiegler consul in the embassy of the Czech Republic, Caracas, told Sunday Finance that Joseph's main responsibility will be the promotion of mutual relations between Jamaica and Czech Republic, as well as to assist any Czech nationals in the island who may have a need.
    Joseph said he will be planning a Czech day as one of his first assignments to increase awareness among Jamaicans about this country.

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

can you change this to the right forum for me please mr. moderator

Good post Sass. Another reason why I depend on this forum for news that I may have missed.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Blackman a run from downtown but whiteman and Chinese have no problem moving downtown. If them ever build that Caymanas freeport we soon can't go back down there.

Another thing is while AirJ is been cut, if we play our cards right and reach out to different part of the world and provide access to Ja we can double our tourism within the next 5 years.

One of the biggest myth being permeated about tourism is that all visitors (which are tourists) want the sun, sand and sea. Living in NY I always wonder what's the draw that Manhattan (which literally sees millions of visitors each year) has for visitors. Dirty (in every sense of the word) place like Washington DC also sees millions of visitors each year. What do they have to offer?
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

not to mention how violent Manhattan/Harlem was, how violent DC and Philli and LA are yet they have carved out niche areas for tourists.

Yes we think all the people want is sand and sea, some people want a lot more, like shopping, casino and some good music etc.

Blackman a run from downtown but whiteman and Chinese have no problem moving downtown. If them ever build that Caymanas freeport we soon can't go back down there.

Another thing is while AirJ is been cut, if we play our cards right and reach out to different part of the world and provide access to Ja we can double our tourism within the next 5 years.
              Assasin for Min. of Tourism.