• Floridians link Obama with Manley socialism

Floridians link Obama with Manley socialism
    published: Wednesday | November 5, 2008

Janet Silvera, Senior Gleaner Writer

Miami, Florida:
    Jamaican Republicans in Florida are equating United States President-elect Barack Obama's redistribution of wealth by the hands of government to policies of the late Michael Manley, former prime minister of Jamaica.

"I am looking at the US economic systems through the lens of a capitalist, versus some of Obama's policies which tend to reflect some elements of socialism," Levi Williams, general counsel for the Broward Repu-blican executive committee, told The Gleaner.

Floridians link Obama with Manley socialism

Mr. Williams is on the Broward Republican executive committee. Did he hear Obama talking about Socialism?

I do admit, terms used to describe Obama was to close to the words used to describe Mr. Manley.

Socialism - so we'll be taking FIVE flights a day

to where????

With the history of race baiting politics from Republicans, it is perplexing that black people continue to be members of that party.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          With the history of race baiting politics from Republicans, it is perplexing that black people continue to be members of that party.
          Why? Maybe more black people joining the GOP may help the reduction of race baiting.

The GOP can afford to ignore black people, since 90% of blacks generally vote for the Democrats. I am not sure the GOP would be receptive to thousands of black people joining dem ranks, and many of us would not feel comfortable at all with dem.

I'm told that eons ago the Republican party was more

favorable to blacks than the dems were; so if that is correct, then it's a shift. This was told to me by African Americans.

Hortical get serious. We are talking about a political party not a marriage into a family.

If you follow your line of thinking, then since many blacks, and especially those from the Carribbean are not comortable with homosexuals, then they should not be comfortable in a party that homosexuals support and that supports homosexual causes strongly.

This is outrageous. Here we have more than ideological creeping; we have a steep and slippery slope of demagoguery, coupled with ignorance. This whole concept of redistribution of wealth is overblown by cunning people to ensnare the gullible idealogue idiots. Obama wants to roll back the Bush tax cuts so that the wealthy will pay at the reduced Ronald Reagan set levels. Will they also call Reagan a Manley style socialist? It is so amazing that these Republican wannabees allow themselves to be so ensnared by the Rogue-style razzle dazzle and move from labeling people as liberal, to left-leaning, to leftist, to socialist, to marxist. Chances are these folks dont make the kind of money that would matter in either tax scario but they are duped into carrying the flag for the absolute unconscientiable filthy-greedy-rich.

To compare joining the Republican party to joining a groups that may include homosexuals is plain is off base. There are gays in all walks of life, and most of us would not even know that an individual around us is gay.

It looks like you have been asleep and have not seen personal attack ads by republicans over the years that have used race as a wedge issue, and there are FEW blacks who would join a party where race baiting is common. 10% of blacks tend to vote republican, and that will not change anytime soon.

You are right. Abe Lincoln was a Republican. In the 1950's and 1960's, southern whites started to flee the democratic party and headed for the republican party. The height of this was during LBJ's presidency because they were angry that a white southern president would do so much for civil rights.

Westman, I would disagree somewhat with you. My main issue with Obamas tax plan is not the rolling back of the Bush tax cuts (by the way it is to the Clinton levels, Reagan left the levels lower than where Bush has them today) , but rather the step he wants to take further than that to use tax credits to distribute government money.

I believe that everyone who earns income should pay some income taxes, even if it is at a rate so low that it is more symbolic than anything else. To have the system as it is now where the bottom 40% of income earners pay zero income taxes simply doesn't make sense to me and maybe even results in them not caring much how govt spends the tax they collect.

I wish someone had a workable plan that involved simplification of the tax rules and closing the many loopholes. That and some control in govt waste would go a long way in reducing everybodys taxes.

give me a break islandman, yo nuh si di obvious race baiting by the GOP? Southern strategy, talk radio, Fox noise, black voter guaging, black voter intimidation, etc?
                          Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                          Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll:

Of course I see the obvious race baiting by SOME GOP candidates.

I also see Republican candidates I could vote for all the time, and Democrats that I would never vote for.

Not every election is a presidential race boss.

Islandman, the biggest distribution of welath took place under Reagan and Bush. under reagan the top 1% had 7%, under Bush the top !% got 20%. Isn't meidcare and social security considered socialism? isn't farm & oil subsidies socialism? get it in your head islandman, the tax system is based on distribuition of ewalth. You keep repeating these wacko right wing talking points, the 40% arguement is similar to them saying everybody is insured because everybody gets emergency care.
                              Karl commenting on Maschaeroni's sending off, "Getting sent off like that is anti-TEAM!
                              Terrible decision by the player!":busshead::Laugh&roll::Laugh&roll::eek::La ugh&roll: