• Olint shut down

Olint raided - Authorities shut down offices in Turks and Caicos, Miami
    published: Wednesday | July 16, 2008

Smith
    A joint team of United States and Turks and Caicos law enforcement officers reportedly raided the offices of multibillion-dollar investment club Olint [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Corporation[/COLOR][/COLOR] on those islands yesterday.
    The Gleaner learnt yesterday that Olint's offices in Miami, Florida, were also ordered closed by the US authorities who removed [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]computers[/COLOR][/COLOR] and files from both locations.
    Documents belonging to Olint's principal, David Smith, were also taken from his home.
    A source close to the case told The Gleaner that Smith's [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]assets[/COLOR][/COLOR] had also been frozen by the authorities in Turks and Caicos.
    A close friend of Smith said he was not in Turks and Caicos when the authorities arrived there.
    "He got wind that they were going there, so he wasn't there when they arrived," the friend said.
    The friend said that, in addition to Smith facing pressure from the US government, the Olint head's mother had been receiving bomb threats in the last week.
    Minister of Finance and the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Public [COLOR=orange! important]Service[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], Audley Shaw declined to say anything about the reports coming out of Turks and Caicos last night.
    "I'm not going to comment at this stage because it is an operation in another island that I have no information about," Shaw said.
    On Monday, Olint advised its investors here that its New Kingston offices would be closed to the public until further notice.
    Problems
    The source claimed Olint's most recent problems started two weeks ago when it sought to wire US$200 million through a prominent Jamaican bank. The bank reported the suspicious activity to the authorities and an investigation followed.
    Olint has been facing a string of legal problems since 2006 when the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Financial [COLOR=orange! important]Services[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] Commission (FSC) served a cease-and-desist order on the entity. On November 3, 2006, the court granted a stay of execution of the commission's cease-and-desist order until March 26 last year when the appeals ofOlint and LewFam would be heard by the court. It was also ordered that there should be no increase in the membership of Olint until the appeal was heard.
    On December 24, the FSC was vindicated when the court held that the operations of Olint were in breach of the provisions of the Securities Act. This through its dealing in securities and engaging in the participation of a profit-sharing agreement, issuing investment contracts, and providing advice to potential investors without the required licences and registration.
    The court held that LewFam was in breach of the Securities Act in performing the functions of a dealer's representative or investment adviser's representative without the required registration under the Securities Act.
    Cease-and-desist
    The court also found that the commission's issuance of the cease-and-desist order was correct and directed that the stay of execution of the order was ended.
    While the authorities awaited the decision of the court, Olint carried its operations off-shore and outside the immediate jurisdiction of the Jamaican authorities.
    Olint appealed the ruling of the Supreme Court and was granted a stay of execution until the appeal was heard in February this year.
    In May, the National Com-mercial Bank was also barred from closing three Olint accounts until an appeal was also heard. Last month, Smith was named in an investigation of another company by a US-based indepen-dent regulatory body for suspicious activity. Smith was named as principal of the company and was alleged to have contributed close to 100 per cent of its capital.

More Lead Stories

E-mail this story

Print this Page

Letters to the Editor

Most Popular Stories

addthis_url = location.href; addthis_title = document.title; addthis_pub = 'gleaneronline';

So is he a wanted man? The article doesn't give a clear picture of what Smith's status is with respect to the law.

pr

Maudib, what is your take on this? I thought Olint was untouchable!?!

i read an article which said that he was free to come and go as he pleased...only that some of his assets were frozen.

What do you mean by untouchable ???

Yuh have Comrade Errol Ennis numbah ?

"David Smith, may God continue to shower many blessings on you and Olint. We the children of a lesser god depend on you to help us get rich.

David Smith, don't stop at all..."

Di pickney of a Greater God mussi ah get bummy...

Blackman life hard baba...

It certainly looks like the house of cards is tumbling down... does the name Ponzi ring a bell?

It really is a sad situation for many who threw their life savings into this "investment club".

My heart goes out to those affected...but some of you cyaan seh you weren't warned. First cash Plus, now this.

Sad thing is I see billboards and one page ads in T&T pushing this Forex trading stuff...ahhhh bwooyyy.

My OLINT member correspondence says he is still free to do business but they are freezing funds all bout so him nuh have nuttin fi do business wit. Can anybody direct me to the nearest window? On another note it's funny how those that said OLINT is a scam now have to admit that it was involved in only FOREX trading and nothing else. Leggo mi money mek di man do him ting.

It certainly looks like the house of cards is tumbling down... does the name Ponzi ring a bell?
                How you figure that? What I take out of all of this is that OLINT is in the business of FOREX trading as they are going after him for possible money laundering.

Maudib, what is your take on this? I thought Olint was untouchable!?!
                  Why did you have to call him out on this?
                  The guy was clearly trying to weasel his way out of commenting on this inevitable (to me) destruction of this sophisticated house of cards aka the Olint pyramid.

You just had to spoil it didn't you.

Caveat emptor..or sumting so.

sophisticated house of cards aka the Olint pyramid.
                      What brought you to that conclusion? He is being investigated for possible money laundering in relation to the funds he uses to trade. Where yuh get pyramid scheme outta that?

Yeah man I knew that going in I only had a smalls in there anyway. Well it was a smalls when it started it aint so small now.

More like Ponzi, rather than pyramid. there is a difference.

pr

Ok, the Ponzi comment is speculation based upon lets say gut feel coupled with advice given me by people I have some faith in. But you know the walk, talk, like a duck etc.

Now don't get me wrong, if you have play money, go right ahead...the sad part is that people have mortgaged their houses or sold out in order to invest in Olint.

That is a problem as the folks are not getting proper advice about the risk they're taking. That is also one of the reasons they are after him. Securities trading without a licence... he could call it what he wants, that is what he is doing. And why are they going after him for possible money laundering? He will have to answer for that.

Are you suggesting a conspiracy against Olint?

I sincerely hope though that he gets out of this relatively unscathed primarily for his family who have been caught up in something they probably know little about (technically), and that he will be able to satisfy many worried investors. He seems a very smart guy who will probably make a lot of money once he lands on his feet.

What brought you to that conclusion? He is being investigated for possible money laundering in relation to the funds he uses to trade. Where yuh get pyramid scheme outta that?
                              if it walks like a duck, smells like a duck and quacks like a duck..... it's most probably a duck.

I don't know the guy or have specific details of the inner workings of his schemes which enabled the unrealistic returns to depositors(maybe you do.. but be careful of subpoenas).
                              Whatever his game was... whether ponzi schemes, money laundering ... if he is guilty of financial misconduct.... it's just part of a sleazy continuum of fraud which was bound to be unraveled.

I'm not too interested in parsing words or clintonesque obfuscation.