Brokers protest changes at Customs Dept

• Brokers protest changes at Customs Dept

Customs Brokers who operate from the Department in Kingston Monday morning demonstrated against changes implemented by new Commissioner of Customs, Danville Walker.

The brokers became restive when they turned up to find the changes had been implemented without consultation with them.
    President of the Customs Brokers Association of Jamaica Christopher Kennedy said the changes caused a slow down in operations as brokers were dislocated from the area in which they usually operated and were prevented from accessing other sections of the department.
    He said a meeting has since been held with Mr. Walker to address their concerns.

"We made some representation and the Commissioner came over, apologised and addresses us and has given us the assurance that he's going to put in the necessary infrastructure to accommodate us tomorrow," he said.
    Since his appointment, Mr. Walker has been mandated to improve revenue collection, border control and import/export procedures within the department.

Changes are to maintain integrity - Walker
    Mr. Walker said the operational changes are part of a new policy to restrict interaction between the public and Custom Officers.
    He said the changes have been implemented to maintain the integrity of operations at the Department.

"Customs Brokers have to interface with Customs Officers but they cannot interface with the particular officer who is working on their document.
    We want a system where when you hand in your documents, officers work on it and if you have a query, senior officers' work on it but, you should not be dealing with the officer who has classified the goods or if you have an issue with the classification.

To affect that, we redesigned the entrance to the custom house by blocking off certain areas so that the general public cannot go into the custom house and wander around and go into sensitive areas of customs," said Mr. Walker.

Car dealers complain about customs slow down

There are howls of protest coming from car importers following personnel changes at the Customs Department.
    The Jamaica Used Car Dealers Association is complaining that the transfer of personnel from the Valuation Department has resulted in a slowing down in the processing of transactions
    President of the Association, Kenneth Shaw, said some dealers have been experiencing lengthy delays in getting the necessary approvals.
    Mr. Shaw said this is having a negative impact on members who are forced to pay additional storage fees.

He said an attempt will be made today to get a meeting with officials at the Customs Department to discuss the matter.
    "I have heard stories of people waiting two weeks to get a valuation so this is a serious crisis that is developing and I figure customs would have to do something about it and I will enter into discussions with them tomorrow morning to see where we can go because this is counter productive," said Mr. Shaw.

"The deputy officer for valuation assured us that they were working overtime and on weekends to try and clear the backlog but enough is not being done so they may have to allocate more staff to that area," he said.
    Last Friday eight Customs officers were sent on leave in the wake of corruption allegations.

an educated guess tells me this shows how rampant corruption is......

couldn't you complain if you a fi pay more fi import your car too?

The private sector free ride seems to be over.

what started out as probably pay a man fi put the thing through faster i.e. put it on top of the file, has mutated into a cottage industry.....

i experienced it firsthand while working in JA...i need some info on a mv and had hell to get it, i went down and likkle girl si mi and mussi like mi and mi get it in birdspeed but guess what shi CALL mi at mi office fi tek har out!! no lie....

and...?

Di people dem say dem doan want no DUAL CITIZEN COMMISSIONER.

Fools! He needs to start issuing some termination letters to some, if not all, of the demonstrators.

Di people dem say dem doan want no DUAL CITIZEN COMMISSIONER.

Fools! He needs to start issuing some termination letters to some, if not all, of the demonstrators.
                Wait ... when I made the same suggestion about the JUTC you asked if I was serious. Now ... are you serious?

mo?!!!!

yeah man "a suh tings run".

The fact is it would be easier if everbody pay and the government reduce the tax, but everybody get a "bligh" and government stuck with the bill.

what?

you get the thing at reduce price and offer something else fi free

bwoy you lucky nuh rhatid.

what?

gwaan play deaf

heh heh!