• What's Wrong with This Article?

Burton hat-trick highlights race meet
    published: Saturday | March 29, 2008

Glenroy Sinclair, Assignment Coordinator
    Jamaica's Deon Burton (right) bends after losing his footing in a challenge with Trinidad and Tobago full back Aklie Edwards during their friendly international at the National Stadium on Wednesday. The match ended in a 2-2 draw.

After taking a break for almost a year to rebuild his racing machine, Tedroy 'Teddy' Burton returned to the Dover Raceway with a bang on Easter Monday.
    Driving like a man possessed in his Honda Civic, the St Elizabeth-based driver registered a hat-trick of wins. He won one race in the Improved Production Class and a double in the Modified Production Class.
    "The [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]car[/COLOR][/COLOR] mad again, it running really good," said a smiling Burton, who was surrounded by a group of fans in the pit area.
    Leading the pack for most part of the events, the tall, strongly built businessman easily disposed of his rivals.
    non-stop excitement
    Although he only had one win for the day, Jamaica and the Caribbean champion, Doug Gore, in his [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]Mitsubishi [COLOR=orange ! important]Evolution[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] 5, provided non-stop excitement for the over 4,000 spectators who turned out for the meet.
    Competing in the Modified Production Class Three category, Gore assumed the lead on the first lap, overtaking Peter Rae. He held that position to register a comfortable win.
    Later on in the afternoon his vehicle developed mechanical problems and that prevented him from winning more races.
    Gore said something broke in the engine and as a result there was a leakage of gas and that started a minor fire in the car.
    Another driver who entertained the crowd was the consistent Peter 'Bull' Thompson.
    Cheered on by thousands, Thompson took on the opposition with his RX7 Mazda spitting huge balls of fire from the rotary engine. And although he did not win a race, he gave an awesome performance.
    The meet was officially opened by Minister of Transport, Mike Henry, who announced that his ministry will be contributing much-needed money for the building of a pedestrian bridge over the track to allow spectator access to the infield during races.

Improved production Race 1 resultsRace 1
    1. Tedroy Burton
    2. Stephen Bansie
    3. Guy Fraser
    Race 2
    1. Peter Jaggon
    2. Gary Barrett
    3. Lisa Bowman-Lee
    Race 3
    [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]MP3[/COLOR][/COLOR] race 1 results
    1. Douglas Gore
    2. Peter Rae
    3. David Summerbell
    Modified Production 1 & 2 race 1
    1. Teddy Burton
    2 Peter Jaggon
    3 Sebastian Rae
    IP45 Race 1 results
    1 Donovan Senior
    2 Carlton Thompson
    3 Charles Maxwell
    Thudersport Race 1 Results
    1 Mathew Gore
    2 Greg Mahfood
    3 David Summerbell DNF
    IP race 2 results
    1 Gary Williams
    2 Stephen Bansie
    1 Peter Jaggon
    2 Gary Barrett
    3 Heath Causwell
    IP 45 race 2 results
    1 Donovan Senior
    [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]Honda [COLOR=orange ! important]Integra[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]
    2 Orville Barnes
    Nissan Sunny
    3 Kareem Campbell
    Nissan Pulsar
    Modified production & Thundersport Race 2 results
    1 Gary Williams
    2 Peter Rae
    1 Teddy Burton
    2 Peter Jaggon
    3 Sebastian Rae

Since mi stop following and clean up after unuh, mi cudden read di article. The formatting makes it difficult to read. I suspect however that they put Deon Burton's picture in a motor racing article. You can expect things like from the Gleaner.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tis firefox web browser, and mek this forum compatible wid it nuh.

It is not the browser. When you copy articles from the Gleaner, you have to g back and clean up all those words which had those hyperlinks in the article. Otherwise, it just turns out to be a formatting mess. It happens with whichever browser you use with Gleaner articles. I think the articles from the Star (a Gleaner owned company) is similar too.

Here is a way to do it. If you put the article there and it shows these formatting, you have to go back and remove the formatting and put the word there which was in the original article. An easy way I go about this if the article has a lot of the links is to copy the entire article (except pictures) then paste it into NotePad or some other text editor. This removes all the formatting. You then copy fthe article from NotePad and paste to the forum and you will be fine. You then copy and paste the picture after you get the text formatting right.

I used to go in and clean up these articles, but I realized that people come to expect it so I have stopped. I have asked (whats up Sass) that if some people cannot take the time to remove the formatitng from those articles, then do not post it and let someone else eho will do the posting.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Another thing you could do Horti is this. When you copy and paste the article into the message box for posting, the text appears perfect and shows words with hyperlinks. It would be easier to remove those hyperlink words at that time before you do anything else. At that point you will see the hyperlinked text, before you do anything else, go through the article and delete those words then write them back in. Once you submit after that it will be fine.

I think that is the best place to do it as once you do anything else, even if you hit preview, the formatting goes crazy. I do not know why this only happens to articles from the Gleaner and Star as articles from other sites with these hyperlinked advertising text are accepted just fine by the forum.

Alright sah....mi will use notepad prior to posting.

Remember, it apply to only Gleaner and The Star articles.