Am I reading correctly?

• Am I reading correctly?

How can a major public hospital, with the magnitude and importance of the KPH/VJH, be in such shambles that they are without a simple basic machine? And this, accordingto reports, results in the cancellations of numerous surgeries!

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...E_HOSPITAL.asp

By my research, an autoclave machine can be obtained at prices ranging from US$2,500 to US$12,000. But even the ones at the lower end of the price spectrum are useful, functional, do the jobs, are affordable and are attainable. Indeed, the one we use at my workplace to keep compounding utensils aseptically clean is probably the cheapest on the market and it does a whale-of-a-job. It's hard to believe that a large institution such as the KPH (inspite of the fact that it's a government-funded hospital) cannot afford to have one or several fully functional autoclaves.

Maybe the call should go out to all the medical personnels overseas, who received their initial training at the KPH, to give back/help the institution. I may get some flack for this but we as black people need to learn more about giving back to help strenghten and sustain the places which gave us the opportunity. This way we not only help the future ones but we also sow the seed of ''giving back'' to our communities. I dare further state that this is where the Anglos have us beaten. They think of these things, while some/most of us think of self aggrandization.

However, the fault is not all ours. Someone needs to sound the abeng and call for help. And then, I hope, we shall respond favourably! But my talk is cheap and I would be remiss if I do not at least drum up some support for an Autoclave. Starting early in the morning, I'll make the first contact.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

RE: Am I reading correctly?

Farmah, it is terrible there. I also hear that they have roaches and rats in the hospital. My nephew suffered a head injury and was sent there for a few days and from reports, it is the pits. Anyway, I will read the article later.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I have a friend who is a A class heart surgeon. He said he donated a lot of equipment once and there was too much red tape. He had to pay to clear it off the wharf. He said his mother went to hospital and the way she was treated just made him decide never again. He said was all about $$$$$.

This man also asked me what can we do about Jamaican football because that is his love. He was also the president of a NY Suburb team, but he said first we need good management.

People want to give but they want to make sure it is not wasted and end up in the hands of who don't deserve it.

Good morning Sass;

Thanks for telling it like it is. People are always willing to donate to institutions and causes; but too much darn red tape, protocol, bureaucracy, hypocrisy,and whatever other name you want to call it exist. After a while you get tired of them thwarting your efforts, so you take your goods and donate it to some other place that needs it.

About 3+ years ago, it was discussed on this very forum, where a foreign group was donating uesd ambulances to Jam., and would also undertake the maintenance; and after the group did their homework and made all the right contacts, the ambulances were refused. ..and guess what another country accepted those same ambulances.

Go to some of those same institutions and look how much equipment people donate that are sitting in some corner covered with dust.

IMO they'd rather accept cash, so it can line somebody's pocket.

Totally agree with you and MdmeX! I have been involved with the MOSA and the Gurney's Mt School and getting needed stuff into the hands of the needy means the giver has to be prepared tojump through hoops!

<DIV>Regarding the elevator at the Victoria Jubilee, Minister Horace Dalley says from time to time the elevator at the Ministry of Labour doesn't work. He cites other examples where elevators fail, including the brand new elevators at Norman Manley Airport. Basically, he's saying, what's the big deal? I don't knowwhich of these elevators have to cater to pregnant or otherwise incapacitated patients who need to get to the 5th floor for an operation! And in Jubilee's case, it wasn't an elevator that broke down for a day or two. The thing has been down for ages! It was the dumbest I've heard in a while.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>What he and Jamaica needs to know is elevators don't have to breakdown as often as they do. Yes, they are man-made machines so something wil go wrong from time to time, but if they practiced good maintenance, then we would not be having as many breakdowns and one could actually save some money.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Horace Dalley should have resigned from these revelations. Amazing how nothing seems to dislodge Jamaicans from their jobs sometimes, no matter what.</DIV>

Mosiah (10/4/2006)<DIV>Regarding the elevator at the Victoria Jubilee, Minister Horace Dalley says from time to time the elevator at the Ministry of Labour doesn't work. He cites other examples where elevators fail, including the brand new elevators at Norman Manley Airport. Basically, he's saying, what's the big deal? I don't which of these elevators have to cater to pregnant or otherwise incapacitated patients who need to get to the 5th floor for an operation! And in Jubilee's case, it wasn't an elevator that broke down for a day or two. The thing has been down for ages! It was the dumbest I've heard in a while.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>What he and Jamaica needs to know is elevators don't have to breakdown as often as they do. Yes, they are man-made machines so something wil go wrong from time to time, but if they practiced good maintenance, then we would not be having as many breakdowns and one could actually save some money.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Horace Dalley should have resigned from these revelations. Amazing how nothing seems to dislodge Jamaicans from their jobs sometimes, no matter what.</DIV>
              The clowns should be fired. Dalley is a clown!

"The clowns should be fired. Dalley is a clown!"

.. Karl, that nuh sound genuine at all. Tell the truth, yuh when a laugh when yuh post that nuh true?

Lazie (10/4/2006)"The clowns should be fired. Dalley is a clown!"

.. Karl, that nuh sound genuine at all. Tell the truth, yuh when a laugh when yuh post that nuh true?
                  I am telling you - You do not get it!

Horace Dalley must be a SSM (sorry state of a man), what utter nonsence. Can this man comprehend the garbage he just spewed?

Why do they think mis-management, excusesand the don't care attitude are good business models! Me nuh know but me TIAD of these lunatics!! Now Portia is going to set up a Commission to investigate &amp; further waste tax payers money?? People need to be fired and people need to go to jail sometimes to send a CLEAR CUT message to the massives!!

Mdmex, in case you forgot, the former PM said a corrupt police force cannot investigate itself. Don't you think the same is true about the corrupt vehicle ... oopss government?

A man from southern St. Ann made 80 million in 2 years and an inquiry pointed out that the hours submitted for billing wasn't realistic. Where is he now?

Mdmex, you need to realize that Jamaica operate completely different from the real world. Guh a jail? Is that a new resort or something?