'Limping majority' - DK Duncan wins East Hanover seat

• 'Limping majority' - DK Duncan wins East Hanover seat

'Limping majority' - DK Duncan wins East Hanover seat - Four seats separate JLP from PNP
    published: Friday | October 26, 2007

Opposition Leader, Portia Simpson Miller, speaks to journalists outside the Lucea Resident Magistrate's Courthouse minutes after Dr. D.K. Duncan (right) was declared the winner of the Eastern Hanover seat, yesterday. - photo by Claudia Gardener

FOUR SEATS now separate the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) from the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) after Dr. D.K. Duncan was yesterday declared winner of the Eastern Hanover constituency. He defeated the JLP's Barrington Gray by 10 votes.

As The Sunday Gleaner predicted a day before the September 3 election, the JLP now has 32 seats in the 60-seat House of Representatives, while the PNP has moved to 28.

Court ruling
    With the court set to hear constitutional motions brought against three JLP Members of Parliament. Any future court ruling in the PNP's favour could see a shift of power.

"With D.K. Duncan winning today (yesterday), it shows that the Government really has a limping majority in Parliament," the PNP's legal adviser, A.J. Nicholson, told The Gleaner yesterday.

Motions have been filed against Daryl Vaz in West Portland, Shahine Robinson in North East St. Ann, and Gregory Mair in North East St. Catherine. All three JLP candidates were successful in the September 3 general elections.

The motions are grounded in the claim that these candidates were not properly nominated and do not qualify to sit in the Parliament, according to the Jamaican Constitution.

Mr. Nicholson said that the PNP is not seeking to wrest power from the JLP but rather "seeking to ensure that the Parliament is cleaned up".

But Karl Samuda, the JLP's General Secretary, told The Gleaner that the JLP is "not even in the least" worried about the constitutional motions brought against three of its MPs.
    "There is no chance of anything happening there. We are not worried he said".

For his part, Mr. Nicholson was reluctant to say how comfortable the party was about unseating any of the three candidates through the courts. He said it was a matter for the court to decide but stressed that the "Opposition has a duty to ensure the Parliament is clean".

Mr. Nicholson's comments was a startling contrast to party leader Portia Simpson Miller's "it's not over yet," a comment she made at the PNP's annual conference one week after the general elections.

Yesterday, Mrs. Simpson Miller said she was happy the contention over the winner of the Eastern Hanover constituency seat has ended in favour of the PNP.

She made her comments during an interview with journalists outside the Lucea Resident Magistrates' Court, minutes after Returning Officer for Eastern Hanover, Hermina Bucknor, declared Duncan as the winner of the seat.

Resident Magistrate George Burton had earlier declared that Dr. Duncan had polled 6,068 votes to Mr. Gray's 6,058.

"I want to congratulate Dr. D. K. Duncan on his victory. I am happy that it is finally over so that the people of the constituency can have a representative to make representation on their behalf," Mrs. Simpson Miller said.

Mr. Samuda however said that he is confident that once the case is heard in the Election Court, the decision will be reversed.

"What happened in Eastern Hanover is temporary," he told The Gleaner.
    "We are confident that Barry Gray will win after all is over," Mr. Samuda said.

Similarly, Mr. Gray said that "after an election petition, I know I will be in Gordon House". But Dr. Duncan said that his lawyers have a plan and he has no doubt that he will remain MP.

After the general elections Mr. Gray won the final count by nine votes but a magisterial recount was requested by the PNP.

At this stage, RM Burton decided to reject a group of ballots which did not have the marks required by law. The JLP rushed to the Supreme Court to get the judge to count the ballots but was unsuccessful in its application.
    The JLP then moved to the Court of Appeal with a view to getting leave to go to the Judicial Review Court to compel the RM to count the ballots he had rejected.

Gray claimed that 58 of the rejected votes were for him, while 26 were for Dr. Duncan.

Leave was not granted, paving the way for Justice Burton to count the ballots and declare the seat in favour of Dr. Duncan.
    Mr. Gray is the only JLP MP from the 2002 Parliament to be defeated in the 2007 polls.
    Last edited by Karl; October 26, 2007, 11:44 AM.

It's DK Duncan
    PNP candidate wins East Hanover seat

MARK CUMMINGS, Observer senior reporter
    cummingsm@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, October 26, 2007

Dr D K Duncan (foreground) is being congratulated by losing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) candidate Barrington Gray (left), shortly after he was declared winner of the Eastern Hanover seat yesterday. However, despite the handshake, Gray said he would file an election petition to continue his fight for the seat. (Photo: Mark Cummings)

LUCEA, Hanover - The People's National Party's Dr D K Duncan was yesterday declared winner of the Eastern Hanover seat by a thin margin of 10 votes over the Jamaica Labour Party's Barrington Gray, following the end of the magisterial recount which began just over a month ago in the Lucea Resident Magistrate's Court.

Duncan, a PNP member of parliament in the 1970s and who served in the Michael Manley Government as minister of mobilisation, came away with 6,068 votes to Gray's 6,058 votes.

The win for the PNP means the seat count in the House of Representatives will be 32 for the ruling JLP and 28 for the Opposition PNP.
    However, shortly after the declaration of the East Hanover seat yesterday, Gray told reporters that he was unhappy with the result and that he would be filing an election petition shortly.

"I am displeased in more ways than one," Gray said. "I am displeased because the constitutional rights of the people who voted have not been upheld. But I know that this is not the end because I am going straight to an election petition because I am defending the rights of my people."
    Duncan said, however, that if the JLP filed an election petition he would file a counter petition because there were a number of irregularities on election day.

The seat, which was won by Gray in the 2002 general elections by a majority of 736 votes, had been the subject of weeks of legal wrangling since Duncan filed a petition for a magisterial recount challenging the tally of the September 3 elections, which saw the incumbent winning the seat by a margin of nine votes.

The petition, which cited a number of irregularities, saw the recount being repeatedly halted by legal action arising from a contention over some 60 ballots, said by Duncan's lawyers to be invalid.

According to the lawyers, the invalidity of the ballots stemmed from the fact that they had not been signed by the presiding officers.

In response to the lawyers' concerns, Resident Magistrate George Burton decided not to count the ballots, which had not been signed because the space provided for doing so was missing, the counterfoil having been improperly torn.

Gray's lawyers challenged the magistrate's decision in the appellate court, which last week dismissed their contention, giving the go-ahead for the resumption of the recount.

Gray's legal team had consistently argued failure to count the ballots would disenfranchise several voters in the constituency.

Yesterday, as Duncan - dressed in a black suit and pin-stripped orange shirt - emerged from the courtroom following the announcement, he was greeted by several members of the PNP's hierarchy, which included Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller, General-Secretary Donald Buchanan, members of parliament Ian Hayles and Wykeham McNeill, leader of opposition business in the Senate, A J Nicholson, and scores of jubilant supporters clad in party colours.

An elated Duncan thanked the supporters and pledged to give his constituents "quality" representation.
    "The victory is theirs (constituents) and I can assure them that they will get good representation," Duncan told the Observer.

He added that as soon as he is sworn in as member of parliament he would be making representation in a bid to address a number of social issues in the constituency. These, he said, include poor road conditions, lack of potable water and a mosquito nuisance in the Chigwell area.

Dr Duncan also thanked his legal team, led by losing PNP candidate Abe Dabdoub and included former PNP MPs Mel Brown and Trevor Ruddock and president of the Cornwall Bar Association, Clayton Morgan.

Simpson Miller, in congratulating Duncan on his victory, said she was pleased that the constituency would finally get a representative.
    "I just want to congratulate Dr Duncan on a well-deserved victory," said the PNP president. "I am very, very happy that it is finally over and that the people will now have someone in Parliament to represent them," she added.

Up to late yesterday, party supporters in the constituency were still celebrating Duncan's victory.

Gray's legal team had consistently argued failure to count the ballots would disenfranchise several voters in the constituency.
      Are Gray and his lawyers idiots? Do they intend to follow the rules or just have it their way?

DK Duncan---yet another of the many Jamaican political dinosaurs.

Is it that these 'old goats' have something new to offer Jamaica? Oh yes HL, they have brand new ideas and plans--different from the ones thay have in the 70's (when you lived in Jamaica).

Well, maybe the locals are just idiots to keep recycling these old farts.

~~~sigh~~~

DK Duncan---yet another of the many Jamaican political dinosaurs.

Is it that these 'old goats' have something new to offer Jamaica? Oh yes HL, they have brand new ideas and plans--different from the ones thay have in the 70's (when you lived in Jamaica).

Well, maybe the locals are just idiots to keep recycling these old farts.

~~~sigh~~~
          Not defending DK and or any other old fart ...but, mek mi juck yuh gently...would an old fart like me, or... have any new thoughts?

Are Gray and his lawyers idiots? Do they intend to follow the rules or just have it their way?

Explain.

If election workers spolied legal ballots for me, I would be incensed as well. i see him prevailing in an election petition!

Same way I agreed that the extra ballots in Harry Douglas/Peralto seat had to be counted!

Stop being biased Willi,
              if it was the other way around, you would have a different song.

Not defending DK and or any other old fart ...but, mek mi juck yuh gently...would an old fart like me, or... have any new thoughts?
                yes, yes, as a resident of Shady Pines, you could make a valuable contribution on how to improve RETIREMENT HOMES

Willi, I can't believe you are saying this!

Get a hold of yourself, willi. How are the election workers going to spoil ballots for either candidate?!?

Cho man! Is there anyone on this board who is truly cult-free?

Stop being biased Willi,
                    if it was the other way around, you would have a different song.
                    Go use the search function and you will see that I agreed that the ballots had to be counted. People should not be disenfranchised in a democracy. This is not Forlida!

You are showing YOUR bias now.

Willi, the rules are very clear, and each voter is asked to ensure that the rules are followed. If the ballots don't have signatures, they are no good. There is an election worker from each party watching over all of this. If it is torn, it is no good. Yes, the perforated edge might not have worked very well, but if that's the case, the vote should be destroyed and the voter given another ballot, all this being done in clear view of all the election day workers.

Willi, maybe is because is a long day, but yuh not mekking sense!

Willi, the rules are very clear, and each voter is asked to ensure that the rules are followed. If the ballots don't have signatures, they are no good. There is an election worker from each party watching over all of this. If it is torn, it is no good. Yes, the perforated edge might not have worked very well, but if that's the case, the vote should be destroyed and the voter given another ballot, all this being done in clear view of all the election day workers.

Willi, maybe is because is a long day, but yuh not mekking sense!
                        MO,

Ah nuh suh mi get it.

I heard they were legally cast and the presiding officers who later tore them and spoiled them. However, they still included them in the prelim. tally the first night. My resoning is based on the facts that I was supplied with. If the facts are different, then the conclusion could be faulty.

Willi, I can't believe you are saying this!

Get a hold of yourself, willi. How are the election workers going to spoil ballots for either candidate?!?

Cho man! Is there anyone on this board who is truly cult-free?
                          Probably not.

However, I got my info from the newspapers.

If you know different, speak up.

In any case, who got more votes??? What is democracy about?

I am cult free.

You mean POSTER CHILD!