Now ear dis Badminded: Read & Weep & Prepare fi more worries

• Now ear dis Badminded: Read & Weep & Prepare fi more worries

Best of the best - Disciplined JC clip Clarendon College to retain Olivier Shield
    BY OSHANE TOBIAS Observer writer oshanetobias@gmail.com

Sunday, December 07, 2014

Players of urban champions Jamaica College hoist the Olivier Shield after defeating rural kingpins Clarendon College 1-0 at Juici Park in Clarendon, yesterday. (PHOTO: GARFIELD ROBINSON)

CLARENDON PARK, Clarendon — The final score said 1-0, but don't be fooled.

This was a comfortable victory for Jamaica College (JC). Once Akeem Shackleford sent them ahead on 16 minutes, there was the gut feeling that it would require something special from Clarendon College to unseat them as the ISSA/LIME all-island Olivier Shield champions.

Congrats to JC despite YOU did not congratulate Goerge's,maybe I am going to need data to make the correlation between being a sore loser and "bad mind".
    Its all in one's mind mind,isn't it?

man juss tek whe yuhself wid dat nonsense

Big ups to the unilluminated blues!!!! With this new addition to the trophy cabinet my beloved light blues now have no claim to the most school boy titles, no matter creative we might be and try to spin it.

Originally posted by Shola View Post
          Big ups to the unilluminated blues!!!! With this new addition to the trophy cabinet my beloved light blues now have no claim to the most school boy titles, no matter creative we might be and try to spin it.
          lol...mi spleen!

Yuh mad!

Yuh count Roper Cups?

DWL.

What are the true medal counts? I heard that JC counting both Manning Cup and Oliver Shield wins in 1909,1910 and 1913 and ST GC doing similar double counting in 1912. However, the Manning Cup was first played in 1914 and only the Oliver Shield existed between 1909 and 1913.

Nobody at StGC counting 1912 as Manning Cup win. I have already posted that Gov Manning didnt even get to Jam until 1913...

Ode to an Above Average Season

Leon Lincoln Fraser
                  December 13 at 8:10pm

Collegemen,

It has been a week since the Great College closed the 2014 schoolboy football season with victory in the Olivier Shield against DaCosta Cup Champions, Clarendon College.
                  A good time to reflect on the achievements during the 2014 football campaign.

The objective was four(4) titles.
                  We fell short a bit...just a bit.

Three out of four titles was a fantastic achievement and must be applauded.
                  Losing 3-2 against Georges in the Walker Cup Final, after being down 3 nil at half-time, was a clear indication to all that ours is a class team, and had we not made those defensive errors early in the match, all four titles would now be at rest at 189 Old Hope Road!

But all praises to the Almighty, we have done what only a select few high schools can do.

A careful review of the senior football programme at the Great College over the past few seasons reveals the following:

1. 5 Manning Cup Finals in 8 years, winning 4 (2007, 2010, 2013, 2014).
                  2. 6 Walker Cup Finals in 9 years, winning 2 (2009, 2010).
                  3. 4 Olivier Shield Finals in 8 years, winning all 4 (2007, 2010, 2013, 2014).
                  4. Winner of the inaugural Lime Supercup (2014).

In the 2014 football season the Great College played more matches at the senior level than any other high school in all competitions, 21 in total.
                  In the three (3) months of competition, we won 19 matches, drew 1, lost 1, scored 79 goals with 13 against.
                  Three trophies!
                  Impressive!

At the junior levels in 2014 we also excelled!
                  The Under 14 (Pepsi) team made it the Final and lost 0-1 to KC.
                  The Under 16 (Colts) team lost the Semi-Final 1-3, in extra-time against Bridgeport High.

The football programme at the Great College is healthy and is being skilfully managed by a dedicated team comprising school officials and Old Boys.
                  Special commendations must be given to team manager, 'Mr JC' himself, Ian Forbes, for his tireless contribution to the sports programme at the Great College.
                  Ian, we all owe you a debt of gratitude for your years of selfless service to Jamaica College, the School of Champions.

We salute the other members of the management team for a job well-done: Kirk Kennedy, Darren Virtue, Brandon Samms, Dr. Derrick McDowell, Patrick Lee, Othniel Gordon

We hail the excelllence of the coaching staff led by head coach, Miguel Coley, assistant coaches, Delroy Brown and Mark Buckland, goal-keeping coaches, Kevan Garrison and Donte Bent.

We pay tribute also to the supporting staff: Mrs. Nova Henry, Petrena Bignal, Andrea Dacres and chef, Myrtle Stewart.

Mention must also be made of the significant contribution given by Principal, Ruel Reid and the JC school officials, the JC Board, led by MIchael Bernard, and the Jamaica College Old Boys Association (JCOBA) led by new president, Major Basil Jarrett.

Importantly, we salute the players of all the teams, Under 19 (Manning Cup, Olivier Shield, Lime Super Cup), Under 16 (Colts) and Under 14 (Pepsi) for their commitment, hard work, skill, and excellence on the field of play.

Junior Flemmings, you have made your grand-father very proud.

Kudos to coaches MIchael Peart (Under 16) and Wayne Palmer (Under 14).

Last, but by no means least, we salute the hundreds of True Blue Disciples who journeyed from far and wide in support of their True Blue Warriors where ever matches were being played.

Fervet...forever!
                  2015 will be another great season!

Now it is on to track and field, cricket, hockey, basketball, tennis, swimming, table tennis and all the other sporting disciplines contested by the Great College.

In closing, let me take this opportunity to wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous 2015!