• Constant Spring field unfit for football

Constant Spring field unfit for football

Published: Monday | October 13, 2014

THE EDITOR, Sir: The surface of the Constant Spring field has been a source of discontentment for years for the teams and supporters of schoolboy football, even without mentioning the parking challenges, poor seating and lack of proper sanitary facilities. The refrain from ISSA has always been the inability to afford the rental at better facilities.
    My question to ISSA is this: At what point does the FOOTBALL in a football competition become important? Whereas I understand the challenges faced by schools in the first round, this is the business end of the competition where, presumably, the best teams are on show and, by extension, the best players.

contd
    http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure3.html

Originally posted by Shola View Post
    Constant Spring field unfit for football

Published: Monday | October 13, 2014

THE EDITOR, Sir: The surface of the Constant Spring field has been a source of discontentment for years for the teams and supporters of schoolboy football, even without mentioning the parking challenges, poor seating and lack of proper sanitary facilities. The refrain from ISSA has always been the inability to afford the rental at better facilities.
    My question to ISSA is this: At what point does the FOOTBALL in a football competition become important? Whereas I understand the challenges faced by schools in the first round, this is the business end of the competition where, presumably, the best teams are on show and, by extension, the best players.

contd
    http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure3.html
    Answer: Rent the billiard board field at St Georges

ISSA is clueless!

I watched TVJ a few nights ago and...I was so embarrassed.

Let's start with the ISSA issue. ISSA dis not seem particularly concerned that the teams will not have changing room facilities. Indeed, they both could be changing, and doing other things under the big tree in the parking lot. Luckily, the officials will have "proper" facilities. Forget the paying spectators! They can try their luck at the Juici patties next door, I guess!

They show pictures of the changing room facilities under construction. Apparently, Danny Lyn of Constant Spring was told the field would be needed a week later. Someone at ISSA apparently screwed the schedule.

As for the field - 3 members of the grounds crew could be seen sprinkling what appears to be sand on some very patchy areas of the pitch. They also used their machetes, yes, dem cutliss, to tamp down certain areas of the totally unacceptable pitch. Unless those machetes were actually magic wands, I can't imagine how they could bring about a decent pitch with those methods overnight.

The ISSA spokesperson didn't think much of all of this, saying ISSA was not going to spend $10 to make $5. This is their idea of fiscal prudence. Never mind that we're supposed to be celebrating the 100th anniversary of the Manning Cup!

I was going to touch on the foolishness that occurred in the Flow Champions Cup, but that's for another thread.

ISSA is clueless!

I watched TVJ a few nights ago and...I was so embarrassed.

Let's start with the ISSA issue. ISSA dis not seem particularly concerned that the teams will not have changing room facilities. Indeed, they both could be changing, and doing other things under the big tree in the parking lot. Luckily, the officials will have "proper" facilities. Forget the paying spectators! They can try their luck at the Juici patties next door, I guess!

They show pictures of the changing room facilities under construction. Apparently, Danny Lyn of Constant Spring was told the field would be needed a week later. Someone at ISSA apparently screwed the schedule.

As for the field - 3 members of the grounds crew could be seen sprinkling what appears to be sand on some very patchy areas of the pitch. They also used their machetes, yes, dem cutliss, to tamp down certain areas of the totally unacceptable pitch. Unless those machetes were actually magic wands, I can't imagine how they could bring about a decent pitch with those methods overnight.

The ISSA spokesperson didn't think much of all of this, saying ISSA was not going to spend $10 to make $5. This is their idea of fiscal prudence. Never mind that we're supposed to be celebrating the 100th anniversary of the Manning Cup!

I was going to touch on the foolishness that occurred in the Flow Champions Cup, but that's for another thread.
        Nuh fret bout eediat Manning Cup facilities... askordin to Sass wi supposed to ave 14 football academies in place islandwide ... suh wi agguh noice!!!!!!!!!
        Last edited by Don1; October 14, 2014, 09:42 AM.